dont believe their bullshit....Originally posted by foxtrout8:First a fiecesome SAM purchase to counter our Air-Strike Capacity, then Purchase of Tanks, armed wif advance armour and Self defend technology to counter our superb anti-tank capacity. MLRS to warn us how small is our land , latest Submarines to tell us our version of blue water navy , will be much greener, NS policy to tell us that their youth are not muggers, NGPV to counter our Frigate then F-18 to Counter our falcons, R-77 for our Sparrow...wa lau..like everything we do they counter like shit leh.....10 yrs later down the road ,Singapore cannot be strongest liao. HOW>>>>>?
Since singapore acquired 12 additional apache there hasnt been much defence news about any mindef procurements.I m actually suspecting our latest defence budgets to be a fake one considering our present economic situation.Originally posted by foxtrout8:First a fiecesome SAM purchase to counter our Air-Strike Capacity, then Purchase of Tanks, armed wif advance armour and Self defend technology to counter our superb anti-tank capacity. MLRS to warn us how small is our land , latest Submarines to tell us our version of blue water navy , will be much greener, NS policy to tell us that their youth are not muggers, NGPV to counter our Frigate then F-18 to Counter our falcons, R-77 for our Sparrow...wa lau..like everything we do they counter like shit leh.....10 yrs later down the road ,Singapore cannot be strongest liao. HOW>>>>>?
U forgotten to AddOriginally posted by tripwire:dont believe their bullshit....
malaysia..............................................................singapore
8 hornets ................................vs .......................80 falcons
dummy R77.............................vs........................LIVE sparrows
a few hundred MRLS rocket... vs...............10s of 1000s of ICM
4 submarine.............................vs.............................6 lafayette
.................................................................................6 MCV
.................................................................................4 MPA
.................................................................................6 PVs
a few dozen PT91....................vs.........................350 AMX31
..............................................................................22 AMX-10P
..............................................................................50 tempest
.............................................................................SPIKE
..............................................................................MILAN
..............................................................................TOW2
NS???......................................eat FAE lah......![]()

Yes, reliable sources indicate in the region of 70++.Originally posted by foxtrout8:hey are u sure Falcon is 80...i hope it's true?
a fake defence budget??? no way... considering that lots of planned acquisitions are expected. the frigates for instance. that is going to eat up a big chunk of the budget for the next few years.Originally posted by Orcishwarrior:Since singapore acquired 12 additional apache there hasnt been much defence news about any mindef procurements.I m actually suspecting our latest defence budgets to be a fake one considering our present economic situation.
Another possiblility currently Dsta and the MoD are watching closely on the malaysia procurement.This will allow Dsta to prescribe the right medicine.
I thought those are leased?So it can't really be part of our inventory rite?Originally posted by Viper52:Official purchases
1987 - 4A 4B
1994 - 8C/10D
1996 - 4C/8D
1997 - 10C/2D
2000 - 20 (breakdown unknown)
Sub-Total 4A, 4B, 22C, 20D, 20 unknown.
2 Lost: 1A 1990, 1C 2002.
Total: 68. 3A, 4B, 21C, 20D, 20 unknown
Full serial numbers are recorded in plane spotters websites.
Singapore bought 20 F-16 block 52 in Year 2000 and its due to be delivered mid of 2003Originally posted by CenturionMBT:I thought those are leased?So it can't really be part of our inventory rite?
simple.. i average out the highest number of around 97 from some sources togeher with the lowest number of around 60 from other sources and derived the approximate number.....Originally posted by Viper52:I don't know where Tripwire got his number of 80 from, but last time I checked the serial numbers corresponded to 68 Vipers in the RSAF.
Question is are they actually doing enough?The Malaysia side seems convinced that acquiring sophisticated armnaments and equipment is key element to overcome singapore's military superiority in the region.From my view i see that regular exercises/training with foreign forces are neglectedOriginally posted by Viper52:Don't agree with Tripwires analysis there, I've seen the source claiming 97 or 91 Vipers in RSAF, and they're the same source that said we've 5A and 2Bs(actual number 4/4), claim the '96 batch of C/Ds were Block 42(actually 52s all RSAF-customised), claim 6 F-5Fs (actual number 9) and generally full of shite throughout.
I won't believe them one iota.
Although I do agree that the technological, numerical and training gap is still there. Although they're making a real serious effort to catch up.
my opinion is that they are doing it the wrong way up.....Originally posted by foxtrout8:our govt have been damm smart, not to buy every together, plus openly lease the aircraft to confuse the public....
however i have a feeling our neighbour up north will be prepared to deal with us. It is jus the beginning...once their NS scouts are available and their economy will to Boost , they will try all means by the name of they national survival to match us.
Attack Heli have been bought to deal with our Anti-tank element. Medium range SAMS, manpad system have been upgrade or bought to, which make our apache or aircraft strike onto their MLRS or Tanks a difficult one. Scorpene is one hell of a submarine, one of the best in its class, specialise in attacking modern ships ,eg Delta. Btw , the malaysian govt had planned and have been ongoing obtaining several NGPV, i believe is the MEKO A class armed with exocet. Awac system have been examined into their inventory, soon a 4th generation fighter will be indroduce, problely the SU-30 or F-18F which are desigh to gain air superiorty agianst high advance threat.....( Rafale, typhoon, SU-30 and F-18F..are build to counter one another)....many more....wat we have they try to counter. Last time is...wat we have they drool saliva....but now...NO.
Yes the singapore Armed Forces, in numeral or in any technological form have a lead over them, however wat will happen when their economy flourish, their NS boys are ripe....they can buy anything they one, man anything they one ,an attack into malaysian will be much more difficult and deadly , in times of war. As someone said, if theres a possiblity....anything could happen.
Eh ...im not saying who is lousy who is not....however...i jus trying to bring out that...someone is trying to climb over our head.They will not stop, they will not give up.
Thx...my ten cent opinion.!
You may never know...Originally posted by Doenitz:Would you guys believe it if someone tells you Singapore has M1 Abrams MBTs?