What do you mean???.... isnt AVEN the heart of the VISTA system??? without the AVEN... the VISTA would be.... clipped??Originally posted by Shotgun:"The 10 F-16D Block 52 aircraft ordered in 1994 have the same dorsal fairing as the Israeli IF-16D and the sole VISTA aircraft. It is rumored to house the SPS-3000 EW suite. The dorsal spine in all type versions of Israeli (4K-CK), Singapore (DB) and the VISTA test bed aircraft were designed, mocked up, fabricated and installed during regular routine assembly while these aircraft were on the production line in Ft. Worth.
It is rumored that the Israeli's have provided the RSAF with a first batch of short-range IR-guided Python 4 missiles.
In view of neighboring Malaysia upgrading its MiG-29s allowing integration of the Vympel R-77 AR-homing AAM, Singapore will probably apply for the AIM-120 AMRAAM. Previous requests for the AIM-120 by Singapore and other countries in the region were turned down by the US government until a similar system was introduced in the region. " F-16.net
Tripwire, i think you mistook the AVEN for the VISTA.
If you like... i can get you that whole list of serials.... in fact... its even available on the net.....Originally posted by rsafpage:"The 10 F-16D Block 52 aircraft ordered in 1994 have the same dorsal fairing as the Israeli IF-16D and the sole VISTA aircraft."
The spine is part of the VISTA Flying Test Bed, it is NOT the VISTA test bed. IDF and RSAF Vipers have the spine for their own equipment, the VISTA Spine is for other purposes.
*** please enlighten us to what other purpose would that be... remember... the RSAF F-16 is far too heavy to be just becos of a few additional electronic system.... the weight simply points or indicates some major structural design changes... major changes...
AVEN is not in our Vipers, 4 reasons:
- US will not (and they have already made this clear) sell weapons to other countries that are more advanced than what the US has. US has no AVEN F-16, therefore WE don't get AVEN F-16
*** The harpoon was designed and used by the brits before americans realise its effectiveness and use it... the Americans offer falcon 60 to gulf states even before it was even on line production.... but its generally true that americans like all nations on earth would not export weapons that are superior than those in theirs inventory... except when they are the owner of that technology.
- Singapore has selected PW engines for F-16ws due to parts commonality. They won't select mixed engine batches, it will complicate logistic matters when it comes to spare parts and maintenance.
*** Thats not entirely true.... while part commonality is indeed beneficial on logistical ground... it is not by far the most important consideration when making a purchase.... else.... why have more then one type of plane??
- LM/USAF Serial numbers(eg 94-0xxx). Undeniable proof. All F-16s manufactured have these. Check know lists of F-16s produced vs Block number vs end users. My list indicates no GE Vipers came to Singapore, unless its USAF ones on exercise
*** How would you know??? i mean... which of your dumb relatives or friends would actually spill all the beans on RSAF to you??? wouldnt that be foolish if not risky?? afterall.... you could be a malaysian spy.....
- AVEN on VISTA is a one-off. VISTA is a flying test bed to test new technolgiesm including spine AVEN and the like. No others like it were produced, the closest are the IDF and RSAF with spines. Only 1 F-16 with AVEN existed, thats VISTA. LM is still exploring with this technology, it has NOT been fitted to production F-16s.
*** again.... how would you know??? unless you are the CO of RSAF tengah air base or you are from GS.... i doubt even you can be 100% sure of what we have or dont have...
Tripwire, if you want to put out an argument, please substantiate your sources. Don't say things like "how I know, I can't tell". If you can't name your source, don't say on a public forum what your source has told you. I have proof on whther HMS/Python IV exists in RSAF exists or not, but I won't say "yes/no" because I won't name my source and therefore I cannot show proof, so I'll just keep this info to myself. Also, to keep others who may be watching this site guessing
*** True to the fact... we can only say what we know, but to back it up would neccessarily get our informants in trouble, not to mention ourselves as well with MSD and ISD.... It is up to the public and whoever that.... snake is... to decide if what we say is just a possibility or a reality.... we have no desire whatsoever to compromise our national defence with loose tongue....
No offence intended.
*** OUCH.... i dont think so... you just called me a lier up there.... unless i am being too sensitive.
Finally, Singapore and US-based RSAF Vipers come from the same batches (94-02xx, 96-50xx and 97-01xx), each of the units operating a mix of aircraft from each of the 3 batches, hence no such business as singapore based being more advanced than others. My list of serials tally up, but I shan't reveal more than the year and first 2 digits of the serials.
