It's called the Combat Skills Badge (CSB) and there are eight stations. Those that I can remember are CPR, signal set assembly, GPS, river crossing, range and SAR21 stripping and assembly. Two more can't remember. It's held at Tekong and conducted by SISPEC. Typically begins at 2130hrs and ends around 0700hrs the next day.Originally posted by Joshua1975:requirement for Singapore Infantry Badge.
32km route march with timing.
every 8km point one statice test station. total 4 station(dun ask me what are the test, i dun know. can oni be sure that shooting is one of it.)
how the badge look like? still never seen it.![]()
Actually among COL Toh's academic qualifications are degrees in several disciplines. One of them is even a masters, I believe. Until recently, he was holding four concurrent portfolios: Comd 9 Div, Chief Infantry Officer, Director of NS Affairs and President of Chevrons (Specialist and Warrant Officers' Club). He recently relinquished his DNSA position to Comd 6 Div. So you can see, he's a very busy man. Should be getting his star this June.Originally posted by trueno86:he's A levels...and was a major and CO of 3rd Grds 1994 - 1996...i was in Charlie...we won the best infantry unit and he got promoted to commander 7 SIB (LTC), he was also organiser for NDP 1996 where the entire 3rd guard was involve in marching contingent...after which he was transfer to CMPB to become head of affairs...something like that...think he got promoted again to full colonel and become chief infantry officer and commander 9 div...he got only sg airborne badge, US air assault badge and guards tab in my time...just last week when i was in ITI (ITC) doing in camp...he was giving a speech mentioning our unit contains his best memories...it was then i saw him having additional thai airborne badge and of cos the new infantry badge...ask any guys in our unit and they will tell you Colonel Toh best act was to provide hot soya bean and redbulls during our atec back in 95 which was raining throughout and freaking cold...
No. 3 version is in silver, shallow embossing. SAR21 with laurels.Originally posted by Gordonator:just the other day, i saw another person with that badge in no.4. haven't seem the no.3 version yet though.
That's not the Combat Skills Badge! That pic was taken before he qualified for the badge.Originally posted by Gordonator:here's the pic of COL winston toh with the singapore infantryman badge. don't know u all can see or not. very small the pic. it's above his airborne badge. bright green color.
got pic? i'll like to se it.Originally posted by patriot:No. 3 version is in silver, shallow embossing. SAR21 with laurels.
ya lah. that's the infantryman badge, cos can see SAR21 on it.Originally posted by patriot:That's not the Combat Skills Badge! That pic was taken before he qualified for the badge.
It was initially called Infantry Proficiency Badge but later changed to Combat Skills Badge.Originally posted by wuming78:so the combat skill badge = the infantry proficiency badge?
Originally posted by patriot:That's not the Combat Skills Badge! That pic was taken before he qualified for the badge.
care to explain yourself, catch no balls here.Originally posted by patriot:It was initially called Infantry Proficiency Badge but later changed to Combat Skills Badge.
all those are done at the individual level, and failing one station means failure?Originally posted by decepticon25:the "badge" the Col is wearing is actuallya sticker with the CSB(formerly the infantry profiency badge, formerly the InfantryBadge) motif given out during the infantry seminar. The real badge is the one shown during the 9 Div merger parade in the background. the no 3 one is the same except in silver. i am lacking a scanner if not i can show you the no.4 version. Oh yeah the REAl qualification for the badge is actually 5 days: 10 click run, Topo in lower Mandai and if im not wrong SOC and 16 click RM. The actual 32 click has a river-crossing station which you have to cross it.
oh yes. just went through the army intranet today and confirmed this.Originally posted by patriot:It was initially called Infantry Proficiency Badge but later changed to Combat Skills Badge.
you are quite right.Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:Guess OCS gonna adopt this as a compulsory thing sometime soon.![]()
yes in fact if u look in this month issue of pioneer. between the pages, u will find a photo of a newly commissioned officer with both the Combat Skills Badge and the JCC badge.Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:Guess OCS gonna adopt this as a compulsory thing sometime soon.![]()
That's because the components in the CSB course will be integrated into the other leadership courses. The initial CSB courses were conducted only to give regulars who already completed their leadership courses the opportunity to get the badge.Originally posted by decepticon25:now i heard if a trainee cleared BSLC & ASLC he will automatically get the badge. Same for Infantry Officer cadets. Soldiers like me suffered the whole nite walking thirty two click with FBO, dummy mags and grenade plus SAR 21 doing tests and crossing the stupid resevoir and finally shooting SAR-21. Suffer like fcuk!
They already have.Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:Guess OCS gonna adopt this as a compulsory thing sometime soon.![]()
It replaces the old JCC Badge which is now...ahem...defunct?Originally posted by Gordonator:like that like most infantry NSF commanders will have something to decorate their no.4 liao.![]()
no lah, still have JCC for the cadets. except now that they have 1 more badge to decorate on their uniform.Originally posted by deathscythe99:It replaces the old JCC Badge which is now...ahem...defunct?
Heard from one of my frens who's a PC tt in e near future, OCS cadets will NOT go thru JCC. Tis is coz due to OCS training being shortened to 9mths from the current 10mths. Guess tis has sth to do wif NS being reduced to 2yrs.Originally posted by Gordonator:no lah, still have JCC for the cadets. except now that they have 1 more badge to decorate on their uniform.![]()
Sorry but I think that's the Rifle Expert Badge....they have one for the pistol too...Originally posted by Joshua1975:CIB
Silver and enamel badge consisting of an infantry musket on a light blue bar with a silver border, on and over an elliptical oak wreath. Stars are added at the top of the wreath to indicate subsequent awards; one star for the second award, two stars for the third award and three stars for the fourth award.
The bar is blue, the color associated with the Infantry branch. The musket is adapted from the Infantry insignia of branch and represents the first official U.S. shoulder arm, the 1795 model Springfield Arsenal musket. It was adopted as the official Infantry branch insignia in 1924. The oak symbolizes steadfastness, strength and loyalty.
Awarded to personnel in the grade of Colonel or below with an infantry military occupational specialty who have satisfactorily performed duty while assigned as a member of an infantry unit, brigade or smaller size, during any period subsequent to 6 December 1941 when the unit was engaged in active ground combat. The policy was expanded to permit award to Command Sergeants Major of infantry battalions or brigades, effective 1 January 1967. Specific criteria for each conflict was also established. Only one award is authorized for service in Vietnam, Laos, Dominican Republic, Korea (subsequent to 27 July 1954), Grenada, Panama, and Southwest Asia. The complete criteria for each area and inclusive dates are listed in Army Regulation 600-8-22.EIB
CIB (Combat InfantrymanÂ’s Badge) is supposed to be awarded to participants in a war, and EIB (Expert InfantrymanÂ’s Badge) to successful candidates who pass the EIB test.
Originally posted by Seshiro:Sorry but I think that's the Rifle Expert Badge....they have one for the pistol too...