30 SU-30..... and with this paltry force.... u wanna challenge RSAF????Originally posted by RMN-Best:stupid singaporean.... dont always read ur local newspaper.... hhahahah again.... why u guyz from singapore always wanna act smart??
we r smart enough to off set the purchase by our oil.... i know why stupid singaporean got so jealous... hhahaha coz, ur country got nothings... no water, no foods... hahaha we have AREADY sign the contract and its confirm that we will have another 16 su30 by the end of 2002... together with us, indonesian will be getting their 32 su30 as well. ours newspaer have also stated that, our intention were to have more then 30 su 30... hahahahahh stupid singaporean... ur stupid was so small... in long run... hahahaha i should see hoe u guyz gonna compete with us... use ur stupid brain and think ...... hahahahaha
So Malaysia had got noooooo hard cash, got to pay by oil. Aiyah, tell me lah. My dog is in heat, come and get f**k by it. I'll give you ten Singapore dollars, that's more than twice your currency. Well at least you could use these cash for your SU-30s.Originally posted by RMN-Best:stupid singaporean.... dont always read ur local newspaper.... hhahahah again.... why u guyz from singapore always wanna act smart??
we r smart enough to off set the purchase by our oil.... i know why stupid singaporean got so jealous... hhahaha coz, ur country got nothings... no water, no foods... hahaha we have AREADY sign the contract and its confirm that we will have another 16 su30 by the end of 2002... together with us, indonesian will be getting their 32 su30 as well. ours newspaer have also stated that, our intention were to have more then 30 su 30... hahahahahh stupid singaporean... ur stupid was so small... in long run... hahahaha i should see hoe u guyz gonna compete with us... use ur stupid brain and think ...... hahahahaha
according to the latest THE MILITARY BALANCE.. singapore RSAF have 91 F-16!!! its fixed wing combat fighters is already 153... while malaysia is 84...Originally posted by hardware:So Malaysia had got noooooo hard cash, got to pay by oil. Aiyah, tell me lah. My dog is in heat, come and get f**k by it. I'll give you ten Singapore dollars, that's more than twice your currency. Well at least you could use these cash for your SU-30s.
Singapore had been a leader in arms and military hardwares. Go buy your Su-30s, and don't get jealous if we buy Su-37s or F-22s Singapore needs to protect your ass from getting misused.
"Analysts points to Malaysia's decision to operate three new types of aircraft-- F-18, Mig-29, Hawk200-- from the United States, Russia and Britain respectively
According to report in the US army war college's journal published last year, this move created training, logistical, cost, maintenance and operational problems, with the consequence of low availability of its aircraft well into the future.
Malaysia operates 94 combat aircrafts now, while Singapore has 139, according to the london-based International Institude for Strategic Studies in its publication, The Military Balance 1997/98
The US Army College journal report drew a conclusion 'Except for Singapore, the billions of dollars spent by countries of ASEAN to purchase sophiscated weaponary has not translated into competent military organisation.
The same report rated the Singapore Armed Forces the best in the region, giving it top marks in every area --equipment, personnel, training, tactics and overall readiness.
Its assessment: The SAF is cleary acpable of protecting Singapore's interest however it chooses to define it. (It means we can conquer and destroy!)
Mr Robert Karniol, the asia-pacific editor of Janes Defence Weekly concurred. Although SAF is not battle tested, he said: The SAF remains the strongest military force in the region. "Malaysia is not in the SAME category... (HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA. What a insult!!! HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA ....................)
With Singapore, it has not been just a numbers game as its defence spending has also helped nuture a defence industry which has allowed it to acquire sohphiscated ship building and aircraft-upgrading expertise, which is now being exported as well, noted a foreign diplomat.
How, now you piece of low life, idiotic, pig shit maggot! Jealous hah?
Oh, do you know that Migs and Sukhios are cheap enough for Malaysia to buy?
No money, don't talk so much lah.
