hmm.. I also start to agree that maybe the F15T might be a good choice....Originally posted by storywolf:I don't know why people keep saying they are disappointed by singapore getting 3g and not 4g ?
Our F-15T is new generation type with new radar and all the advance weapon . It have better radar, range, weapon load, speed ..... just because it is developed from older model ? Why not when looking at it so what if it is call 3g by people, but it sure out perform whatever 4g planes in the market.
Aiya simple math cannot count mehOriginally posted by wkl:I thought F16E/F which UAE purchased : US$50 million. F15K Koera bought : US$80 to 90 million. Are you sure we got the F15T for only US$30 million ?
I think the number has increase to 20 units due to the cheap price. The Rafale was last price for Sg was EUR 75 for every 2 units. I have to salute to Sg for the way it negotiate for such a bargain price, like the Formidable frigates it had brought at the low price.Originally posted by bigballs11:Aiya simple math cannot count meh
Budget is USD1billion
Confirm USD760mil spend on those high tech missiles and bombs
Thus left USD240mil for aircraft lor
Min 8 aircraft purchase = USD240mil/8 = USD30mil a piece lor.
Just reveal another secret, our F-16C/D cost only USD20-25mil a piece, cheap or not?
So only goondo will pay EUR90mil for a piece of so call 4G Rafale.
it's a possbilityOriginally posted by Baozie:I believe most of the weapons package for the F15T can be used on our F16s as well? Since Dassault has yet to develop an AESA radar, buying the expensive Rafale and pouring in $$$ developing one with them adds a very high overcost to the overall package. And i believe the APG63(v3) on our F15T, sooner or later can be added to our F16s with some help from our long friend eh?
Btw, anyone has any idea if Dassault is able to integrate the AIM120s, weapons and communications systems on our F16s/F5s etc for use with Rafale?
That is what i said earlier..... F15T is a lower cost and lower risk option.. less uncertainties....Originally posted by Baozie:I believe most of the weapons package for the F15T can be used on our F16s as well? Since Dassault has yet to develop an AESA radar, buying the expensive Rafale and pouring in $$$ developing one with them adds a very high overcost to the overall package. And i believe the APG63(v3) on our F15T, sooner or later can be added to our F16s with some help from our long friend eh?
Btw, anyone has any idea if Dassault is able to integrate the AIM120s, weapons and communications systems on our F16s/F5s etc for use with Rafale?
sorry maybe I ddin't keep up with the news.. but sicne when is china having defence pact with malaysia and indonesia?Originally posted by ah_kwang:anyway... i really think this decision has a lot of political consideration. China seems to be trying to isolate us(or the other way round?) by having a defence pact with malaysia and Indonesia. Remember the news of Thailand wanting to open up an new trade route by opening some river? China also wanna help them since they do not have the technology. If that trade route really opens up, what do you think will happen to us? We gonna lose most, if not all, of our port business since travelling through thailand is a shorter route from China to India. So I do believe that F15T might be an affirmation of our ties with the Americans.
But let's face it... whether or not it's better than the SU-30s... Mindef has already decided on the F15T...
so let's wait to roll the red carpet to welcome the eagles...
And the news about Thailand carving a sea route has been around since the time I was a kid-in the late 80s...Originally posted by spencer99:sorry maybe I ddin't keep up with the news.. but sicne when is china having defence pact with malaysia and indonesia?
dont sweat it... just a minor defence pact that is nothing more then mere diplomatic gesture... to enhance interactions.Originally posted by spencer99:sorry maybe I ddin't keep up with the news.. but sicne when is china having defence pact with malaysia and indonesia?
Thats separate purchase , you got it wrongly.Originally posted by bigballs11:Aiya simple math cannot count meh
Budget is USD1billion
Confirm USD760mil spend on those high tech missiles and bombs
Thus left USD240mil for aircraft lor
Min 8 aircraft purchase = USD240mil/8 = USD30mil a piece lor.
Just reveal another secret, our F-16C/D cost only USD20-25mil a piece, cheap or not?
So only goondo will pay EUR90mil for a piece of so call 4G Rafale.
r u sure oue defense budget is limited???Originally posted by spencer99:One must not forget that Sgp is a small nation. and our defence budget is limited.
At least we dun spend a few thousand to get a hammer.Originally posted by kaka_22:r u sure oue defense budget is limited???
I would say that the F-15 purchase should be looked into the context of Singapore's defence history.We are only at the point of moving from a patrolling airforce to one which has the ability to deploy overseas.Originally posted by tripwire:dont sweat it... just a minor defence pact that is nothing more then mere diplomatic gesture... to enhance interactions.
unless malaysia and indonesia wanna find themselves under US CIA scrutiny or enjoy uncle SAM's cold look.....
they would be crazy to declare being part of the china block... americans can be very very harsh... i am sure everyone knows that..![]()
Cannot la! Diff parts leh...Originally posted by Moonstriker:Worst come to worst spare parts not available in time, cannibalise from Viper also can.
Rather ground one fighter than ground a whole squadron right?
just because of its old airframe?Originally posted by zenden9:It is a mistake to select the F-15 over the Rafale for RSAF.......![]()