...... did i ever said RSAF falcon have GE engine???Originally posted by rsafpage:Heres a quote on the AVEN/MATV programm from f-16.net
"A six-month flight test program with this engine-airframe combination was to be conducted in 1997 and the Air Force and Calspan would have the aircraft ready for customers in 1998. <b>However, the P&W thrust vectoring program has been canceled.</b>
The aircraft was converted to use a standard F100-PW-229 engine and was delivered back to Calpsan (the aircraft operators)in June of 1997. "
Full URL: http://www.f-16.net/reference/versions/f16_matv.html
*** thank you for this web page...
Elsewhere on the page, it was stated that the VISTA was used to test flight control systems and the avionics for the JSF.
***If i remember correctly... JSF have Vector thrust engine right?? but i dont know JSF very well... correct me if i am wrong...
"please enlighten us to what other purpose would that be...remember... the RSAF F-16 is far too heavy to be just becos of a few additional electronic system.... the weight simply points or indicates some major structural design changes... major changes."
Electronic systems do add a significant amount of weight. I have just completed a study into aircraft design and in todays military aircraft, we have found that electronics do contribute a significant percentage of aircraft weight. With this weight of new electronics, together with the weight of the spine and beefing up of the structure, a 30% weight increase just for the electronics is reasonable.
*** The RSAF falcons must be really really full of electronics to increase its weight by 30%.... but i am not into electronics... so i wouldnt be able to confirm your claim.... but if true... i wonder how many electronic system is RSAF falcon carrying... and why it needs so many electronic gadgets... correct me if i am wrong... the RSAF Falcon is even heavier that IAF falcons with spine... right??
"while part commonality is indeed beneficial on logistical ground... it is not by far the most important consideration when making a purchase.... else.... why have more then one type of plane??"
Simple. Different planes for different roles. It would make sense. But different planes(and a PW F-16 and GE F-16 is as good as a different plane) for same roles is just plain silly.
*** did i ever say that RSAF have F-16 falcon with GE engine???? since when did i ever say that?? if you check the thread.... i never make such a claim..... why the furry directed at me???
"the Americans offer falcon 60 to gulf states even before it was even on line production.... "
Slick market by US and LM. Throw in conformal fuel tanks, a few new black boxes and try to pass it off a "superior technolgy". Just like Boeing upsized the hornet, put more fuel, more pylons, more black boxes and called it a "new design". The F-16 Block 60, in terms of technolgy, is nothing really new over the latest 50/52s.
*** what about the harpoons then??? isnt it true the brits used it first before the americans?? or was it a special case since the 2 country are such close pals?? As for the block 60 falcons.... doesnt... the conformer fuel tanks and new radar give the gulf falcon an edge over american falcons?? BUT i am willing to hear from you the definition of a NEW model..
"again.... how would you know??? unless you are the CO of RSAF tengah air base or you are from GS....
How do I know that VISTA is a one-off? Simple. In one sentence: The LM website. The ang-mo countries don't work like us. They have something called Freedom Of Information Act. Such information on weapons sales MUST be made public. Scour the US DoD websites long enough and you can collate a full list of what the US has sold to us since goodness's knows when. And you don't even need a .mil domain to access this information too.
*** the freedom of information act... pardon my lack of knowledge.... but i thought the act is something like.... the govt can keep anything secret for a period of 30 years... after which, the information will be made available to public... am i wrong??? if not... can you scour the DoD website for methods of Anthrax concentration method... heard that its worth quite a fortune in the black market...
"which of your dumb relatives or friends would actually spill all the beans on RSAF to you???"
No...none of them were dumb enough to do that...which ones of yours were?
*** see.??? neither of us wanna put our friends on the line....
"If you like... i can get you that whole list of serials.... in fact... its even available on the net....."
Yes, please do, I would like to see your proof of a database of Singapore having GE-powered F-16s, with AVENs to boot.
