Originally posted by ryangian:just joking mah....
anyway, i heard that adf is as siong as cdo so might as well go sign on cdo, better propects
Well, as long as their soldiers are willing and gung-ho enough to go on missions, I would say that they are valuable to us already.Originally posted by lwflee:Dude, Stop perpetuating myths. It is not a "Hush Hush" unit. Its just quite new.
It is a force that is made up of regular infantry/guards/Cdo soldiers. It even has regular "men" in it!!! These men however, are quite a sad breed (i heard) coz the sign a (approx.) 4 years contract that will in most cases not be renewed. If they want to sign on a spec later, they need to go to SISPEC.
Since it is made up of regulars, it is the unit that will usually be deployed for real ops. Eg. Peace keeping. It is also for the same reason that they are the ones that are issued with the goodies. Eg. they were using the LBVs for quite a while already.
Another thing about ADF is that they tend to more than thier fair share of discipline problems because of, as you can imagine, the type of ppl they attract. (IE sign on in infantry as men for what will in the most cases be a short term - almost mercenary type people). Behaviour wise, those that i have come across has this elite mentality that i personally find very irritating.
Hoever, i do think that the ADF is a good idea and makes a valuable asset to the SAF. If only they can rein in their soldiers...
welcome to nee soon camp!Originally posted by TVaddict:my previous camp has a company size of adf. but i heard all the adf coys are going to be moved to neeson camp...
yes u are correct. all regulars, some sign on as man.Originally posted by thoreldan:i just know they're all made up of regulars
correct me if i'm wrong..
That would explain the CPL I saw in No.3 with a UN service medal in their coy office one day.I was quite confused by it until my friend told me ADF does have regular "men".Originally posted by Gordonator:yes u are correct. all regulars, some sign on as man.
its no more A21DF...its just ADF now...n there is a fourth coy...Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:The actual term is A21DF - Army 21 Developmental Force. As of the time I left service, there were only 3 active companies with plans for more and are mostly for overseas/UN deployments.
Not all members are as gung-ho as you think. There are cases of people in the initial batch that refused to go for the E. Timor deployment.
true. better than those gu niang soldiers who complained about every little thing...Originally posted by LazerLordz:Well, as long as their soldiers are willing and gung-ho enough to go on missions, I would say that they are valuable to us already.
ya. i saw a ADF CPL with airbrone, JCC and service bar on his no.3 at the cookhouse once.Originally posted by LazerLordz:That would explain the CPL I saw in No.3 with a UN service medal in their coy office one day.I was quite confused by it until my friend told me ADF does have regular "men".
Originally posted by TVaddict:true. better than those gu niang soldiers who complained about every little thing...
Gotta admit that they are enlistees and not everyone is cut out for military service.Originally posted by wuming78:even better than those gu niangs who start to complain about every little thing before they even enlist.
im sure.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Gotta admit that they are enlistees and not everyone is cut out for military service.
u have signed the contract? then you shouldnt need to worry too much. they would be calling you soon. why not call arc to check if you are worried?Originally posted by Hellraiza:when i kana recourse at tekong (previous vocation - armskoteman) i got so desperate to leave service side i wanted to sign on as infantry...then the recruitment spec talk alot of shit abt not cfm will get lah, y don't u sign adf, got alot of $$$...
so i sign lor.
that was in nov. i have YET to receive any news. i already been thru the interview and sign the contract yet have not been called up for check up. now i heard they dun accept pes B soldiers. anyone can enlighten???
they try alot of new things....Originally posted by mika14:Hiz!
Then what's the training like to be an ADF trooper?