I think you are wrong. The cobra manoeuvre is indeed not easy for a normal pilot to achieve but if there is enough training, any particular MIG29 pilot can do it. This manoeuvre Russian, so Russian pilots must know how to do it. In a dogfight, it is extremely useful.Originally posted by token ring:just to share some of my tots....
the MIG-29 may be capable of doing a 'cobra' etc, but its the pilot who sits in it who execute the move.... and that takes lots of training, practice, and skillz.... not something an average or even above ave pilot can do...IMHO
besides, those moves are just to show (off) what an aircraft is capable of, when it comes to real combat, such moves are mostly useless. some may argue that it will give u advantage when in a dogfight, but IMO, one will be to preoccupied to really have the time and concentration to execute such moves. :p
[This message has been edited by token ring (edited 21 October 2001).]
cobra manouver is called a dead duck manouver...Originally posted by Patriotic Tim:I think you are wrong. The cobra manoeuvre is indeed not easy for a normal pilot to achieve but if there is enough training, any particular MIG29 pilot can do it. This manoeuvre Russian, so Russian pilots must know how to do it. In a dogfight, it is extremely useful.
Imagine you are a pilot of lets say... an F16C and you are on the six of a MIG29(of any model). Suddenly, the MIG pulled up and an experienced pilot would not follow suit. Not because your falcon is not agile enough but your jet which is going at speed of 3 times the fulcrum will crash into the Fulcrum. Why? because when a cobra manoeuvre is put up, the MIG pilot will pull up but at that split seconds, the pilot decreased his throttle to the lowest. That will make the MIG stay nose up, stay still at that position for about 3-4 seconds and then due to gravitational pull, the nose of the fulcrum will head almost vertically down. An experienced MIG pilot will know that he must not immediately pull up as it will cause him to blackout. When the MIG suck in enough air into its intake, the pilot will know when to go to full throttle again. This will give the MIG an advantage as it will be at the six of the F16C which had passed below him but if the F16C pilot is alert and intelligent enough, he will bank away before the MIG can get at his six as the time needed for the MIG to start its throttle takes some time. If possible and quick enough, the F16C can get back at the MIG's tail again. So, the Cobra manoeuvre would be a good evasive action and to escape from being hit by gun. I think tohse who know the cobra manouevre would agree with me that the cobra manoeuvre is better used as an evasive action.
AWACS fly damn high and has a very long scanning range....Originally posted by YourFather:Really, the cobra maneuvre is just a crowd-pleasing maneuvre for air-shows, thats all. In combat, energy is life. In using the cobra, the pilot sacrifices all the planes energy in return for 1 shot, which die die also must kill his target. If not, he will be a dead duck, as his plane will not be able to recover in time. Also, this is a hypothetical situation where its a 1V1 situation. if the enemy has a wingman, he's a dead duck, totally, absolutely. Even the Russians acknowledge this.
However, they said that the cobra-maneuver was not intended for close combat. Rather, it is to be used to deceive the AWACS radar by taking advantage of the weakness of the doppler effect. two flights of aircraft flying very close together would approach the AWACS, and one flight would execute this maneuvre, causing the AWACS to lose track of that particular flight, while holding track on the other flight proceeding towards the AWACS. The flight which executed the cobra would then dive for the deck and hopefully the AWACS would not track them in the ground-clutter. They would then race to the AWACS to finish it off.
Just like to point out some non-factual comments here....Originally posted by tripwire:Malaysai thinks that its mig got HMS very shiok, can have wide 45 degree cone of firing. tell the malaysai go home makan pisang. tell them RSAF F-16 also got HMS with python-4 that has a firing cone of 60 degree and with a 2 hit flight programe. plus AVEN vector thrust engine that boost the most agile fighter in the world (F-16 not fulcrum) a further 30 percent increase in agility. Tell them that RSAF F-16 got LANTIRN that enables our falcons to bomb malaysai all night long while their fulcrum like all the kuku birds of malaysai, cannot do night combat and is pitifully dependent on fly by instrument if they wish to die in a night fight.