THank you... but... i never said that RSAF have GE engine falcon... you have to check with the right guy who said that... thank you for your information.... at least you are courteous...Originally posted by Viper52:Tripwire wrote:
"while parts commonality is indeed beneficial on logistical ground... it is not by far the most important consideration when making a purchase"
I just have to say this, but IMHO this argument is ridiculous. Parts commonality is not the most important consideration in making a purchase, but it is one of the most important factors when buying follow on batches of the same aircraft. The GE and PW Vipers are different beasts, and if half your Viper fleet is GE and the other half PW, it'll lead th severe logistical problems. If you're going to get a new batch of the same plane, but with different engine, then might as well get a new type.
Parts commonality not only offers logistical ease, it also allows crew which are familiar with one type of equipment to work on your entire fleet and not train a new set of crew to work on the new type. Economies of scale are also another factor, its cheaper to buy 40 sets of X than to buy 20 sets of X and 20 of Y. Singapore is rich, not stupid.
Tripewire wasn't the one who said that. rsafpage was.Originally posted by YourFather:Uhh, trip, excuse me but, the F-16 Block 60 isn't just a Block 50/53 with CFTs and a new radar slapped on. Its a damned good AESA radar. The plane also has internal FLIR and laser designator which are better than the LANTIRN. It is also equipped qith the F110-GE-229 engine, which produces 32,000 pounds of thrust! BTW, its integrated electronic warfare suite is more advanced and capable than ANYTHING currently installed on US fighter aircraft. With all these wnhancements, the capability of the plane is vastly enhanced over the Block 50/52 aircraft.
Originally posted by rsafpage:"Wrong. A dead giveaway is the wheels. Block 40 Falcons onwards have enlarged main LG wheels/doors. Our has this, so does the IAF's, if RSAF MTOW is really somuch heavier, bigger wheels will be needed to take the weight
*** You saying that our F-16 is not heavier than IAF falcons?
What I meant to say is that the Americans have regulations that REQUIRE them BY LAW to declare all conventional arms sales of big-ticket items to other countries, F-16s included. There can be no way that the Pentagon can secretly sell F-16s out to any country.
*** I think that is basic knowledge.... no country would allow its factory or companies to sell anything they like especially weapons without informing the govt.... what i am saying is.... Do you think the US govt will list out every damn contract; open or COVERT sales on the internet with disregard to potential diplomatic fallout???
Stick to the topic in your arguments and counter-arguments. Stop bringing irrelavant points like anthrax in. You're arguing like a Malaysian politician.
*** oh..... i was just making a point that the americans dont put everything on the net for you and me to snoop around.... there are afterall such thing call restricted, confidential and top-secret.
You didn't but I'm still waiting to see your website listing our F-16s.
*** so that is what you really want.... i do have a website that list our F-16s, just enter the model of the planes like F-16A or F-16C... dont just type F-16... the website limites the display to 60 aircraft... i am not sure if the serial number is correct... but since you are such an expert.. i think you will have no problem discerning the truth. http://www.scramble.nl/sgbase.htm maybe if you joined as members... you can get more... i am just a free loafer.
My argument is simple. RSAF F-16s have no AVENs. I know because:
1) No F-16s show up in arms sales to Singapore other than 4 known batches: 1 in 94, 96, 97 and 2000. 3 batches have been delivered, I have seen pics of almost every single one(including those based in US). And they don't have AVENs
*** I assumed you are working for RSAF??? if so... i rest my case....
2) AVEN/TVN/MATV was never fitted to any F-16 other than the 2 flying testbed: VISTA (terminated in 97) and another Block 30 terminated in 95
*** Only the americans would know for sure... perhaps you too.. if you work for CIA...
3) Let say for a moment that your argument is that the AVENs were fitted later, after delivery to Singapore. So wheres the paper trail? Like I said DoD has to release all contract details, no matter how small(as example, DoD website lists contracts for Singapore purchase of AIM-7 and -9 training rounds, and 8 Pathfinder/Sharpshooter pods even BEFORE any F-16C/Ds were delievered). Don't you think that a separate contract for any AVENs will be listed if they were purchased separately? And if they came with the planes, don't you think they're going to cost more than 25-30 million each?
*** Of course... everything must be in black and white for you.... if there is no public declare contract... it dont exist.... OK... i am not going to argue with you... no point lah... since the alternative would be for me to spill the beans on RSAF and get myself lock up in some god forsaken DB.
[This message has been edited by rsafpage (edited 26 October 2001).]
