i agreeOriginally posted by erijazz:
I think I will be wasting my time if I go on here...
i second that cos i was there in the beret change follow by route march, HQ Guard was also formed and light strike were brought in...quite an excitng period in the early 90s...Originally posted by bcoy:In my opinion, (coming from a Guards unit) - Guards units were quite low key in the past, especially during the early formation of 21 div. (There are other details which I will not go into).
Only those who serve in the SAF know what Guards units did, the general public still thought of Guards units as the Istana guards. In the mid 90s', with the change of the beret colour and the publicity given (media, internet, etc), people's perception change.
During those days, 21DIV was not even form yet and not even JOPD which eventually transform into 21DIV, we are only known to others we are from 7SIB. Those days, ppl only know that we are the elite force but have no idea elite for what reason, they tot it was becoz of the training we had is close to CDO during that era... only til the big picture is draw today and 21DIV is form...Originally posted by bcoy:In my opinion, (coming from a Guards unit) - Guards units were quite low key in the past, especially during the early formation of 21 div. (There are other details which I will not go into).
Only those who serve in the SAF know what Guards units did, the general public still thought of Guards units as the Istana guards. In the mid 90s', with the change of the beret colour and the publicity given (media, internet, etc), people's perception change.
I think you should heard of combine arm by now.Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:Something interesting caught my attention too while I was still a fresh recruit coz one of the former CGO (BG Philip Su) was not a Guardsman. Hardly surprising now to find serving Chiefs from different arms.
It 1995 June. Colour Retired and 7SIB go into 2 active 1 reserve.Originally posted by EXCO:There used to be three Guards battalions, 1Gds, 2Gds, and 3Gds. 2nd Guards was disbanded around 1994 and its Colour was also retired.
Just to add on, it was moving towards US RDF (the 82 DIV)back than. That is how 21RDF come about.Originally posted by sidestep1984:guardsmen are infantrymen....elite infantrymen....
guards were derived in the UK....there were irish guards.....scottish guards...they are all elite infantrymen.....the similarity between the guards in singapore and the irish guards are the khaki berets that they don...
what are you trying to say?Originally posted by like2koon:I think guardsmen are hot. thinking infantrythen again, I'm biased. My bf is in guards
I think army guys in general are hot. ok depends on whether occifer/specialist (I like men with power). also whether tall and muscular. good looking and patriotic also helps. pack all of these ingredients up and you get 1 damn hot guy.
incidentally, where do army regulars (i.e. not the siao dee dees) hang out? they all seem quite beng leh and always got young cmi lians hanging off thier arms. actually, my bf quite beng too. but I not lian leh. hiaz.
Ready To Strike!Originally posted by Joshua1975:I think you should heard of combine arm by now.
Back than, it still not widely used or call and as for HQ21, because of it capability, the CGO need not be GUARDS train. (I still prefer he is) Let look at it this way. must the CDF be train LAND, SEA and AIR?
The next reason is of cause, we have a few BG every year, where can they go?
First In. Last Out. Ready To Strike.
haiyah - I'm 29 leh. how can go for younger men?Originally posted by Diehard_89:what are you trying to say?![]()
then you should not have said xiao dees deesOriginally posted by like2koon:haiyah - I'm 29 leh. how can go for younger men?
Originally posted by Diehard_89:then you should not have said xiao dees dees
whyOriginally posted by Diehard_89:then you should not have said xiao dees dees
younger guys more pump and girth...kekekeOriginally posted by like2koon:why
younger guys are xiao dee dees what.
oh dearOriginally posted by sidestep1984:younger guys more pump and girth...kekeke
y cannot give respect to infantry?Originally posted by like2koon:oh dear
I didnt mean it that way!!
as for younger guys - sorry - but i think size is very personal but according to my friends, its the genetics and race that is the greatest reliable determiner, not the age! but that's for another forum.
give respect to guards hor.......![]()
It would be nice to see the whole brigade together again. I did attend some activities in the past, when we could see all three battalions and the Brigade HQ guys together.Originally posted by Joshua1975:It 1995 June. Colour Retired and 7SIB go into 2 active 1 reserve.
Said to be reopen 2005, that will be this year, but not sure about it yet. Maybe welcoming the dragon babies.
yah, those were the days...Originally posted by bcoy:It would be nice to see the whole brigade together again. I did attend some activities in the past, when we could see all three battalions and the Brigade HQ guys together.
Yes, the concept of Combined Arms is already there when I recieved my posting (Thanks to all that brain drilling by the Wing Commander) but the perception of the majority has always been that these Chiefs are often from the same Arm. Eg. Go ask any green recruit which Arm the CIO is from and you can be sure the answer is Infantry, vice versa for the other Arms.Originally posted by Joshua1975:I think you should heard of combine arm by now.
Back than, it still not widely used or call and as for HQ21, because of it capability, the CGO need not be GUARDS train. (I still prefer he is) Let look at it this way. must the CDF be train LAND, SEA and AIR?
The different Guards brigades in the reserves are tasked with different operations - airmobile, amphibious operations, etc, etc. I ended up from airmobile to mechanised infantry in PDF.Originally posted by i-SHOT:Hey guys,
What's the standard SOP for Guardsmen these days? Are they issued the SAR 21? Man, I hope they traded those old SBO in.
That new beret sure looks nice. I still have my old green one...somewhere.
Here's a tad piece of old news. For a moment there, the SAF was considering converting one of the Guards unit into a Marines detachment. This was sometime in the mid-80s. That was what the CDO commandant of our commanders course said. I guess that never happened.