Tell them too, that RSAF falcons are wild weasels, combined with the best EW suit from US and Isreal. tell them too that RSAF now has 3 times more falcons than they have fulcrums, all pilots trained in US of A. Tell them we have KC135R that can send our falcons all the way to perlis and bomb their banana tree if we so desire.
Well, it is good to know that you have spotted the magnetic sensors on the canopy. Perhaps you can point us to any websites that contains images of RSAF Vipers that are equipped with the sensors. The Vipers pics that I have come across so far (including those in Canon and Luke AFB) do not seem to have the sensors attached. Perhaps I need to update myself....Originally posted by Shotgun:Sorry to burst your bubbles. But RSAF Vipers definitely have Python4s. As for the ECM equipment, nobody will know for sure, other than the pilots and WSOs.
I can't tell you why you don't see the magnetic sensors, but all I can say is that the RSAF is more advanced than you can imagine. RSAF F-16s may have already included features that have only come with the F-16 Block60. =P
Also, the RSAF has supposedly acquired Alto/Derby Medium ranged missiles from Rafael. And please be reminded, that the HARM is not the only SEAD missile in the market.
Originally posted by Joe Black:Just like to point out some non-factual comments here....
1. RSAF F-16C/D jets would most likely not have the AVEN thrust vectoring system. The AVEN is only tested on the GE F110 engine and not the PW F100-229 engine that the RSAF F-16 (Block 52) jets have.
*** Pardon me... but i know RSAF have at least 10 such aircraft..... how i know... i cant tell....
2. Unconfirmed reports that RSAF have obtained Rafael Python-4 missiles with associated HMS, but this remain unconfirmed. Pictures that I have seen does not indicate that the F-16s are modifed to incorporated with the HMS (most likely Israeli DASH 3 helmet sight). The telltale sign that one is equipped with the HMS system is when you see the magnetic sensor attached onto the canopy of the jet and a wire connecting to the sensor all the way from the back seat. This is evidence in Israeli AF F-16 and F-15Es but not in RSAF F-16C/D or F5S.
*** Python 4 need not have HMS to be usable... in fact... Python 4 can be used without HMS.... but i am not saying if all the falcons dont have HMS.... in fact... RSAF could just put a few photo for media consumption while hiding the rest behind canopy....
3. RSAF F-16s are most likely not 100% Wild Weasal capable yet eventhough they are reported (F-16D with the dorsal spine) to carry Israeli made ECM equipments to do the job. This is purely spectulation, until RSAF can confirm (which I doubt so). No evidence that RSAF have bought HARM. Reports indicated that RSAF does have Strike AGM-45, but I doubt the HARMs are already in the inventory. ARM-88 requires the block 50 aircrafts to equip with the Harm pod (where LANTRIN pods are usually carried). No evidence of RSAF having one.
*** what u are trying to say is that.... you doubt RSAF have all these stuff.... BUT IN TRUTH.... YOU DONT KNOW....
Of course, I am just pointing out the obvious. I guess we all would like to see RSAF having this and that, but the truth is, even if they do, they would not admit to it. I doubt we can all believe in the unconfirmed reports. RSAF is indeed looking at quite a wide range of weapon systems, but looking at them does not mean that they already have got them.
*** Dont seem that obvious to me... if something is that obvious... so much for military secret.... Tell us... have you inspected all the Falcons and the weapons storage facility to make such an assumption...???
Originally posted by tripwire:I am definitely surprised to hear this as I have discussed this with a number of experts in the rec.avaiation.military newsgroups and nobody seems to be able to confirm that a thrust vector Viper exists in any AF todays (definitely not heard of in USAF). Thus for Singapore to venture this alone is pretty unprecedented given RSAF prudent track record of select equipment only after they are fully tested and used by quite a few operators for at least a substantial period of time. This is evidence in all their military hardware purchases.
1. RSAF F-16C/D jets would most likely not have the AVEN thrust vectoring system. The AVEN is only tested on the GE F110 engine and not the PW F100-229 engine that the RSAF F-16 (Block 52) jets have.
