4 rounds to second gunner, and if need be 1 round chambered in gun.Originally posted by tvdog:I was rifleman runner, not 84mm.
All I can say aout the 84 is that it is damn heavy and fcuking loud. Best you are not near this beast during live firing.
One problem with the 84 is the size and weight of the tube and the ammo. Even though there are so many different and interesting types of ammo, there are only so many rounds each 84 team can carry.
HEAT or any other CE round do not really need high velocity for penetration.Originally posted by zenden9:muzzle velocity 290m/s? That's slow
No,I'm not concern abt the penetration power.But time taken to reach the target.The faster,the less chance the enemy will escape from the impact.Originally posted by gary1910:HEAT or any other CE round do not really need high velocity for penetration.
you have a point there...Originally posted by zenden9:No,I'm not concern abt the penetration power.But time taken to reach the target.The faster,the less chance the enemy will escape from the impact.
For penetration wise I dun have details but read somewhere they already develop a special round that can pierce ERA armor.Originally posted by zenden9:No,I'm not concern abt the penetration power.But time taken to reach the target.The faster,the less chance the enemy will escape from the impact.
The gun venturi actually shapes the backblast angle protecting gunner and assistant during live fire.Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):si bei heavy....
good luck to the assistant when doing live firing and hope no blinds ...if not balls drop man......![]()
There is the tandem warhead 751 HEAT,effective range slightly more than 600m , with muzzle velocity of 210m/s.Originally posted by KumSioJui:For penetration wise I dun have details but read somewhere they already develop a special round that can pierce ERA armor.
As to the target getting away. 84 Max effective range is 700m from the point of fire to target impact takes only few seconds, gun crews can be spread out to engage tank at different angles and each take turn to fire. HEAT penetration is 400mm RHA steel armor.
From our training we know that most tanks are not very accurate when fire on the move, primary obj is always disable first, whack the tracks or from behind then once tank not going anywhere as good as bye bye.
But having said this of course it's also very rare to find tanks alone by themselves, mostly they move in convoys for protection and in a way that cover various arcs and once being engaged will not stay in same place for very long.
Yah lor .. but I heard the newer units are training on MK3, and they sometimes use it during atec or btec with miles system.Originally posted by nightzip:me from 84mm section, KSJ.
one thing i dun like its you know Carl Gustav, now already Mark 3.
last time is mark 1 and mark2..SAF using MARK2.
Mark 3 version is the tube make of plastic wan....lighter by as much as 7kg!!!!
and been around for as long as 8-9 years liao..but the damn SAF dun wanna change the rifle...make me carry the damn heavy gun!!
gun:16.1kg
telescopic sight : 1.1 kg
nighthawk: 2.1 kg
+SBO +FBO ??? dunno how heavy all in all!![]()
Wow .. 500mm penetration after defeating ERA ... cool...Originally posted by gary1910:There is the tandem warhead 751 HEAT,effective range slightly more than 600m , with muzzle velocity of 210m/s.
Penetration of abt 500mm RHA after ERA.
Since the effective range of this round is only 600m, thus the low velocity does not really matter, afterall the entire flight time is only 2~3 sec for the effective range, thus when the tank crew realise that there is rocket coming toward it, I think they left only one sec to react, there is if they see the incoming rocket in the first place.
Here the brochure:
http://products.saab.se/PDBWeb/GetFile.aspx?pathtype=ProductFiles&filetype=Files&id=2081
Hehehe,u can volunteer to donate a Mark 3 version to SAF and personally assign to u only. BTW,will it mean shorter lifespan for using plastic? Maybe after fire 20 times must throw away and cannot be used? Any idea?Originally posted by nightzip:me from 84mm section, KSJ.
one thing i dun like its you know Carl Gustav, now already Mark 3.
last time is mark 1 and mark2..SAF using MARK2.
Mark 3 version is the tube make of plastic wan....lighter by as much as 7kg!!!!
and been around for as long as 8-9 years liao..but the damn SAF dun wanna change the rifle...make me carry the damn heavy gun!!
gun:16.1kg
telescopic sight : 1.1 kg
nighthawk: 2.1 kg
+SBO +FBO ??? dunno how heavy all in all!![]()