Still choosing... Mirage???? I thought F-15, EF2000 and Rafale??? By now, the likely chosen manufactuer would be in talks liaoOriginally posted by deathscythe99:I guess it's about time for the A4SU to be retired. lol.
Anyway, which aircraft is gonna replace them? Which did RSAF choose? Mirage, Rafale or F15?
Not really surplus. Read this month issue of AirForce Monthly. There is a article of A4 user world wide. They mention about our RSAF A4SU.Originally posted by sbst275:Good Bye
Some are already @ PLAB RSAF Museum... But I remember that there are surplus right?
There goes the Skyhawk era between 1973-2004
Is it?? A-4 only left @ Argentina and Brazil mainly other than SG... I thought we have almost 100 of them?Originally posted by Manager433:Not really surplus. Read this month issue of AirForce Monthly. There is a acticle of A4 world wide. They mention about our RSAF A4SU.
RSAF have about 85 ( official ) A4. But the actual number only known to the SAF lah. 18 of which are now flying in France. Which will never be return. remaining 30 still in Singapore.Originally posted by sbst275:Is it?? A-4 only left @ Argentina and Brazil mainly other than SG... I thought we have almost 100 of them?
Because they brought 50 in 1973... And another 'higher number' in 1982 to make into S-1 standard...Originally posted by Manager433:RSAF have about 85 ( official ) A4. But the actual number only known to the SAF lah. 18 of which are now flying in France. Which will never be return. remaining 30 still in Singapore.
The AirForce Monthly mention about the F16,F5,A4 doing rotating air defense duties every weekly or bi-weekly? Can someone pls buy the magazine and confirm it?
Originally posted by sbst275:Still choosing... Mirage???? I thought F-15, EF2000 and Rafale??? By now, the likely chosen manufactuer would be in talks liao
ya..me oso like eurofighter.. played its simulator b4, seems funOriginally posted by SpecOps87:Dunnoe if you guys noticed,Rafale and EuroFighter Typhoon seem to be quite aggressive in thier marketing.Advertise on buses etc.But F-15 side like rather quiet eh?Hmmmz...so wat do you guys reckon it to be.Personally hope it will be EuroFighter.
F-15 too well established liao in the wars... Personally, prefer F-15 as of saving cost of weaponsOriginally posted by SpecOps87:Dunnoe if you guys noticed,Rafale and EuroFighter Typhoon seem to be quite aggressive in thier marketing.Advertise on buses etc.But F-15 side like rather quiet eh?Hmmmz...so wat do you guys reckon it to be.Personally hope it will be EuroFighter.
F15 too old!Originally posted by sbst275:F-15 too well established liao in the wars... Personally, prefer F-15 as of saving cost of weapons
I prefer older one... F-15 can be upgraded as wellOriginally posted by deathscythe99:F15 too old!
But....being established in wars is a good thing compared over the other 2...
Which would you choose, new fighter unproven in battle 'cept skirmishes and simulators and giving problems which you may yet encounter? Or an older fighter which has gone through the labours of many wars and the problems which you may face will have been resolved already?
Well, it depends on why you wish to buy the fighter for. For long-term or short term replacement of A4SU? I would very much think it is long term (no country buys planes for short term replacements lol). So if this plane you are getting is old, and possibly will give another 10 yrs of lifespan in your airforce, why would you get it?Originally posted by sbst275:I prefer older one... F-15 can be upgraded as well
But I put it as of the emergence of the F-35Originally posted by deathscythe99:Well, it depends on why you wish to buy the fighter for. For long-term or short term replacement of A4SU? I would very much think it is long term (no country buys planes for short term replacements lol). So if this plane you are getting is old, and possibly will give another 10 yrs of lifespan in your airforce, why would you get it?
Though the technical support is there etc, I dont see a pt getting an older fighter, yet upgrading it to last only slightly longer in service.
This is more than a dollar and cents issue. It's about reliability, serviceability and role in ops.![]()
Rafale and EF2000 are double engine with 1 flap... F-15 is double engine with 2 flapOriginally posted by SpecOps87:For some reason unknown,I am quite curious on why there seems to be a lack of support for the Rafale.And btw,is the Rafale single or double engined?
Btw,the reason I chose the EuroFighter is beacuse it has the ability to "super-cruise" as in cruise at supersonic speeds,unlike other aircrafts which can only sustain supersonic flight for short periods of time and has the ability to be armed with the StormShadow cruise missile,which can be used from extended ranges if our neighbours decides to become naughty one day..And also,if you were to pick the F15,I read from some webby and the F15 guzzles alot of fuel.
My picks: Rafale.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Dunnoe if you guys noticed,Rafale and EuroFighter Typhoon seem to be quite aggressive in thier marketing.Advertise on buses etc.But F-15 side like rather quiet eh?Hmmmz...so wat do you guys reckon it to be.Personally hope it will be EuroFighter.
They let us flew Mirage 2000Originally posted by Manager433:My picks: Rafale.
Reasons? Wth are we doing in France? Do you think this is just a detachment so simple meh? Those A4 pilots did flew the Rafale in France and also into electronics warfare.