A-4 is hardly flown during peace time except for the Black KnightsOriginally posted by monkeybusiness:last time at the air force open hse, a pilot told me tat pilots do not fly everyday...wen dey do not fly, they do mission planning and stuffs like tat...
so will the pilots of A4 do mission planning everyday since they cant fly?
*my knowledge bout such stuff are still limited since i havnt been into ns yet*
U dun need to do NS to find out about RSAF operations....wanna know SIGN ON....Originally posted by monkeybusiness:last time at the air force open hse, a pilot told me tat pilots do not fly everyday...wen dey do not fly, they do mission planning and stuffs like tat...
eh...last time i ask a chinook pilotOriginally posted by sbst275:A-4 is hardly flown during peace time except for the Black Knights
yah lor that reminds me of something...will the Black Knights be reamained for thier service to RSAF....Originally posted by sbst275:A-4 is hardly flown during peace time except for the Black Knights
hmm...Originally posted by larrenV2.003:U dun need to do NS to find out about RSAF operations....wanna know SIGN ON....
i havnt see the black nites in action b4...Originally posted by larrenV2.003:yah lor that reminds me of something...will the Black Knights be reamained for thier service to RSAF....
Em... Dun know... Last time they used Hunters... Later together with F-5... Now A-4 with F-16Originally posted by larrenV2.003:yah lor that reminds me of something...will the Black Knights be reamained for thier service to RSAF....
What rubbish is that? The A-4SUs flew reguarly as do other jets. Black Knights? They are unlike Blue Angels or Thunderbirds. The Black Knight aicrafts are drawn from the regular squadrons and returned after their performance. So there is no permanent Black Knight squadron.Originally posted by sbst275:A-4 is hardly flown during peace time except for the Black Knights
The Skyhawk is not new, its 2nd hand. So even if you upgrade the radar, and so on, the airframe is ageing. Unless you replace the airframe also, which is stupid, there will be a problem of safety.Originally posted by seancannot:Quite suprised RSAF scrapping them so soon... RSAF Spend $$$ upgrade airframe , F404 engine, avoinics ,radar of 70 ++ nos to super Skyhawk (SS) in early 1990s.. So the shelf life of SS less 15 yrs only!! I thot after upgrading SS comparable to a F -16 A ... Y scrap them isnt it a waste of $$.. Our NGF have not been induced yet... That means our Combat aircraft strength has been halved liao... enlighten me if any of you know
Some more, the aircraft also limited in performance.......Originally posted by seancannot:Quite suprised RSAF scrapping them so soon... RSAF Spend $$$ upgrade airframe , F404 engine, avoinics ,radar of 70 ++ nos to super Skyhawk (SS) in early 1990s.. So the shelf life of SS less 15 yrs only!! I thot after upgrading SS comparable to a F -16 A ... Y scrap them isnt it a waste of $$.. Our NGF have not been induced yet... That means our Combat aircraft strength has been halved liao... enlighten me if any of you know
fyi . . .it is not that limited. In fact, after the upgrade it even out fly and out match the F5 tiger 2sOriginally posted by SBS3624G:Some more, the aircraft also limited in performance.......
Yur head lah... of course they had routine training flights. If dun fly then wat, sit inside weather shed and let it rust ah?Originally posted by sbst275:A-4 is hardly flown during peace time except for the Black Knights
Yes... But are they for active combat duties as regular as the F-16 or F-5?Originally posted by eurofighter:What rubbish is that? The A-4SUs flew reguarly as do other jets. Black Knights? They are unlike Blue Angels or Thunderbirds. The Black Knight aicrafts are drawn from the regular squadrons and returned after their performance. So there is no permanent Black Knight squadron.
Different squadrons got their own flight schedules mah, b'cos SG airspace too small liao, if all fly together sure will langah one. Plus the planes need maintainence, heard the technicians say that some parts have to be replaced after every flight. So one or two days a week there will be no flights, allow the techs to do maintenance.Originally posted by monkeybusiness:last time at the air force open hse, a pilot told me tat pilots do not fly everyday...wen dey do not fly, they do mission planning and stuffs like tat...
You can't compare ONE squadron of A4s compared to dozens of F16 squadrons.Originally posted by sbst275:Yes... But are they for active combat duties as regular as the F-16 or F-5?
And pls, mind your language
You can't compare ONE squadron of A4s compared to dozens of F16 squadrons.I can tell you that they just had an exercise last month and they did quite well for it[/code]
Mind you, the A4s were still involved in exercises as recently as early 2004
Of course . A4s are on standby duties as often as other a/c types before the retirement. A4s even stood in for other a/c types to be on alert.Originally posted by sbst275:Yes... But are they for active combat duties as regular as the F-16 or F-5?
And pls, mind your language
Hmmm... thats what you think? Is it because you only see the A4 in the Black Knight outfit at AA?Originally posted by sbst275:A-4 is hardly flown during peace time except for the Black Knights
Cannot be. The F-5 has top speed of M1.6, and I fancy that the tiger eyes can fly faster as they are lightly loaded. Skyhawk was sub-sonic, so even if you up-grade, how much can the speed increase? F-5 also feature more advanced aerodynamics like area-ruled fuselage, making it a more efficient flyer. However, the skyhawk was never built for speed. It was built as small as possible and for heavy-loads, so we can't really compare to the F-5, which was built for agility and low cost.Originally posted by CenturionMBT:fyi . . .it is not that limited. In fact, after the upgrade it even out fly and out match the F5 tiger 2s
Experience learned from the upgrading.Originally posted by seancannot:Quite suprised RSAF scrapping them so soon... RSAF Spend $$$ upgrade airframe , F404 engine, avoinics ,radar of 70 ++ nos to super Skyhawk (SS) in early 1990s.. So the shelf life of SS less 15 yrs only!! I thot after upgrading SS comparable to a F -16 A ... Y scrap them isnt it a waste of $$.. Our NGF have not been induced yet... That means our Combat aircraft strength has been halved liao... enlighten me if any of you know