Originally posted by vito_corleone:after witnessing so many posts by your dear "opposition-all-the-way" forumite, i decided to create this sorta poll. no offense to you GMS...its just to see what is everyone's opinion.
OK here it goes:
Should GMS:
1)RUN FOR PARLIAMENT?
2)BE OUR PM?
3)JUST TAKE HIS WHACKEY IDEAS ABOUT REFORM SOMEWHERE ELSE BECAUSE IT JUST DOSEN'T WORK/ALL TALK NO ACTION.
He will have to be subjected to more questioning on his position on various matter and his plans before it can decided if he is indeed good enough.Originally posted by vito_corleone:after witnessing so many posts by your dear "opposition-all-the-way" forumite, i decided to create this sorta poll. no offense to you GMS...its just to see what is everyone's opinion.
OK here it goes:
Should GMS:
1)RUN FOR PARLIAMENT?
2)BE OUR PM?
3)JUST TAKE HIS WHACKEY IDEAS ABOUT REFORM SOMEWHERE ELSE BECAUSE IT JUST DOSEN'T WORK/ALL TALK NO ACTION.
Originally posted by Qitai:He will have to be subjected to more questioning on his position on various matter and his plans before it can decided if he is indeed good enough.
Here is a few issues for a start:
1) Tax issue and balancing of Government budget. Alright we all know many of us hate the 5% GST, but I like to point out the government is in budget deficit last two years. So, does he support or is against it? And if against, what is his long term plan to balance the budget? And what will the impact be on various area if his plans are carried out?
2) HDB issue. Is the HDB overpriced? Additional information here. HDB is running at a budget deficit if you have look at it's annual report. It is taking grant from the government every year. So, what are the plans?
3) Property Price. He state his stand on this before. But I like to hear it again. Up or Down? Why? And how does he proposed that government should intervene. Note that government should only influence, not control.
4) COE, Car Taxes and Road congestion? Ideas and plans. Reasoning for plans.
Just a few issues for a start.
I will reply with my views and further questions in parts since I think this is easier to read this way. Also, I had the same frustration before too about losing my reply, so this will reduce that frustration.Originally posted by goh meng seng:I have written a lengthy reply but somehow, it got lost when I tried to post it. This is pretty frustrating.
Before answering your questions, I think you need to understand the situation first. Sarek has provided some info on HDB. It is a matter of "accounting principles" in which HDB has "deficits"; it is about land pricing, basically. I have long pull punches on this "market subsidies" concept back in the 90s. The money just go round the govt stats board.
Hmm... the calculation seems too rough to me. Concluding there is 10% net gain for the govt. seems too far stretch for me. There must be certainly other cost like raw materials, contractors, energy, fuel etc just to name a few. I think that calculation is very misleading. So, I will only take this point as a pinch of salt.Originally posted by goh meng seng:For the tax issue which is primary a question on fiscal policy, it is pretty complex. It is again, a matter of accounting principles that make the govt looks like having "deficits". From the concept of GDP, we know the govt constitute about 60% of the business entity. The wage to GDP ratio is about 44%, meaning the rest are income or revenues to govt sector and private enterprises. It is thus, easy to conclude that about 30% of GDP goes to the govt. GDP is $160billion, budget is about $30billion in 2003. Thus, the budget is only about 20% of the GDP. It would then mean that about 10% is "net gain" for the govt.
The reason why you see "deficits" in budget is due to the fact that the govt's accounting principles applies differently. It separates the money or revenue generated by GIC or Temasek from the budget. Only a small percentage of it goes into the budget. Thus, the "budget" does not really give a good overall picture of the health of the govt's financial standing.
The clue is further revealed when Temasek says it generated $7 back in 2003. If this is taken into budget consideration, then we should not be having "deficits" already!
So, can I also conclude you support the 5%GST then (putting the timing aside, which is really terrible)?Originally posted by goh meng seng:However, GST helps the govt to tax on the "underground economy"; economic activities that are not reported to IRAS (like illegal gamblings, black market...etc). In view of this, I would support a minimum GST rate, would not support any further increase.
There is no necessity to, as I have shown that the govt has enough revenue to cover the "deficits". These "deficits" may just be a temporary phenomenon. Would the govt reduce GST when it has surpluses? I am afraid it would not!
Originally posted by Qitai:So, can I also conclude you support the 5%GST then (putting the timing aside, which is really terrible)?
Also, further question is what if the deficit is not temperory? What would you do?
GMS, I appreciate you spending efforts to type such long replies to my questions. But before I give you my comments on your answers. Let me just tell you some additional reasons I do not trust you.Originally posted by goh meng seng:1) I think I am one of the earliest critic of the present bidding system; I reasoned that such bidding system is both inefficient and ineffective, but only serves to maximize "monopoly profits" received by the govt.
They have implemented part of my earlier suggestions, to provide special "express" bus services from middle class clusters of residential areas to CBD. But they only provide it during peak hours, which is not what I intended to have. A better understanding of the benefits of a liberalized public transport system is to make good study of Hong Kong's public transport system. I shall not elaborate further.
