you are really getting paranoid here. Anyway, I dun really care if you are anti malaysian or not, but if one bunch of them decide to come here for a flame war, you may be held responsible for it.Originally posted by tripwire:if every nation on earth are truely worried about political or diplomatic consequences, spies would be out of jobs!
i have no doubt there are smart malaysians, i just dont know if you are.
afterall... so what if we caught them doing it? what are we gonna do? start a war? at best boeing would just leave malaysia... and malaysian economy wont even feel its absence!
yet the consequences for such a breach on our security would be critical. NOT to mention the billions of dollars that we would need to spend, to make their information redundent. you think SAF too much money no where to throw!?
worst!! if we fail to detect such a breach and happily continue to talk cock sing song in sgforum, while malaysian spies and defence expert seeks ways and means to crack our F-15T.
MINDEF's intel reach can only go so far, its unable to bug every malaysian and keep track of their daily activities...
and why would we wanna put ourselves in a compromise position in the first place if we knew in advance the potential problem!?
lastly, i am not sowing discord... but politics are an ugly affair... naviety is the first step towards national disaster.
i hope MINDEF would take the neccessary precaution.. but it aint the first time MINDEF mess up in its acquisition... but you wont hear it in public... only that some crabs would be going for early retirement.
are you out of your mind?Originally posted by CenturionMBT:you are really getting paranoid here. Anyway, I dun really care if you are anti malaysian or not, but if one bunch of them decide to come here for a flame war, you may be held responsible for it.
paranoid? tell me... which weapons did malaysia bought from us? and which weapon did we buy from them?Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Don't be like this lah pal.
you over paranoid man!
anyway, idwar is back...
i wanna hear what he has to say though.![]()
Your really making a big fuss out of it..
i trample on both if they want to have a flame war here. don't like how i do things here? You can jolly well leave. Otherwise, just shuddup and discuss on things that has nothing to do with country vs country kind of threads.Originally posted by tripwire:by the way centurion... is this a singapore forum or a malaysian forum?
you dont seem to mind trampling on singaporeans just to please malaysians...
wow...... i would like to know if there are other singaporeans with the same opinion as yours.... anyone?Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:So what if our F-15T got compromised or something?
F-15T might not form the backbone of our airforce..
Rather its our F-16 Blk 52+
as far as i see.. this thread was aimed at boeing... and unfortunate as it may be... military and politics are at times indivisible..Originally posted by CenturionMBT:i trample on both if they want to have a flame war here. don't like how i do things here? You can jolly well leave. Otherwise, just shuddup and discuss on things that has nothing to do with country vs country kind of threads.
nothing to do with maf, nothing to do with saf. but already there are malaysians who have tried to stirr up feelings with their postings here. And i have deleted a hell lot of them. And like wise, i will be equally heavy handed on singaporeans who tries to start a flame war here. besides if you want to nitpick with the malaysians, you can always do it else where. Not here.Originally posted by tripwire:as far as i see.. this thread was aimed at boeing... and unfortunate as it may be... military and politics are at times indivisible..
its good to moderate so that discussion can be focused and not degrade into a shouting war... but its another thing if moderation is carried to the extreme... when it became a form of censorship.
the sad thing is that this forum is now in public view and presumably would be under the monitoring of both SAF as well as MAF, so... in a sense its not too nice to be too anti malaysia.
or MAF might construed the posting here as the act of SAF to conjure anti-malaysia feeling...
of course.. i might be reading too much into the tea leaves... but then.. once you are a "public figure", you have to act more "civilised", right?
Dude, this forum is tame compared to other military forums.Whatever is in the public domain is fair game.Originally posted by tripwire:wow...... i would like to know if there are other singaporeans with the same opinion as yours.... anyone?
you obviously dont care about the lives of your fellow singaporeans... especially those pilots that would be flying the F-15T as well as the soldiers and troops that would be under their protection.
one weak link in an armor... could spell your death...
perhaps i am paranoid.. but i think you are too candid about the security of singapore... but then again ... you might not be singaporean... are you?
LHL used to say:"we don't identify our enemies, they identify themselves."Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:They aren't our enemies anyway.