Sorry but if I understand your argument correctly, the Block50/52 is just a 'basic variation of a 1970s airframe with add-ons', so why should we get them? we might as well get the Block 0 Falcon instead?!?! Come on. You cant take the SuperHornet as an example, that's comparing durians with mangoes... The CFTs give the Falcon a deep-strike capability. Its EW suite gives it unprecedented survivability in all-missions, especially deep-strike. AESA radar enables sinultaneous terrain-following and airspace-scanning...Granted, dogfighting capability takes a hit due to the decreased T/W ratio, but in return, the vast gains in other areas more than makes up for it. It is in dogfighting that T/W matters the most but dogfighting is not ALL that the Falcon does. I believe that it can hold its own in combat versatility when compared to the Rafale, though the Rafale, of course, has much more development potential..Originally posted by Viper52:Tripewire wasn't the one who said that. rsafpage was.
I've seen all the "enhancements" to the Block 60 but I tend to agree because no matter what, its still a basic variation of a 1970s airframe with add-ons. Granted it has all the improvements you've mentioned, but then the Super Hornet has a lot of new stuff thrown in, and leaked Congressional reports have already termed that project as a waste of money in terms of performance gained(over the C/D) vs. cost. In the face of newer fighters coming online like the Rafale, Typhoon and Su-30/37, the Block 60 will unfortunately look a bit like the F-16/79 in the early 80s(anybody remember that one?). Weights will only increase, and T/W ratios will only suffer correspondingly. As it is the Block 50/52s with spine are already almost useless as a fighter other than as a BVR AAM launch platform, what about a 60/62 with CFTs, spine and whatever else they're about to throw in there?
Off topic: JSF winner will be announced in a few hours time. (from 0000 hrs Singapore time.)
BTW someone mentioned that the Typhoon was a near certainty because he saw a model of one at RSAF Open House in RSAF markings. Sorry to say this but thats an old manufacturer trick. Putting your aircraft in your potential customers markings at his airshow. Anyone remember the "RSAF" C-130J in the LM Pavilion at Asian Aerospace in 2000? Singapore has yet to order a single J....as far as I'm concerned the RSAF fighter contract is still wide open.
[This message has been edited by Viper52 (edited 27 October 2001).]

"If it is such a quantum leap over the Block 50/52, why do you think the USAF is not showing interest?"Originally posted by Viper52:Granted, I have exagerrated with the remark that Block 60 is a souped up 70s airframe, I stand corected.
Compared to the original F-16, it is a quantum leap in capablity and performance. But bringing us back to the original context of the argument, when Tripwire used the sale of Block 60s to UAE as an example that the US does not mind selling weapons more advanced than it has to other countries, is where I feel its wrong. To compare the Block 60 and the Rafale and Eurofighter in the same breath ? LM doesn't even dare to do that. It has always marketed the Block 60 as a cheaper, less capable alternative to the Rafale and Typhoon which will allow customers to get more aircraft and with a proven combat track record. If it is such a quantum leap over the Block 50/52, why do you think the USAF is not showing interest? The newer Block 50+/52+ have CFT capability and colour MFDs, granted miniturization allows the 60 to carry FLIR/TFRs etc internally, but carrying the LANTIRNs externally does offer the 40/42/50/52 more flexibility in that they can lessen the weight and leave the pods at home when not needed instead of bringing along deadweight on missions they are not needed on.
AESA is not what its all cut out to be. It has potential, I'll allow that, but even manufacturers privately admit the technolgy is still new, and that there are still limitations to the system which might take years to iron out before AESA can perform up to its potential. Which is when planes like the Typhoon and Rafale are slated to receive theirs while retaining conventional radars.
US arms export policy is always politically and self-driven. They look after their own interests first. If they think that the 60 is such a quantum leap over the 50 etc, they will NEVER clear it for export even before the first example has flown.
...... peng.... why am i talking to a mule....Originally posted by rsafpage:Do you think the US govt will list out every damn contract; open or COVERT sales on the internet with disregard to potential diplomatic fallout??
No, I never said that and I don't think that. What I said was that a contract like a batch of F-16s with AVENs or after-sales conversion to AVEN F-16s is not something like a shipment of 100 M-16s to some freedom fighters. You cannot cover up a big sale like F-16s or AVENs with a entry of $2000 toilet bowls. They won't list out every sale, thats for sure, but a sale like F-16s or a bunch of AVENs, you think no one will notice a few hundred million American dollars worth of disparity in the books?
