Nope... By then, it would be a generation gap.. F-15 is not really old, it has been proven in wars and USAF is going to upgrade itOriginally posted by storywolf:Why must we get a fighter to fill the gap when we can have the more advance typhoon to work side by side with F-35.
Yes, the strike eagle has been proven in war. But its track record pales in comparison to the F-4 Phantom's record. So the F-4 is more "proven" right? So perhaps we should buy F-4s?Originally posted by sbst275:Nope... I think you didn't know abt the Typhoon's special case... It wasn't on show in the Asian Aerospace, there was only the flight mock up... EF2000 will be a costly plane if we later on use the better F-35...
Strike Eagle has been proven in war
F-4 no more in production liao, since 1979... But it had encountered problems in Vietnam War which led to arrival of F-15, F-16 (For F-104). EF2000 came in Aug, it was a RAF plane... RAF seems to be trying to scale down EF sizeOriginally posted by Shotgun:Yes, the strike eagle has been proven in war. But its track record pales in comparison to the F-4 Phantom's record. So the F-4 is more "proven" right? So perhaps we should buy F-4s?
Yes I know it missed a couple of Asian Aerospace... So what? Its capabilities are just not seen publicly yet. It doesn't mean that it can't fly? For RSAF to consider to evaluate this plane, definitely they have flown it right? Btw, the Typhoon DID fly to Singapore for evaluations. Though I haven't seen the Rafale fly here yet. Nor the F-16 B60, nor the Strike Eagle.... Catching my drift?
Saw it personally at least a couple of times before... no sign of break failure, just routine landings, but parachute was deployed.Originally posted by spencer99:What talking you?? The brake-chute is only deployed in the event of brake failure. Not deployed on normal landing.
yup....its not good in dogfights with then-adversaries MIG-21s...Originally posted by sbst275:F-4 no more in production liao, since 1979... But it had encountered problems in Vietnam War which led to arrival of F-15, F-16 (For F-104). EF2000 came in Aug, it was a RAF plane... RAF seems to be trying to scale down EF size
Strike Eagle flew @ AA as well as the Rafale... F-16 Block 60 dun know, but I know F-16E/F is coming up
ya..me oso saw it at the air force open house tis yr..Originally posted by Zooish:Saw it personally at least a couple of times before... no sign of break failure, just routine landings, but parachute was deployed.![]()
Last year lahOriginally posted by monkeybusiness:ya..me oso saw it at the air force open house tis yr..
2 F-5s landing together den the F-5 at the back open up the chute first... the chute is yellow or orange in colour if i m not wrong
But emergency landing, F-16 dun have... E-2 have hooks right?Originally posted by SpecOps87:Anyway,not only the F5 will deploy its parachute when landing.The C130 or E2C HawkEye also do so.When they are landing on extremely short runways like the emergency runway in Lim Chu Kang,the deployment of the parachute will help greatly in reducing the length of runway nedded to stop the aircraft.
Do Correct me if I'm wrong
*Yawn*Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:Actually the F-5 has parachute is for a strategic reason..
dunno if i can reveal it anot..
should i?
Your correct, the parachute has 1 more use as well...Originally posted by SpecOps87:Anyway,not only the F5 will deploy its parachute when landing.The C130 or E2C HawkEye also do so.When they are landing on extremely short runways like the emergency runway in Lim Chu Kang,the deployment of the parachute will help greatly in reducing the length of runway nedded to stop the aircraft.
Do Correct me if I'm wrong
To what extent? Judging from what you say, we can keep the A-4s even longer then.Originally posted by sbst275:I prefer older one... F-15 can be upgraded as well
I hope we can get aircrafts that are not so loud, hadda bad experience with the foreign airplanes.Originally posted by storywolf:I hope we get the Eurofighter, because we have seen a lot of good weapon system out of the euro side. Yep the super-cruise is something we need, and its agilie performance which the other 2 fighters cannot match.
Also it will break trend of us getting US fighters, which will get us better bargains for the F-35.
Em... A-4 is 1950's fighter jet, itself cannot tahan liao... F-15 can still be used till 2010+Originally posted by SBS3624G:To what extent? Judging from what you say, we can keep the A-4s even longer then.
erm.....BaE uses A-4 from Israel for gunnery practice for the German F-4Fs.....plus recent Israel also upgraded their skyhawk avionics for AJT trainingOriginally posted by sbst275:Em... A-4 is 1950's fighter jet, itself cannot tahan liao... F-15 can still be used till 2010+
Stop using the proven proven and proven statement !!! If based on your stubburn arguement, Spritefires and mustangs are proven planes, then why F16 and F15 appear ?Originally posted by sbst275:Nope... By then, it would be a generation gap.. F-15 is not really old, it has been proven in wars and USAF is going to upgrade it
Do note that france has not won a war for almost 5 centuries...Originally posted by ah_kwang:I wonder how's the NGF program developing. Long time never hear from MINDEF about that le (maybe i didn't notice). The NGF program has been delayed since last year(it's still delaying). I think maybe it's due to problems relating to finance, politics (buy from US or French or Brits) and technical(which one is better)? Or perhaps they have other intentions in dragging the selection of a fighter?
Anyway my preferred choice would be Rafale because :
1) It's compatible with upcoming new missles such as Storm shawdow and Meteor
2) They are offering us a not bad deal with source code, joint radar development, BVR missles and such... (which is what we desperately wanted) The eurofighter's deal not bad too! (AMRAAM and such) The americans had been reluctant to give us these.
3) It's has a sleek design. Beautiful.(nothing technical though). French are supposedly more artistic anyway.
4) It would allow us to use more of their bases as training grounds for our pilots.
5) Considering Dassualt is quite established since their Mirage has been quite popular. ( Though F16 is far more popular :lol
6) we already bought frigates from them(they seemed quite reliable). ( and of course not forgetting the North East Line Trains) haha
Correct me if i'm wrong.