How much have they done for the common citizens in the first place?Originally posted by tripwire:what if one day, by fate... they came to your assistance? are you gonna accept?
you are not replying to the question.Originally posted by iveco:How much have they done for the common citizens in the first place?![]()
Of course , refer to my signatureOriginally posted by Ito_^:omfg dats the most humane words ive heard from u
Right.Rich and powerful..me?C'mon.Originally posted by sgdiehard:In my country I have my family, my friends and my physical belongings.
If my family is safely overseas, I would still stay here to fight because my family would be coming back here. I still have my investment here which i want to claim after the war. I would stay to fight with my fellow countrymen for many among them are my friends, put it another way, most of my friends are here. I am very sure about the lines on where I would be putting my life.
The situation is not so complicated to require a normal citizen like me to choose between betraying my friends and country for the love of my family. Of course, it is always good to know that my family is in safe place in time of war, it does not need I need to leave with them.
I don't know what you have seen and you don't know what I have seen, and surely you don't know what i have not seen. what is important is whether you can be counted on to stand along your friends in time of difficulties. If you leave when the war breaks out, because you family is "safely ensconced overseas" , then you are no different from those rich and powerful.
Sharing the same plane with LHL, GCT??
Oh well.Misunderstanding in intention.Originally posted by suntze:It seems your family is the only thing worthy of your defence contribution. What about your colleagues, friends, relatives? Forgetting about any sense of national identity or pride (the govt is not equal to the nation), what about your assets here, assuming you do have some assets in savings, CPF, property, etc? I'm sure these count for something.
Do tell us about the things you have seen that might cause one to be, shall we say, somewhat cynical.![]()
Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:The taboo reason for placing the F-16 BLK 52+ next to changi airport is because ...if any VIP(s) escape...those jets can immediately provide aircover for those SIA planes already...
i esp like the part where winters brief the men about the 2nd ops in capturing german pows across the river. after he briefed them about the plan, he told them to have a full night's rest and they will have already reported to him on tmr's morning tt they have done it... hahaOriginally posted by xkillerzx:watch band of brothers...major winters is a brave man who land in normandy and kill...if u don kill ur enemy in the war, they will kill u...
ya, then how much have u done for this country so far?Originally posted by iveco:How much have they done for the common citizens in the first place?![]()
Sorry, I can't help you as I am out of town and won't be around until Christmas at the earliest. I believe in your cause, but I think Goh Meng Seng and his WP cadres needs our support more than anything else.Originally posted by Paladin:ya, then how much have u done for this country so far?
There is a charity fund rising funfair at Central Mall this Sunday (19 Jun) from 10am to 4pm. We need some volunteers. Kindly email your contact no. to me for details at [email protected]
Please show what u can do for our common unfortunate citizens.
leave politics with the speakers corner for goodness sake. I dun care if you love wp or pap but tis is a military forum. This is a yes or no topic. Whether you want to fight or not kind of topic. So pls i dun wanna see any politician names or party names mentioned here again.Originally posted by iveco:Sorry, I can't help you as I am out of town and won't be around until Christmas at the earliest. I believe in your cause, but I think Goh Meng Seng and his WP cadres needs our support more than anything else.
This thread should have been closed at the first mention of LHL's name on the second page.Originally posted by CenturionMBT:leave politics with the speakers corner for goodness sake. I dun care if you love wp or pap but tis is a military forum. This is a yes or no topic. Whether you want to fight or not kind of topic. So pls i dun wanna see any politician names or party names mentioned here again.
Sorry I don't give damn to about politics..Originally posted by iveco:Sorry, I can't help you as I am out of town and won't be around until Christmas at the earliest. I believe in your cause, but I think Goh Meng Seng and his WP cadres needs our support more than anything else.
Lazerlords is in Singapore. You can always get him to help you guys out tomorrow. Problem is too short notice.Originally posted by Paladin:Sorry I don't give damn to about politics..
I'm talking about giving a hand to the less fortunate fellow citizens.
What a pity that u are not in town. However u can still forward ur contact to me. We are always in need of volunteers.
U can still do your part when u are back...
Talk, everyone also know.. but when come to action...![]()
Well, then we shall pray that the SAF is a wise organisation.And I still believe she is.Originally posted by decepticon25:unfortunately, SAF does not have a conscientous objector option. Either you follow orders (of course it must be right) or you get a bullet in the back.![]()
Okay, now that the whole thing has been summarised..let's put our views down.Originally posted by aerozapper:Some observations:
The original topic raised was about how some people "would not kill" for their country. These people no longer seem to be talking about how they would not kill, they are talking about how they would not die for their country.
Ironic isn't it? The people who don't want to take life are the same people who don't intend to even be around to give their lives in the first place.
For those who are convinced that Singapore is worth fighting for, their reasons revolve around bonds of kinship with family and friends as well as loyalty to the land. Other reasons seem to be investments (of financial or emotional nature) in Singapore.
For those who are NOT convinced, their reasons revolve around self-preservation & to some extent the fact that their families would have fled. These people say they need to carry on the family name, assets can be transferred overseas, regimes & nations are no different etc...
My sentiments exactly. If the land you grew up in is not your sanctuary, you're better off settling on the moon.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Okay, now that the whole thing has been summarised..let's put our views down.
Me..I would kill for Singapore the land, but I would try not to die for her if I can make my enemy die for her instead.
And what has this got to do with what we are talking?Are you so weakminded that you let such antics affect your mental well-being?Originally posted by Dr Who:Will you lay down your life if..after your sacrifice, your neighbour give thanks to his "false" gods for saving his condo, stocks and benz? ( please note that i am not saying his god is false, but that his religion is different from yours, and is officially considered as 'serving false gods' by your own religion)
Meanwhile, people say your own god did not protect you.....so you got killed....so his god is better (at your expense! )