*** Sure.... of course.... everyone will notice it.... hahahaaaa...... if everyone gets to see the real account... if the account is even kept at all, hahahaaaa....... r u really in the military?? come on... i have been in special SAF projects with money literary popping out of thin air !!!
"Only the americans would know for sure... perhaps you too.. if you work for CIA..."
"I assumed you are working for RSAF??? if so... i rest my case...."
I don't work for the RSAF USAF CIA FBI KGB MI5 MI6 Mossad or anyone. I came to the conclusion you are spouting nonsense using what information is available on the Net and journals and making simple deductions from that information
*** wow... thick skin leh.... kow tow to you.... paiseh...hor... i just a nonsense spouting machine... you the truth sayer... i am ashamed to be in your divince presence of truth.... *am i being sarcastic?? must be... hehehe *
Stop trying to be sarcastic. You're sounding like a small boy who just lost an argument. I'm almost expecting you to say "Don't friend you" in your next reply...
*** dont stick your ass through the heaven lah.. now what?? personality attack?? yawn...... last i check... we are not friends... we are not even acquaintainces... we have never even seen each other!! ahahahaaa.......
"Of course... everything must be in black and white for you.... if there is no public declare contract... it dont exist"
See my reply above: I'm not saying everything must be in black or white, but there are somethings that you cannot hide. We're not talking about Israel here, its the US. They have laws that prevent them from covering up things like this.
*** sure... of course.... how stupid of me... how can i not realise that USA will spill everything for public consumption.... ahhh.... i apologise... i always believe that USA is like many countries in the world with secrets and confidential stuff documents for certain peoples' eyes only..... must be wrong to even think like that.... sorry sorry sorry.... paiseh hor... must have been watching too many hollywood spy movie...
"since the alternative would be for me to spill the beans on RSAF and get myself lock up in some god forsaken DB."
If you're really from SAF/RSAF, which I seriously doubt you are,you're too late. By blabbing about RSAF Vipers having AVENs on a public forum, you've already wiolated the rules you're supposed to work under. Be prepared to go in and squat(If you're really SAF you'll know what I mean)
*** The SAF will do that... if i really spill the beans... like posting the photo and the serial number of the falcons that have AVEN... until then... they wont touch me since... it might give credence to my claim.... heheehehe... even if i dont post the information on the net..... people here will believe something is amiss if poor tripwire is held for investigation.
I'm still waiting for an explanation. Using the list from Scramble(some members whom I've met and corresponded with for years), please explain how AVENs were fitted to some of our F-16s, as RSAF distributed the 3 batches more or less evenly bwtween the Singapore and US based units. FYI, the US-based units have pics of their aircraft have all over the Net and books, and they don't have AVENs as far as I can see.
and i wonder why I keep talking to a bag of hot air which just seems to come up with more hot air every time I try to raise a coherent argument.Originally posted by tripwire:...... peng.... why am i talking to a mule....
RSAFpage...... thank you for your compliment... i am just a bag of hot air....Originally posted by rsafpage:and i wonder why I keep talking to a bag of hot air which just seems to come up with more hot air every time I try to raise a coherent argument.
*** you raising your 'I KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT RSAF' Flag so high into the clouds... you dont even want to hear any alternative views or possibility.... as far as i and everyone can see from your POSTings... you claim full and complete knowledge about RSAF... maybe the chief of air force is your father!!! you consider anyone else's view in contrary to your knowledge as heresy!!! so much FOR coherent argument.
To the rest of the readers, think about this. Do you know any military personnnel as friends? Do they go about blabbing about so much of what they do in their daily jobs to strangers on the web?
*** did i mentioned anything about my projects???... what project am i involve in... please tell everyone... leh...
You're a liar Tripwire, and a bag of hot-air at that. I shan't bother with you either, but unlike you I'll put my money where my mouth is and not bother to reply to your next load of dribble which you call a reply.
Tripwire, sorry man have to disagree with you on this one. He sai he saw almost ALL not ALL. You don't need to snoop around RSAF bases to get numbers:Originally posted by tripwire:1. claim of having SEEN all the 3 batches of RSAF falcons and know about its distribution and deployment in singapore and USA.... the serial numbers and blah blah blah.... wow.. i must complain to RSAF and MSD about their security cockup... letting a mad man on the loose snooping in an air force base.