Why waste ordanance on that island? I believe the bombs will be of more use on KLOriginally posted by sgboy2004:if we loose, we will bomb that island...
cool down... how on earth can someone get upset over something when they don't even know where on earth it is!Originally posted by kY|e-_-o:anyway...wheres is this pedra branca place? anyone can post a map of it?? onli noe its some island in the south china sea...
we wont lose... its juz the northerners juz tryin to gain another piece of land after successfully wrestling those islands from indonesia..
we have practised full sovereignity over pedra branca until those northern twits decided to meddle in our affairs...
we want to build stuff on it..bcos its our island!! who the fuck are u to ask??? .. not happy...wage a war on us !![]()
for KL, the bomb is reserved orediOriginally posted by Typhoon:Why waste ordanance on that island? I believe the bombs will be of more use on KL![]()

Pulau Batu Putih (Pedra Branca Island)Malaysia GOT NO proof that pedra branca is part of johor... case close... they can balik kampong and makan pisang....Originally posted by CX:cool down... how on earth can someone get upset over something when they don't even know where on earth it is!don't act stupid lah...
the island lie near the easter entrance of the Sraits of Singapore. its basically a piece of rock in the middle of the oceanand Horsburg Lighthouse is built on one of its rocks.
the real-estate value of that piece of rock is zilch. the island is only valuable for the seas around it because it intersects a vital SLOC.
and since Horsburgh Lighthouse was constructed in 1851, Sg, as the admin capital of the Straits Settlements from 1832, the lighthouse was administered from here. after the war, the colony of Singapore continued to administer the lighthouse and the island.
well, the Malaysian argument is that the brits stole the island from the Johore sultanate... hmmm... funny it took them so long to notice that one of their islands had been stolen
YesOriginally posted by tripwire:Malaysia GOT NO proof that pedra branca is part of johor... case close... they can balik kampong and makan pisang....![]()
anyone who's lived here for some time will know that they are merely making a political point in this... the case with Indonesia has heightened awareness and enboldened them somewhat... that much is certain.Originally posted by Orcishwarrior:Yescongratulation to them having won the ownership of 2 dispute islands but does that mean they gonna be arrogant over their winning by openly contesting singapore.Such a moronic bastard!!
well... wat matman has said is indeed quite true... SHort of going to war.. there is nothing they can do about it....Originally posted by CX:anyone who's lived here for some time will know that they are merely making a political point in this... the case with Indonesia has heightened awareness and enboldened them somewhat... that much is certain.
the politicians need to make some noise in response to the domestic audience or they lose votes and the opposition will try and score points. its merely political...
as for "proof", their's is a bunch of 500 year old maps of the Johore sultanate which shows that that piece of rock is part of their territory. but as administrative sovereignty has rested in Sg for over 150 years, it could be argued that they have effectively lost it when they failed to exercise effective sovereignty over it since 1851.
the recent case they won over Indonesia shows that Sg is really in a much stronger position to win this case then them if the same criteria was applied... ho hum... we'll just have to wait and see...
and come now... Mat-man said "short of war, there's really nothing we can do..." so what he really meant was, there's nothing they can do
but seriously... they have been saying that W word a lot lately... its not really healthy for bilateral ties...
could be that the recent arms acquisition has given them a distorted sense of armed might... it does look good suoerficially on paper...
trust him...Originally posted by IAF:Tim Huxley's 'Defending the Lion City' contained a brief but intriguing mention about the island that commandos are deployed there. However, i checked the biblo but found that he didn't have any documentation to back that up. Any idea about how he got that info?
Umno Youth chief Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said Umno Youth and Barisan Nasional (BN) Youth would continue to ask Singapore not to do anything in contravention of the decision to refer the dispute to the ICJ.
He said Singapore's move to build structures on the island might be aimed at strengthening its claim.
Mr Hishammuddin said Singapore's action was complicating matters and the republic was unlike other neighbours which took the road of amicable settlement like the ICJ.
He urged the authorities to seek military help if Malaysians continued to be threatened by Singapore personnel in the Pulau Batu Puteh waters.
JOHOR BARU: A group of reporters who chartered a boat to get a closer look at Pulau Batu Putih said they felt an “intense presence” of Singapore’s authorities in the waters surrounding the island.http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2002/12/25/nation/jbputih&sec=nation
The pressmen had chartered the boat to get a closer look at the atoll despite being aware that there was already a Singapore police coast guard boat patrolling the area.
On their journey, however, the pressmen not only encountered a coast guard patrol boat but also a naval craft which cruised close to the pressmenÂ’s boat.

CRazy?Originally posted by sgboy2004:They crazy har...if now leave the lighthouse, then who maintain it? Then pirates will occupy the place...of cos the polilce coast guard and navy must b there to protect the pple working there mah...
No brainers
I seriously doubt a limited war can be possible if malaysia occupy that island....Originally posted by tankee1981:Should we ever go to a military conflict(I think a major war will not be very possible) over Pedra Branca. What are our options? Should we use diplomatic effort or simply fight them? Well if its me,knowing that they are succeeding in 'conquering' our island, I will rather we FIGHT them! Because if we start being a nice guy and giving small islands away to avoid trouble in the end we will lose the entire Singapore island! Anyone have any possible scenarios in which we enage them should the need arise.Hopefully those SAF officers in here familiar with this issue can comment. At least it will be much more accurate and pratical than some of the immatured comments given by some.No offense intended,please comment,Thanks.![]()
if we do this, we are no different from Country MOriginally posted by laser51088:If M'sia occupies that island, Sg will most likely start its diplomacy rolling first, probably gather a bit of regional support at the VERY LEAST BEFORE sg start thinking about using bombs, else Sg will be the one condemned,
firstly, publicly denounce action of M'sia
second, get some support form other countries, while you get some navy vessels to stooge around near the island, or get Sg fighters to boom them like mad, as in fly over them at supersonic speed, so they'll get the boom, do this often
thirdly, no one gonna let us touch mainland malaysia (that means the international community will damn SG if sg touches mainland m'sia), get some troops in and take Pedra Branca, dun even have to be elite, the rock/island is so small you can't sneak onto it in the first place

PUTRAJAYA, Dec 26 (Bernama) -- Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Mahathir Mohamad said Thursday that Malaysia will not deploy its security forces and warships in the vicinity of Pulau Batu Puteh, a small rocky outcrop located 15 nautical miles off Pengerang in Johor.http://www.bernama.com.my/B2002/news.shtml?general/ge2612_11
"We wish to avoid a confrontation. We're not about to wage war with anyone...we're not giving in, but we're not looking for a reason to engage in battle," he told reporters after attending an Aidilfitri gathering hosted by the Prime Minister's Department here.
He was asked to comment on the call by Barisan Nasional (BN) Youth chairman Datuk Hishamuddin Tun Hussein yesterday for the government to consider deploying the military and warships in the waters off Pulau Batu Puteh where Singapore has carried out construction and development work when ownership of the island is in dispute.