The Real enemy is not malaysia , but the people who purposely want to disrupt the peace![]()
In terms of defence dollars, the Singapore soil is the most expensively protected.I think we can safely assume that our threats are fluid, and the biggest threat to our survival is a nation that seeks to attack and be prejudicial to our national interest.Originally posted by sgdiehard:LHL used to say:"we don't identify our enemies, they identify themselves."
Who are our "real" enemies, against whom we all kenna 2 and a half years NS?? the people who occupied us for 2 n 1/2 yrs and killed 50,000 people? those from whom we were "painfully separated"? or the big country which just woke up ?? What do OUR history tell us? We should not live with heavy historical baggage but it would be stupid to ignore history as if it never happened!!
Who are those militaristic countries? how do we define militaristic countries? Without prejudice, statistics show that USA spend US$420 billion in its military budget, and japan, who is supposed to have only "self defence force" is spending 41.4 billion US$ on military expenses, while China, who is way behind in military technology but with a land size similar to US, is spending US$30 billion. Who is more militaristic?
Malaysia spend US 2 billion, protecting an area of 329,000 km2 while singapore spend US 6 billion, protecting 4 million people on an island of 637 km2. Even Israel's 10 billion, to protect a population of 6 million on an area of 20,000 km2, against all the arab nations, who are known enemies, become relatively small money compared to singapore military budget. Countries around us should be happy if we just do verbal bashing. Is Singapore militaristic?
While I do not dispute the necessity for the higher military budget, I believe we must not lose sight of the real threats to our nation, and plan our hardware purchases based on realistic assumptions. Otherwise some military enthusiasts may want to play around with the US theatre missiles defence system.
I also pay a lot of income tax, you know.
It is almost impossible though...unless we got shared history like Switzerland which lasted over hundreds of years...even the Swiss has its own conflicts between catholics and protestants...Originally posted by LazerLordz:In terms of defence dollars, the Singapore soil is the most expensively protected.I think we can safely assume that our threats are fluid, and the biggest threat to our survival is a nation that seeks to attack and be prejudicial to our national interest.
Ii is interesting to note that the nation which called us a barrier to her national interest and insensitive to her historical demands, was never really on our radar as a potential threat.I believe that when the shit hits the fan, our region will stand up for itself and not be political on the basis of race.
Hahahaha..... those who kpkb in forums don't pay or pay little tax?? No, you don't have to know what job I do and how much I make. I am a Chinese Singaporean, making use of this forum to voice some of my views, thats all you need to know. If my view differs from yours then you need to accept that not all singaporean think the way you do.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:You think i don't pay income tax?
I wonder what kind of job allows you to pay alot of income tax and yet..
kpkb in forums....
knn....i wonder what did the instructors teach you in NS ...
"Malaysia is your enemy! identify those troops and shoot them! ...
this is what kind of uniform malaysian troops wear , their scorpion vehicles..
their military platforms ...etc...etc.........
Seriously , your an extremist...
You are talking some sense here.Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:It is almost impossible though...unless we got shared history like Switzerland which lasted over hundreds of years...even the Swiss has its own conflicts between catholics and protestants...
Singapore only had a nation building of 40 years...Somehow its an impossible task to intergrate everyone together...
In Switzerland, there are over 63% Germans who make up the majority..and yet there can be peace and no racial riot...
1. French and Germany they got the almost the same religion ..
2. They have the same skin colour
3. Most of them can speak each other languages ..
French speak german, german can speak french
Not to mention they got their own cultures which are intermixed...
Chinese, Malay and Indian culture are very very different , if social integration needs to be done , more effort need to be placed in...
Not to mention all of them are extremely different in terms of skin colour, so..
i think there's still a very long way to go...
Not agreeing with your previous arguments and am not sure about "the huge amount of beneficial terms the french are offering us", but i fully agree we should not put all our eggs in one basket.Originally posted by tripwire:yup.... its naive to think that our enemy is definitely so and so... its better to be all prepared for the very worst against all possible scenario... least we get our pants caught down.
anyway... back to the topic... i still feel that its unwise to buy the F-15T from boeing when boeing has so little vested interest in singapore...
thus... i think its far better to go for the rafael given the huge amount of beneficial terms the french are offering us.
we need america as a close friend... but we need EU as well... its not wise for us to be too close to US as it might alienate our friends in EU and Asia, given the fact that RAFAEL is nicer then the F-15T, though it does seems abit "light" class.