Most people always has this impression...that the life overseas is better. Cheaper houses, cheaper cars, lower taxes, and in their view, more freedom.Originally posted by Kyo23:
Becos everyone was paying for it...Originally posted by wombat:What Singapore offers, is a corruption free, stable and efficient goverment. Everyone is clothed, fed, and have a roof over their heads.
Crimes and unemployment are low, and you can walk safely without fear on the streets at night.Err... unemployment are low??? Or you compared to other countries??? Well, I do not know where you got this information that our country had a high employment rate... but I think they prefer to employ foreigners especially people from Malaysia and China... so do you include them??? Most of them who are unemploy now... mostly are Singaporean...
If Singapore is so bad, why do I see queues of people who want to migrate to Singapore?Who and where do you see people queuing to migrate to Singapore issit Malaysia?? or etc??? are they youths or middle-age people or elderly??? and do you know how many singaporean are migrating away???
But keep in mind, the grass is not always greener on the other side.If you always think that the grass is not always greener on the other side... then you don't even explore... then how are you going to succeed??
You mean houses and cars in singapore are cheap as compared to most countries?? Did you know some pple spend their whole working life or at least 20+ years just to pay off house loan, car loan in singapore?Originally posted by wombat:Most people always has this impression...that the life overseas is better. Cheaper houses, cheaper cars, lower taxes, and in their view, more freedom.
This is not necessaritly true, as I had found out for myself.
You need to stay there for quite some time to see the complete picture.You mean you had stayed in US and Australia to experience to prove those pple mentioned in the article wrong?
It's a small price to pay, to safeguard our way of life. If Singapore is so bad, why do I see queues of people who want to migrate to Singapore? Be thankful of what you have.
Becos everyone was paying for it...Originally posted by novellem:[QUOTE]Originally posted by wombat:
[b]What Singapore offers, is a corruption free, stable and efficient goverment. Everyone is clothed, fed, and have a roof over their heads.
Crimes and unemployment are low, and you can walk safely without fear on the streets at night.Err... unemployment are low??? Or you compared to other countries??? Well, I do not know where you got this information that our country had a high employment rate... but I think they prefer to employ foreigners especially people from Malaysia and China... so do you include them??? Most of them who are unemploy now... mostly are Singaporean...
If Singapore is so bad, why do I see queues of people who want to migrate to Singapore?Who and where do you see people queuing to migrate to Singapore issit Malaysia?? or etc??? are they youths or middle-age people or elderly??? and do you know how many singaporean are migrating away???
But keep in mind, the grass is not always greener on the other side.If you always think that the grass is not always greener on the other side... then you don't even explore... then how are you going to succeed??
Originally posted by Viper52:True, you made your comparison between two country singapore and australia only. Don't you think it's kind of a limitation to you? Why do you think most of the foreign talent (e.g Chinese, indonesian, malaysian etc) in singapore took up only blue IC instead of the pink IC even when the government bother to offer to them for free? Yes, to them singapore is indeed a good place to work but definitely not a good place to settle down to have kids as compared to their hometown where life is easier. Do you agree?
[B]Why do we compare Singapore to other country? Simple. It helps us come to make a decision as to which country is better for me to live, find work and maybe raise a family in.
Singapore has its downsides, and yes, I don't agree with everything the government says and does(gasp!). I have been studying in Australia for the last 4 years, long enough I think for me to make a judgement on whether I think Singapore or Australia is better for me to live in. And yes, I do believe that Singapore, despite its cons, is a better place for me to live in against Australia, for it's pros.
[/q]
Yup, you are correct. Life is getting worse and yet they have the cheek to make it harder. And the most interesting part is that they are showing their colours only after the elections. Well, what we could only do is to save $$$, buy your necessities cheaply from other countries, invest oversea and let's c how much longer the government is going to hold on to their policies.Originally posted by ipowersia:i think singapore will become a very worse place to live in lioa.. if they say dun wan 1 cents coin anymore..then becos of no 1 cents so they increase the stupid GST to 5% so anything u buy will end up at a 5 or 0 behind... how clever they are rite?? KNN. government still say wan to help us to get over this economic crisic... i think the government wanna us to help him get over and make us suffer. INCOME TAX say wanna reduce. now so many ppl jobless, reduce INCOME TAX aso no use. haiz.. we will be living in singapore's hell in few yrs time.. let see if i am correct anot...
just becos of the 2 percent rise in GST??? or becos the global economy is faltering?? if singapore is only your country during good times.... and no more then a hell hole in bad times... obviously... you are no better then those mercenary 'foreign talent'.... wont you agreed?Originally posted by ipowersia:i think singapore will become a very worse place to live in lioa.. if they say dun wan 1 cents coin anymore..then becos of no 1 cents so they increase the stupid GST to 5% so anything u buy will end up at a 5 or 0 behind... how clever they are rite?? KNN. government still say wan to help us to get over this economic crisic... i think the government wanna us to help him get over and make us suffer. INCOME TAX say wanna reduce. now so many ppl jobless, reduce INCOME TAX aso no use. haiz.. we will be living in singapore's hell in few yrs time.. let see if i am correct anot...
dont comment from the bottom of a well... who the mother fucker employed you PR malaysian manager??? the govt or your dumb ass boss???Originally posted by Kyo23:Yup, you are correct. Life is getting worse and yet they have the cheek to make it harder. And the most interesting part is that they are showing their colours only after the elections. Well, what we could only do is to save $$$, buy your necessities cheaply from other countries, invest oversea and let's c how much longer the government is going to hold on to their policies.
