'Kids say the dumbest things' but 'adults do the dumbest things'.....sighOriginally posted by John Ching:Just for information, if anyone considered that the recent robber in S'pore was an idiot, you ought to read the following news;
http://www.cnn.com/2004/US/11/13/consulate.standoff.ap/index.html
hmm.. no offense taken hor. y specops87 so wu liao ..... i think this post is not v constructive actually... u think SOF or STAR unit come this forum to read ur post for countermeasure improvement meh.. and i think u r not in army yet right... u r only in ncc now... i think u r going to be super garang when u go inOriginally posted by SpecOps87:The train is stuck between two underground stations.And this will rule out fast-roping as there is no where to fast-rope from.The only way in and out is to use the tunnel or through manholes etc..So anyway out?
**This is not to undermine the capability of the SOF or STAR unit..But I hope they see this and improve on countermeasures which will greatly save the lives of the hostages and that of themselves.**
Lets say they have manage to disarm the claymores,how are you gonna stop getting yourself shot to shit by them?
i think those in the Units that be have probably thought up of more wide ranging scenarios....trust me...but it was amusing to play ure scenario in my mind...although it would be dumb to take over an MRT train..Originally posted by SpecOps87:why do you sae its not constructive?I'm just trying to push the scenarios of what some mad-ass tango will do.
Hey, how did I get dragged into the train?Originally posted by Icemoon:Come to think of it, why must SOF/STAR be the saviour of the day? After 9-11, flight passengers have no qualm battling it out with the terrorists on the plane, since they know doom is imminent. Perhaps our MRT passengers are like that also?
Maybe that day Military Nuts happen to have an outing and people like SpecOps87, chunyong, sidestep1984, storywolf all in the train. Then add in commandos like lion02, Gendaken etc. So when you all hear the terrorist plan, all shake your head. Even chunyong, who seems to be "in the know", also shake his head and mutter "our STAR cannot pull this off, definitely". And the commandos suddenly admit "Our SOF never execute this kind of rescue mission succesfully before."
Then how? All suddenly become very garang and fight it out with the terrorists?![]()
Military SOF while preferring to accomplish a hostage rescure mission with hostage being free unharm doesn't necessarily have to do so if the situation does not allow for the survival of the hostages.Originally posted by lwflee:I tihnk you guys have built up this almost mythical image of the SOF/STAR teams.
Fact is against a determind terrorist, the SOF will probably lose. The enemy is entrenched and prepared. The SOF is concerned about civilian lives. The enemy isnt.
The terrorist will only lose where they are afraid to die or where they have bad leadership and bad planning.
Lose here means to take down the terrorists w/o casualties.
If you have fanatical suicide bombers type who are prepared to die, your SOF will not help much.
Dealine for request, deadline pass kill 1/ 10mins. First sign of trouble BOOOM! all die. Sleep deprivation tactics? I kill.
SOF lan lan.
Kapish?
The SOF is trained to do this, so they have a higher chance of suceeding. But not always.
You're quite right, of course. If a terrorist is on a suicide mission, there's not a lot you can do about it.Originally posted by lwflee:I tihnk you guys have built up this almost mythical image of the SOF/STAR teams.
Fact is against a determind terrorist, the SOF will probably lose. The enemy is entrenched and prepared. The SOF is concerned about civilian lives. The enemy isnt.
The terrorist will only lose where they are afraid to die or where they have bad leadership and bad planning.
Lose here means to take down the terrorists w/o casualties.
If you have fanatical suicide bombers type who are prepared to die, your SOF will not help much.
Dealine for request, deadline pass kill 1/ 10mins. First sign of trouble BOOOM! all die. Sleep deprivation tactics? I kill.
SOF lan lan.
Kapish?
The SOF is trained to do this, so they have a higher chance of suceeding. But not always.
I don't think there's really all that much to worry about there. The SOF playbook is developed from the experience and with the assistance of proven units such as the SAS and GSG9. As for their level of training, their performance in overseas courses shows that they're up there with the best. From firsthand experience, I can tell you that these guys get recalled much more often than anybody else in the army, and they're ready all the time for a very wide range of different deployments and missions.Originally posted by SpecOps87:To be honest,I feel that the tangos these days are more disillusioned by their cause.And will stop at nothing to fulfill their mission.But then again,can the same thing be said with our CT teams and SF operators?I'm really curious...as Singapore have yet to encounter a heavily armed terrorist take down yet,which we can attribute to the stringent security measures we have in place.
Ultimately, such a fellow would have the fire order to fall back upon. In such a situation, you don't think about it, you just do it.Originally posted by SpecOps87:But then again,if the ordinary trooper in SADA is to be faced with a scenario similar to what happened in Sept.11,and have a Boeing 747 flying toward him,will he be able to launch a missile to take the airliner down,tangos and innocent men,women and children of all ages?
No need to crack ur noodle. Just push someone off the platform during rush hour and MRT grinds to halt, that'll put enuff fear in commuters to make travel by MRT like playing russian roulette. Happens in NY, when everyone hears of an accident, it becomes jumper or victim?Originally posted by SpecOps87:why do you sae its not constructive?I'm just trying to push the scenarios of what some mad-ass tango will do.
ha, hard lah....they will fight to the very end one...u think will let u capture ? if really no bullets still got a blade to fight til the end with u one......mai siao siao.Originally posted by RussianPower:It's easy to defeat the SOF/STAR if your intention is to die with them... however, it would be a bigger challenge to capture them during the raid alive. Then maybe humiliate them by making them do an Abu Ghraib on national TV or something...