*** Pardon me... but i know RSAF have at least 10 such aircraft..... how i know... i cant tell....
True that the Python 4 does not necessary need the HMS, but it serves no point to have the Python 4 without HMS. The whole benefit of having a high off-boresight angle missiles like Python 4 is that the Off-boresight angle is achieved through pilots "looking" at the target rather than locking on by the radars/HUDs.
2. Unconfirmed reports that RSAF have obtained Rafael Python-4 missiles with associated HMS, but this remain unconfirmed. Pictures that I have seen does not indicate that the F-16s are modifed to incorporated with the HMS (most likely Israeli DASH 3 helmet sight). The telltale sign that one is equipped with the HMS system is when you see the magnetic sensor attached onto the canopy of the jet and a wire connecting to the sensor all the way from the back seat. This is evidence in Israeli AF F-16 and F-15Es but not in RSAF F-16C/D or F5S.
*** Python 4 need not have HMS to be usable... in fact... Python 4 can be used without HMS.... but i am not saying if all the falcons dont have HMS.... in fact... RSAF could just put a few photo for media consumption while hiding the rest behind canopy....
I am saying that I doubt RSAF have ARM-88 HARM anti-radiation missiles. I know they have some other anti-radiation weapons for the SEAD Vipers (DJs). I am just not sure that Singapore is being approved to purchase HARMs. US have a very funny policy of not wanting the regional countries to have certain weapons until the neighbouring countries have similar weapons thru other parties such as the Europeans or Russians.
3. RSAF F-16s are most likely not 100% Wild Weasal capable yet eventhough they are reported (F-16D with the dorsal spine) to carry Israeli made ECM equipments to do the job. This is purely spectulation, until RSAF can confirm (which I doubt so). No evidence that RSAF have bought HARM. Reports indicated that RSAF does have Strike AGM-45, but I doubt the HARMs are already in the inventory. ARM-88 requires the block 50 aircrafts to equip with the Harm pod (where LANTRIN pods are usually carried). No evidence of RSAF having one.
*** what u are trying to say is that.... you doubt RSAF have all these stuff.... BUT IN TRUTH.... YOU DONT KNOW....
Hey tripwire, not trying to flame anyone's words, but I am making comments base on hard evidence. I don't think we can boast too much about what RSAF have or don't have, especially the hush hush stuffs. RSAF is very capable. I have read about their capabilities, I have spoken to some pilot friends, technicans (I even have a relative who works in RSAF as a technican attached to a F-16 sqn in the US).
*** Dont seem that obvious to me... if something is that obvious... so much for military secret.... Tell us... have you inspected all the Falcons and the weapons storage facility to make such an assumption...???
Those that you saw based in the US are probably the least upgraded. Due to the fact that they are based in the US. Its the ones that are based locally that have the works.Originally posted by Joe Black:Well, it is good to know that you have spotted the magnetic sensors on the canopy. Perhaps you can point us to any websites that contains images of RSAF Vipers that are equipped with the sensors. The Vipers pics that I have come across so far (including those in Canon and Luke AFB) do not seem to have the sensors attached. Perhaps I need to update myself....
Well, I would love to see any pics. It most likely confirmed that RSAF Vipers do indeed carry Python-4 then... I would be even more trilled if RSAF start looking at AIM-9X more seriously to complement the Pythons.
As for the anti-radiation missile issues, I read some unconfirmed report (probably from Flight Internation magazine - don't quite remember) that RSAF might have bought Israeli made anti-radiation glide bombs to supplement the ageing AGM-45 Strike. Hope RSAF will also look at ARM-88 HARM though. It is a good missile to have (make loud political noise to tell potential enemy don't play play... )
As for your Block 60 comment... the only thing RSAF Vipers have on the Block 60 are the colour MFDs. In fact the Block 50 vipers are more like Block 50+ that the Greek and Israeli AFs bought.
Block 60 Vipers differ in the area of CFT and internal FLIRs and targeting devices rather than carrying the LANTRIN pods.
Lastly, any idea what RSAF is going to do with the Block 15 Vipers???? Maybe upgrade them to the MLU, ADF or even the IAI Ace or ST upgrade (whatever they call it) versions?