I would think the least affected pple are those malaysian who work here but buy their stuffs and spent their free time mostly back in malaysia. E.g my company's malaysian PR manager earning more than $6000 a month but staying cheaply in singapore with a big condo and car back in malaysia and lots of investment in US Stock.
Who's the mother fucker to let in these foreigner and then issuing free blue IC to them without 2.5 years commitment to be wasted? So who's speaking from the bottom of the well when you have any dealing with lots of foreign talent? Now even those IA students attached are no longer local faces. what do you expect, for the employer to recruit only local?Originally posted by tripwire:dont comment from the bottom of a well... who the mother fucker employed you PR malaysian manager??? the govt or your dumb ass boss???
Kyo23...this is the result of globalisation...face up to it....Originally posted by Kyo23:Who's the mother fucker to let in these foreigner and then issuing free blue IC to them without 2.5 years commitment to be wasted? So who's speaking from the bottom of the well when you have any dealing with lots of foreign talent? Now even those IA students attached are no longer local faces. what do you expect, for the employer to recruit only local?
Yup, i agree with that. However, I believe they should spare some thought for the local. Life is so hard already with extra burden as a local and yet they want to suck on further thru GST from the poor while the rich esp MPs and the foreigner live off happily with less income tax and no commitment. I would think less corporate tax is enuff for lure back all the big fish and better management of national reserve instead of squandering it e.g building more SAF club house and golf club for defence purpose.Originally posted by Rudin:Kyo23...this is the result of globalisation...face up to it....
Otherwise if we adopt a close door, protectionist policy, trust me...our standard of living will definitely go down hill
I agree with you on this point. Too much useless money(more importantly, land) is spent on these damn golf courses when they can be channeled into building something better. The money is better channeled into something better like improving the lot of NSFs instead of those useless regulars who already have everything. There are a lot of NSFs around who could use a pay raise of even $10-20Originally posted by Kyo23:better management of national reserve instead of squandering it e.g building more SAF club house and golf club for defence purpose.
Good to know you are still a heartlander. Thought you are some hardcore army personnel who only know how to dog their life for the 'king'. It boils when you can see so much of our $$ wasted advertising the greatness of SAF when you can see officer zhoboing most of the time in camp. It boils even more when you see in the news the SAF golf club manager managed to shun and avoid all the media (practicing their camouflage or flanking or what) to be interviewed regarding the land usage and destruction of the nature reserve. You know how much $$$ is involved or not? Did you get a chance as part of SAF forces to go in there? Why our HDB flat became so expensive and shrinking in size. So guess these pple became too rich and needed the reduction of income tax, revenue diverted to GST to feel better in their pocket? When flat are shrinking and cost are raising, they expect more baby to be produced?? They really know how to worry for their future man. Guess they needed more men to defend their large area of golf club or wat.Originally posted by Viper52:I agree with you on this point. Too much useless money(more importantly, land) is spent on these damn golf courses when they can be channeled into building something better. The money is better channeled into something better like improving the lot of NSFs instead of those useless regulars who already have everything. There are a lot of NSFs around who could use a pay raise of even $10-20
Hardcore army nut???? NO WAY. Seen too much rubbish from most regulars I know to want to be associated with them in anyway. I'd like to think I'm loyal to my country(feel free to disagree with me on this anyone, after all thats just IMO), and because of this will disagree with the government on their policies when I feel theres a need to and will continue to speak up for policies I think are right.Originally posted by Kyo23:Good to know you are still a heartlander. Thought you are some hardcore army personnel who only know how to dog their life for the 'king'. It boils when you can see so much of our $$ wasted advertising the greatness of SAF when you can see officer zhoboing most of the time in camp. It boils even more when you see in the news the SAF golf club manager managed to shun and avoid all the media (practicing their camouflage or flanking or what) to be interviewed regarding the land usage and destruction of the nature reserve. You know how much $$$ is involved or not? Did you get a chance as part of SAF forces to go in there? Why our HDB flat became so expensive and shrinking in size. So guess these pple became too rich and needed the reduction of income tax, revenue diverted to GST to feel better in their pocket? When flat are shrinking and cost are raising, they expect more baby to be produced?? They really know how to worry for their future man. Guess they needed more men to defend their large area of golf club or wat.
[This message has been edited by Kyo23 (edited 22 April 2002).]