Initially, I thought the govt is going to take up my suggestions made here when it starts to build alternative financial centres in Tampines. But alas, I think there are great resistance to such changes due to enormous vested interests of those property owners in CBD areas, I guess.
Anyway, I hope my answers are sufficient enough, though not in details.If your distrust of me is of personal bias, then I say, I don't think I could change it by giving such answers.
Goh Meng Seng
Have you considered the fact that Temsek's $180+ Billion is more or less locked into it's individual investment like SIA, ST, Singtel etc. etc. These assests in the form of shares can only be release in two methods - declaration of dividends by individual company or through the sales of shares. So, it may be restricted by market constraint.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
Yes, I do think the 5% GST is ok from a personal point of view. But it should be capped at that level.
You didn't get my message clear. The deficits, with prudence, SHOULD NOT BE permanent. When the economy recovers, there should not be a deficit but instead a surplus.
Furthermore, I have said that the overall financial position of the govt is healthy, there isn't a need to fear simply because of earnings of our reserves. IN fact, in my opinion, the govt should release the earnings from GIC and Temasek or any instituitions that are managing our reserves, to provide more for Singaporeans. I estimated our reserves to stand at least at $300billion. This estimation is quite close to the assets Temasek ($180+ Billions) and GIC ($100Billions) holds. In fact, a 10% earning would already mean $30billion which is the sum of our govt budget! But as PAP govt has said, it expects 5% return, then it is close to about $15billion. We need to balance the needs of social objectives as well as financial objectives. That's what I am saying.
Goh Meng Seng
I had the same suspicion on this. Do you know if there is any way to figure out where those borrwing comes from? And what interest is HDB being charged at for this? The account includes a lot of interest earned by HDB as well as a lot of interest paid by HDB which tends to cloud the whole report.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
As for the HDB question, I will put it shortly, it all lies in the pricing of land. Through the Land Acquisition Act, the govt acquires land at very nominal prices, way below market prices. This is important for any govt all over the world, in terms of redistribution of wealth via land reform. However, when the govt uses it to build public housing, it sells it back at "market prices"; thus, from accounting aspect, it makes money from there. When HDB sells the flat to you, it sells below the price of the "cost", construction price plus land pricing determined by the govt. Thus, the govt, in the end, give HDB back a portion of the money earned from the land sales to HDB initially, as "subsidies".
This could be seen from the HDB financial report; under capital expenditures, a bulk of it comes from land purchase.
Interesting enough, from another perspective, the govt earns interests from HDB, about $1 to $2 billion plus. The amount of "grants" they give back is about $850million. So, how could the govt be "losing money"?
Only HDB "lose" money, not the govt.
Well, is this "creative accounting" in breaking down segments, it is up for you to judge.
Goh Meng Seng
So, can I confirm that your stand now has change from the previous property price too low to the current stand that it should remain as it is?Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
Thus, instead of asking me about what's my stand of the property prices, up or down, you should ask me about the management of such overconsumption. HDB definites have avenues to lower its pricing, as I have pointed out in my earlier post that in effect, the govt is not loosing money at all. It would mean a painful reversal of the "Asset enhancement scheme" that would affect alot of people of my generation.
The compromised position from such painful reversal is to freeze the prices of HDB flats, make it sticky upwards at present prices for X number of years.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by SnowFlag:GMS,
i c no point for you in answering these questions..unless u r stupid.
i think u shd spent more time in groundwork than coming here to post ur theories ..unless u r lazy
Go n help the ppl at the ground more, rather than debate on wat PAP should do or what u can do..unless u r like the rest (NATO).
SnowFlag
So, can I then summarizes your points asOriginally posted by goh meng seng:For question number 4, this is a complex problem, not as simple as put up pricing mechanism and we would be happy about it kind of things.
PAP govt is using conventional economic theories in its implementation of BOTH the COE and ERP. COE is the "entry fee" concpet, while "ERP" is differential pricing. These concepts are used for maximizing profits for private companies, for example, of running a carnival fair.
The aim of the govt is not about "profit maximization" but instead, achieving social goals and objectives. this question involves alot of complex views but I will just put up simple propositions.
1) I think I am one of the earliest critic of the present bidding system; I reasoned that such bidding system is both inefficient and ineffective, but only serves to maximize "monopoly profits" received by the govt. A most efficient way to curb the "monopoly" power of the govt is to have the closed bidding system, pay as you bid but at the same time, creaming away the top 1% or 0.5% high bidders.I am not going to elaborate how this will work as an efficient system of bidding as it involves quite a bit of complex economic cum psychology views.
2) The system of ERP is NOT efficient at all, when demand of usage overwhelmed supply. The only way of "effective" pricing is to open up some routes that are totally FREE for cars to go into the city area, while remaining highways are kept at the pricing state. The primary aim of the pricing mechanism is NOT to maximize monopoly profits of the road supplier, govt, but to efficiently and effectively differentiate between "productive users" and "less productive" users. This concept involves alot of economic theories, I shall not elaborate furthermore.
