1st... aiming device, the oni weapon without any will be a knife. please check do the 60mm have any b4 saying.Originally posted by tvdog:Well, I may just be a runner but there is one thing I know is: how to save my ass. (But I also spent a great deal of time during NS in the Bde S2 branch.)
If my coy is tasked to walk across a wide open ground with surrounding high ground, I'm sure every man and his dog will be thinking the same questions. It's no't a matter of "if" the enemy will be on the high ground, but a question of "where and when" they will strike. The scenario you described is like those guys below just offered themselves for target practice.
Of course, I have read enough to know that a lot of stupidity occur in even the best armies and a lot of stupid orders are always handed out so men can get slaughtered on hopeless missions.
For sure I am only speculating that the handheld mortar is inaccurate. But, as there are no aiming devices as far as I can see, I cannot comprehend how you can fire it accurately, especially at the engagement distance you discribed. 600m is damn far away. Even on a clear day in an open ground, a human at 600m is a mere speck. A human sitting is a trench or behind cover you will likely not be able to see without optics.
Firing the handheld mortar will be like firing from the hip: you have to "walk" your rounds onto target. And a hand can't be that steady. And you need the whole shebang to accurately walk your rounds onto target at 600m.
You would need a commander/spotter to direct your rounds. For a handheld mortar, it would sound something like this: "...OK OK, now bend your elbows a little bit. Next your wrist you have to turn 3 degree to the right. Now hold it steady and give me one round of HE." And when you reach for the ammo your hand holding the mortar tube shifts.
Also, from all that I have read of all the WW2 handheld mortars, they all said the same thing. That's why the M203 quickly replaced them.
Smoke will not be a double edged sword cos you engaged me at a distance of 600m. Only my GPMG and 84mm can return fire. This is beyond the effective range of my infantry with their 5.56mm weapons. So all they can do is to advance under the cover of smoke to get close enough to return fire.
All those who survive the initial 300m can redeploy to a leap frog type attack. And I think casualty rate from 2 GPMG firing from 600, 500m will be manageable. One platoon cover, 2 platoons move. All their weapons like M16, SAW and M-203 can be brought into play at this point.
One more thing I don't understand is how come after the initial barrage you don't continue to call for more arty on the attacking infantry?
as i had say, with M203, the range was cut back down in hundreds...Originally posted by tvdog:During one live firing I borowed an M203 and fired a couple of curry powder rounds at 300m.
The first one fell about 20m short but was travelling in the line I was aiming.
The 2nd one was on target after being advised what adjustment to make.
I have never fired an M203 prior to that. The only lesson I had in aiming was just five minutes before I fired the first round.
So that's why I had rather high opinion of the M203 and the simple flip sights.
It's possible that the handheld mortar has some kind of markings to indicate angle, or distance that I cannot see from the picture.
Since no one here has ever fired one, I can only base my judgement on a book I have that had pictures and write-ups about similar weapons from WW2. It said all handheld mortars were not accurate.
Of course, I have yet to read about the accuracy of the new handheld 51mm mortar.
Originally posted by tvdog:curry powder is a poor judge of the actual handling of the weapon... too little recoil... its like firing blanks on an m16 and saying that the weapon handles very well...
[b]During one live firing I borowed an M203 and fired a couple of curry powder rounds at 300m.
what kind of DOG you are... and which BiTcH give brith to you.Originally posted by tvdog:Joshua
Entertaining, my service record?
Originally, I posted a very detailed rundown of my service record. But reading your post again, I decided that I now have only this to say:
GO FU.CK YOURSELF.
*stares hard in disgust at both parties*Originally posted by tvdog:Joshua, wow... talk about low...
I'm not gonna stoop to your level and say something about your mom. I'm sure she's a fine woman whom have suffered all her life to bring you up. But what a disappointment you must've turned out to be.
Rank:Originally posted by Joshua1975:i am really confusefrom what you had said what you had been...
some time back, you say you a runner in another topic something on SAW.
in this topic you say your last NS was 9 years ago? some say you are POI which your time dun have and you not sure... red or blue you oso not sure?
still you say you are a runner? than some post back you say you in BDE S2 doing some worksss. i think there is one post from you that you are in command or something like that???
tell me you are just entertaining all in here all this while.
and now ~
live firing, no training? oni 5 min b4 hand, someone train by talk you into it and wah la... you go off to fire 2 round??? appointment runner?
BMT have M203 training dun they?
next any "flying" explosive will always have point target and area target... please check what is the distance or what i call effective range for point target for the M203 and what will be the effective range for area target.
