The Isrealis Mirage wiped out the arab air forces within hours during the six day war. The Argentine's Etendard armed with Exocet was a major threat to the British during the Falkland war. In fact, they sank a few British ships.Originally posted by SibeiSuayKia:Do note that france has not won a war for almost 5 centuries...
Yes Mirage III was the star of six day war.Originally posted by sgdiehard:The Isrealis Mirage wiped out the arab air forces within hours during the six day war. The Argentine's Etendard armed with Exocet was a major threat to the British during the Falkland war. In fact, they sank a few British ships.
We don't need the French to fight for us and we don't adopt French military strategies.
If the French were as good as the weapon they produced they would be formidable. If the French were as beautiful as their country, France would be a paradize.
These 18x A4 will be sold off or scrap once retired. Too expensive to ship em backOriginally posted by Fairyland:18x A4SUs to stay in France.....
What happens to the other ~60x A4s here?
Gifts to ABRI?!
They are still the most capable A4s even though some claim them to be "old" and obsolete.
Blk 52 F16s for CAS maybe an overkill......
Why not an ANG wing for RSAF?
Of course I'm wrong.
quite feasible. But i wonder if that will happen since singapore has no political, military and whatsoever relations with these countries. Even so, Maybe our F-16 A/B yes but our skyhawk airframe has been around even before the vietnam war . Though the technologies embedded and engines are new or upgraded recently, it's airframe and platform is as old as our first HDB flats. I wonder if any airforce in the world would still want to consider buying a platform this old or we would even sell them at all. Anyway, just wondering if we are really selling/giving off of F16 A/B? I guess they are better than A4s or F5s if upgraded.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Sell them to Slovenia or any of the new NATO states for homeland air defence roles.
It costs alot of $$ to upgrade F-16 A/B also...Originally posted by ah_kwang:quite feasible. But i wonder if that will happen since singapore has no political, military and whatsoever relations with these countries. Even so, Maybe our F-16 A/B yes but our skyhawk airframe has been around even before the vietnam war . Though the technologies embedded and engines are new or upgraded recently, it's airframe and platform is as old as our first HDB flats. I wonder if any airforce in the world would still want to consider buying a platform this old or we would even sell them at all. Anyway, just wondering if we are really selling/giving off of F16 A/B? I guess they are better than A4s or F5s if upgraded.
Correct me if I'm wrong.
I dun think the govt intends to use for such a short while, just look at our herks.Originally posted by sbst275:Em... A-4 is 1950's fighter jet, itself cannot tahan liao... F-15 can still be used till 2010+
Well, I would say that they have much better capabilities than the light trainers that South American nations use as both drug interdiction and patrol duties.Originally posted by ah_kwang:quite feasible. But i wonder if that will happen since singapore has no political, military and whatsoever relations with these countries. Even so, Maybe our F-16 A/B yes but our skyhawk airframe has been around even before the vietnam war . Though the technologies embedded and engines are new or upgraded recently, it's airframe and platform is as old as our first HDB flats. I wonder if any airforce in the world would still want to consider buying a platform this old or we would even sell them at all. Anyway, just wondering if we are really selling/giving off of F16 A/B? I guess they are better than A4s or F5s if upgraded.
Correct me if I'm wrong.
probably deploying so as to extend the lifespan of brake disc on its main landing gear... or to prevent excessive tire wear due to hard braking...Originally posted by Zooish:Saw it personally at least a couple of times before... no sign of break failure, just routine landings, but parachute was deployed.![]()
F5 deploy chutes normally on landing because the approach speed is one of the highest among fighters in the world, typically looking at 155-170kts on finals, thats why you use the drag chute to aid in slowing down the aircraft before using the brakes later, so u save on brake wear n tear.....+ the tires too...Originally posted by monkeybusiness:ya..me oso saw it at the air force open house tis yr..
2 F-5s landing together den the F-5 at the back open up the chute first... the chute is yellow or orange in colour if i m not wrong