3) If road tax is deemed as ineffective as comparedto COE bidding, why keep it?
4) There are other ways of solving the congestion problems in the long term which I have advocated in scs before. But this will affect alot of "big boys" in the commercial property market as well as public transport providers.There are two spectrums in the problem, mainly a relatively inefficient public transport system, and the redistribution of the overly concentrated economic/finance activities in the CBD areas.
5) A total liberalization of the public transport system is needed to solve these problems. They have implemented part of my earlier suggestions, to provide special "express" bus services from middle class clusters of residential areas to CBD. But they only provide it during peak hours, which is not what I intended to have. A better understanding of the benefits of a liberalized public transport system is to make good study of Hong Kong's public transport system. I shall not elaborate further.
6) To reduce the demands of road and thus, reducing the congestions in major roads to CBD will require us to use both social transformation as well as information technology.This sound strange right?
Well, it is important for us to reduce the demand of having to do everything physically at govt offices. And even so, shift these fovt offices out of the CBD areas!
REdistribute them to sub centres like Tampines, Toa Payoh, Ang Mo Kio, Woodlands etc. This will reduce the "peak demand" at the "peak hours". Financial centres should be shifted out of the CBD areas. IN Hong Kong, different district will have their own district and high courts, unlike in Singapore, it concentrates in the CBD. A decentralization program would be needed, with the supplement of Information Technologies in networking them together. I shall not elaborate further. Initially, I thought the govt is going to take up my suggestions made here when it starts to build alternative financial centres in Tampines. But alas, I think there are great resistance to such changes due to enormous vested interests of those property owners in CBD areas, I guess.
Goh Meng Seng
Originally posted by Qitai:So, can I confirm that your stand now has change from the previous property price too low to the current stand that it should remain as it is?
But yet, can this be actually done? HDB can of course fixed the price of new flats. But as it is, they are not even releasing much new flats now. So, the impact of them fixing the price may not have much impact on the bigger picture of the whole property market in Singapore especially condos and landed-property.
Or are you suggesting a total freeze even including re-sale flats? And how are you going to determine the current value of all flats? Note that flats in different area are valued differently, different floors, different neighbours, different views etc.. this essentially means each flat has a different value even if valued now.
If not, how else are you going to have this effect of freezing the property price that you mentioned?
I agree with the idea on this. However, the issue remains that HDB can only controll the price of new HDB flats, not the price of re-sale flat? How can there be a effective way to stablized the HDB price now?Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
Not exactly. Overconsumption of property could be managed the other way round. It depends on which sector of the property market you are looking at.
By shifting up the prices of private properties and holding the prices of HDB, it will shift demand back to the HDB sector. This will result a net effect of lower consumption in terms of $. One of the reason why we have a property market burst is because of the pricing of a HDB executive flat or mansionette, was very close to private properties. Thus, people would "upgrade" and thus, resulting in a spiral effect on the prices.
When the prices are down, the whole HDB market collapse and alot of people are caught. This results in unproductive capital lost.
Before the "Asset Enhancement Scheme", there is a great gap, in percentage wise, between the HDB sector and the private property sector. It creates a disconnection effect.
We could either now, bring down HDB prices relative to private property prices, or stay put and let private property prices to rise. Either way, it will result in widening in the income distribution, which is inevitable. It is just choosing which less bitter pills to take. And all this is a result of mindless persuit of "Asset Enhancement Scheme" with no counter checks on the govt's stand.
From the HDB dwellers' perspective, of course they would not be happy about it; why private property soar in prices but my HDB flats didn't increase at all? I think PAP govt is trying to use such strategy lately, while maintaining the prices of HDB, private property increase in prices.
Goh Meng Seng
Nah, I am not afraid of combative. Those do not annoyed me. I am combative at times too. The problem is the bragging I mention above and the evident additions of unnecessary comments which are clearly aim in bashing.Originally posted by goh meng seng:Dear Qitai,
I understand your uncomfortable feelings towards my style. My classmates in University cannot stand me also.It is combatant, critical and have no rooms for stupid answers. This is basically because I take my work seriously, especially in academic research and studies. It is not the individuals that I attack, its his/her views/attitude I attack. I take public service even more seriously. When I see wasteful spending by the govt, it makes me angry sometimes.
I am a businessman, working up from scratch. If you ask many of the small businessmen, they will tell you the same thing; sometimes, better not reveal your business ideas or plans, especially through the GLCs or govt stats boards. They will steal your ideas. It is common views among entrepreneurs like myself. I will give them the benefits of doubts that all those are just coincidences; but too many coincidences will make it very unconvincing to me.
To have raw ideas is easy, but to have indepth, analytical, critical ideas will demand a different sets of attitudes. It is also very apparent when it comes to the execution of these ideas. Those who copy, will most probably end up with incoherent processes.
If you really want to know how HDB do their accounts, as any accountants or Financial controllers that have worked with MNCs before.It got to do with internal pricing and things like that to minimize tax liabilities.
Goh Meng Seng