(simple flip sights)it call leaf sight and to used it for target at 300m???
i was wondering... did they change the leaf sigh??? how come my was oni at 250m.
no one should have been I as in you.
as long anything dun match i will blah all out.
try to bring back to topic again....During one live firing I borowed an M203 and fired a couple of curry powder rounds at 300m.
The first one fell about 20m short but was travelling in the line I was aiming.
The 2nd one was on target after being advised what adjustment to make.
I have never fired an M203 prior to that. The only lesson I had in aiming was just five minutes before I fired the first round.
So that's why I had rather high opinion of the M203 and the simple flip sights.
It's possible that the handheld mortar has some kind of markings to indicate angle, or distance that I cannot see from the picture.
Since no one here has ever fired one, I can only base my judgement on a book I have that had pictures and write-ups about similar weapons from WW2. It said all handheld mortars were not accurate.
Of course, I have yet to read about the accuracy of the new handheld 51mm mortar.[/quote]healthy and good discussion so far... point dun stand dun make sense, no logic were all pointed out and some were brought up again down below...Originally posted by Joshua1975:as i had say, with M203, the range was cut back down in hundreds...
i am really confusefrom what you had said what you had been...
some time back, you say you a runner in another topic something on SAW.
in this topic you say your last NS was 9 years ago? some say you are POI which your time dun have and you not sure... red or blue you oso not sure?
still you say you are a runner? than some post back you say you in BDE S2 doing some worksss. i think there is one post from you that you are in command or something like that???
tell me you are just entertaining all in here all this while.
and now ~
live firing, no training? oni 5 min b4 hand, someone train by talk you into it and wah la... you go off to fire 2 round??? appointment runner?
BMT have M203 training dun they?
next any "flying" explosive will always have point target and area target... please check what is the distance or what i call effective range for point target for the M203 and what will be the effective range for area target.
(simple flip sights)it call leaf sight and to used it for target at 300m???
i was wondering... did they change the leaf sigh??? how come my was oni at 250m.
no one should have been I as in you.
as long anything dun match i will blah all out.
guess wat....Originally posted by Joshua1975:the main discussion is to add in new weapon systerm, no point telling me that M203 can this can that... but what M203 cannot never say. and M203 was, and still is one of the platoon/section organic weapon.
AGL was bring in but half way, how many are to bring in still unknown, ammo to carry unknown...
sniper was bring in and that it, guy dun know where liao.
discussion oni... make clear, say you point, why this why that and that it... good, healthy discussion is good.
looking at the way things going...![]()
Cool it man. TV Dog was wrong to ask to to F yourself. But you should bring his mum into the picture.Originally posted by Joshua1975:who diverted here... sidetrack start of key board fight... isn't this entertaining?
For being label LOW after hitting back??? i will go to the lowest... YOU CAN GO FuCK the BiTcH who born you.
Cool it man. TV Dog was wrong to ask to to F yourself. But you should not bring his mum into the picture.Originally posted by Joshua1975:who diverted here... sidetrack start of key board fight... isn't this entertaining?
For being label LOW after hitting back??? i will go to the lowest... YOU CAN GO FuCK the BiTcH who born you.
BRISBANE, AUSTRALIA – 12 July 2005 – Metal Storm Limited (ASX trading code: MST and NASDAQ Small Cap ticker symbol MTSX) today released information regarding a successful firing of the Area Denial Weapon System (ADWS) Capability Demonstrator which was undertaken at the Port Wakefield Proof and Experimental Range near Adelaide, Australia.fr http://www.metalstorm.com/
The ADWS consortium project is sponsored by the Australian Department of Defence, and led by the Defence Science and Technology Organisation (DSTO), and includes Metal Storm as a major consortium member. Tenix Defence Industries was a significant contractor to the project. ......
ADWS is based on integrating Metal Storm 40 mm stacked projectiles into a multi-barrel pod system and linking them with intrusion sensors and a fire control system.
The concept demonstration system comprised four weapon pods, each containing four barrels, networked and linked to a command and control station. Each demonstrator pod has the capability to fire up to 20 projectiles in varying user-selectable combinations including rates of fire, barrel selection and firing sequence.
The live fire demonstration used inert projectiles, and engaged simulated targets based on information provided by a computerised sensor system. Firing responses included a range of combinations from single shots through to a rapid-fire burst of 2O projectiles at a rate of 1500 rounds per minute. The pods are able to fire at a maximum rate of 6,000 rounds per minute. More barrels can be added to each pod to increase payload as required......