(Pity my MG team) I personally like to place my MG next to me whenever an assault or charge up is to be carry out. I will never never place them as a close fire support group. It a waste of fire power.
As for close fire support, I just need group 2 or 3, SS/LAW with SAW or M203 with SAW, they will do a great job.

i noe abt the FFF ..lets say 2 MGs been FFF. with serial 001 for MG 1 and its barrels and 002 for MG 2 and its barrels, why can't u swap the barrels btw them ?Originally posted by Geforce3:can what?? ACcording to my armourer friend, officer check for serial no is to ensure that the barrel is the one for the mg, cause the fff inspection is done using that barrel
due to red tape meh ? anyone else like to comment ?Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:Because MG1 has not been certified to be FFF to fire with MG2's barrels and vice versa. In theory they can interswitch but sadly with the SAF it's all down to red-tape and no-one wants to be liable for anything that happens by doing something that has no "insurance".
surely can interchange one la...there are like hundreds to thousands of Gimpys....imagine making unique barrels for each and every one of them....Originally posted by one-niner:the GPMG was essentially a WW 2 design based on the german's MG42 roller mechanism. along with the belt feeding tray...i remember reading up on some website which feature small arms from pistols to sniper rifles...i remember the site being posted here before.anione care to follow up on that ?
can someone really explain to me why the barrels of the GPMGs cannot be interchanged ?? the MGs used by the SAF are marked with a serial number on both the weapon and the 2 barrels ?? i mean they are also GPMGs right ? remember how during live firing even the safety officer got to check that the MG barrel numbers match ?
well they do really do that in SAF, insurance thingy, since they are afraid of chamber or barrel explosionOriginally posted by sidestep1984:surely can interchange one la...there are like hundreds to thousands of Gimpys....imagine making unique barrels for each and every one of them....
need not change so often, i had one officer say change barrel after every 200 rounds fired??? I just walk away, he can change as and when all he like.Originally posted by Geforce3:well they do really do that in SAF, insurance thingy, since they are afraid of chamber or barrel explosion
Well....are u a technician???Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:Because MG1 has not been certified to be FFF to fire with MG2's barrels and vice versa. In theory they can interswitch but sadly with the SAF it's all down to red-tape and no-one wants to be liable for anything that happens by doing something that has no "insurance".
Agree. I had used mgs whereby the spare barrels could not fit in at all. In the end found out that the spare barrel was not meant for the mg I was using.Originally posted by deathscythe99:Well....are u a technician???
Technically speaking, when you do a FFF of the GPMG, you do it with both barrels. What technicians do is to ensure that both the barrels of the GPMG sit in well and tight with the rest of the parts of the GPMG - i.e. body and receiver group.
When you use another barrel from another GPMG to be used on a different one which it was FFF with, you get a possibility of a gap by which excess gas would rush out. There would not be a tight fit. Note that when u fit in the barrel, you need to slide in and turn in right-wards. Why? Take note of the lugs
so does that mean there is a quality control problem ?? bit lame right ?? meaning that the MG barrels has to match the MG your firing. With all the mordern day lathing tools and machinery..the barrels can still differ in quality ...Originally posted by duajia:Agree. I had used mgs whereby the spare barrels could not fit in at all. In the end found out that the spare barrel was not meant for the mg I was using.
the barrel change is instructions from manufacturer and not some SAF doctrine leh...Originally posted by Joshua1975:need not change so often, i had one officer say change barrel after every 200 rounds fired??? I just walk away, he can change as and when all he like.
rapid fire 500 rounds no problem at all. (it over in less than a minute)
control fire can go up to 1200 rounds.
remember to tell them to COME and remind you follow the rules when in the front line...![]()
Locally made.By ST.Originally posted by one-niner:so does that mean there is a quality control problem ?? bit lame right ?? meaning that the MG barrels has to match the MG your firing. With all the mordern day lathing tools and machinery..the barrels can still differ in quality ...
Are our MG local made or imported ?
It's not a quality control problem.Originally posted by one-niner:so does that mean there is a quality control problem ?? bit lame right ?? meaning that the MG barrels has to match the MG your firing. With all the mordern day lathing tools and machinery..the barrels can still differ in quality ...
Are our MG local made or imported ?
this is what bullsh|t look likeOriginally posted by Bejean:I wonder if ST could modify the GPMG into something lighter or is there a lighter MG in the market? Is it so hard to use light composite plastics to make the MG frame, tripod etc.
Gnn, the fucking weapon already so heavy sia especially when u consider the MG rounds....no joke man.
Respect to MG Team.![]()
Originally posted by geruicheng:It is shear.
Anybody experience runaway gun?
Yes. I did. The GPMG trigger part can be dismantle and you can see a sear(?) that holds back the bolt of the gun.