http://www.emedia.com.my/Current_News/MM/Thursday/Frontpage/20021226104010THE fishing community of the east coast of Johor are living under the impression that the disputed Pulau Batu Puteh is already under Singapore.
This is because the island is being guarded by the Singapore marine police round-the-clock and new structures have been built there, giving it the look of a "fortress".
They are taken aback by the recent brouhaha over the rock's disputed ownership between Malaysia and Singapore.
"If the ownership issue is not settled, why are we being chased away by the Singaporeans when we are close to the island?" asked Syed Ahmad Syed Yassin, 66, a fisherman for more than 50 years.
"This is news to us. Though I don't go out fishing anymore, I am told of what is happening there by other villagers." Others interviewed spoke of military aircraft landing on the helipad built on the island.
Several said if their boats were near the island, the Singapore marine patrol would confront them and tell them to move along.
# HERE are the experiences of fishermen of Kampung Musoh, on the south-eastern tip of Johor: IBRAHIM AHMAD, 72. He used to go to the island regularly to rest after his fishing expeditions or get fresh water from the people manning the lighthouse.
"But in recent months, the police boat would stop us. I was under the impression that the island no longer belonged to us," said Ibrahim, who still goes out deep-sea fishing.
"After being chased away several times, I decided not to go near the island anymore." MOHD RASHID KARIM, 22. He is a boatman who ferry anglers near the island on weekends.
"The marine police were polite but stern. They were firm when insisting that I should not pass the marker buoys.
"On several occasions, my passengers were Singaporeans and they were also surprised that the island was being controlled by Singapore.
"The police will not stop anyone from taking pictures of the island but it has to be done from a distance.
"I, too, was under the impression that the island belonged to Singapore as I did not know anything about the dispute."ISMAIL HASHIM, 37: "I once saw a fighter jet landing on the helipad on the island. It was the kind that could take-off and land vertically. I know what I saw," he insisted, when asked if he was sure it was a fighter jet.
HAMDAN SIES, 33. A boat operator who frequently goes out to sea, said the military activities on the island do not occur frequently. He believes they were drills.
"Most of the time, you cannot see anyone on the island. But then why should the patrol boat be there 24 hours a day?"
As far as Malaysia is concerned, Singapore was only allowed to administer a lighthouse based on several agreements with colonial British.http://www.emedia.com.my/Current_News/MM/Thursday/Frontpage/20021226104252
Over the years, Singapore went ahead and built a "fortress" which include a communications tower with radar antenna and a helipad to allow the landing of Chinook helicopters.
Situated seven nautical miles off the southern State of Johor and 20 nautical miles off the east coast of Singapore, the island is also known as Pedra Branca.
Even the British acknowledged that the island was part of Johor, considering the lighthouse was run by the East India Company or whoever took over after it.
Several historical records showed that Johor's territory included Pulau Batu Puteh among several islands, islets and shoals.
Another evidence was that the building of the Horsburg Lighthouse was made after getting the approval of Johor.
They included: # A letter from the Johor Temenggong dated Nov 25, 1844.
# A letter from Sultan Allie Johor dated Nov 25, 1844.
# Letter from the Straits Settlement governor to the secretary of the Indian Government dated Aug 26, 1846.
# Territorial water agreement (1927) between Britain and Johor did not change the island's status.
# One of the memoranda from the Attorney-General's Chambers to the Johor government stated "as islands have their own territorial seas three miles around the islet such as that on which Horsburg Lighthouse stands would be Malaysian territorial waters".
This was supported with several maps as follows: # Singapore map and its territory published by ‘Surveyor General's office' Singapore, 1885.
# Singapore map and its territory published by the Surveyor-General's office Singapore, 1898.
# Singapore map and its territory published by the War Office, February, 1916.
# Johor map published under the instructions of Survey General FMS and SS (FMS Survey no. 57 - 1926).
# Map of the Sultan of the State and Territory of Johor 1930.
# Johor map (FMS Survey no. 77-1932) # Malaysian map published by the Indian Surveyor's Office (HIND 1035 C 1925) # Sedili Besar map published by the Indian office (HIND 1076 dated Nov 1944).
# Lagoi map published by the US Army map services AMS 1511, 1944.
# Johor Map published by the Federal Malayan Surveyor Department, 1950.
Singapore voiced its intention to house a radar on July 14, 1989, and another intention to build a helipad on Nov 11, 1991.
Oh....the pilot was on the way back to his aircraft carrier, when he needed to use the toilet badly...so dropeed by and borrowed the facilities lor... after paying 10 cents of cos.
ISMAIL HASHIM, 37: "I once saw a fighter jet landing on the helipad on the island. It was the kind that could take-off and land vertically. I know what I saw," he insisted, when asked if he was sure it was a fighter jet.
Oh....that's where we cook our secret sauce & flavouring to serve on our food in our cookhouses...to make our troops smarter...and stronger. To prevent our secret receipe from being stolen, we have to hire police guards lor...
HAMDAN SIES, 33. A boat operator who frequently goes out to sea, said the military activities on the island do not occur frequently. He believes they were drills.
"Most of the time, you cannot see anyone on the island. But then why should the patrol boat be there 24 hours a day?"
Delay In Preparing Document On Pulau Batu Puteh, A Ploy By S'pore - BERNAMA
KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 27 (Bernama) -- Barisan Nasional (BN) Youth head Datuk Hishammuddin Tun Hussein said Singapore has specific reasons in delaying the preparation of documents for submission to the International Court of Justice (ICJ) pertaining to its overlapping claim on Pulau Batu Puteh.
who's not attending?
jus because the m'sia had
taken back the two island
from indonesia doesn't mean
they could get what they wan,
He claimed that Singapore deliberately did so to divert the attention of its people from the internal problems faced by the island republic.
this ,my neighbours up north,is not the tactics
we use. tot you were all along using it?
swipping us whenever u've got elections,
when your ex dpm got into some serious problems?
what problems we have? GST? no choice lah, all thanks to
u guys upnorth, gov gotta take more money to buy water from you and sell it cheaply to u...somemore still got to spend some money to reclaim the land around the tiny little island...wat to do...
**********************************************************************************
He said Singapore was adamant on proceeding with the construction of structures on the island probably to emulate Malaysia's success in the claim on Pulau Sipadan and Pulau Ligitan based on the permanent structures it had on the two islands.
hey wake up your idea lah, the structures were built donkey years ago.... yuo all now then miserably took it back from your blood bros .....
shame on the people who claim that the island sipadan was theirs
and promoted it as their holiday destination...shame shame...
********************************************************************************
Hishammuddin, who is also Umno Youth head
*********************************************************************************
so i see,youth head. with mr Hishammuddin in umno,good luck to your party's youth wing...or do they even care???
Well....according to that theory, it nulls and void our very independence.
Singapore is part of Malaysia then, and not yet a nation when those maps are drawn.
Thus do you mean SG belongs to Malaysia now? Hell no!
Similarly, according to old maps, part of Malaysia belongs to Thialand, so they must return to Thialand those areas also right?
We don't follow normal international norms when dealing at State level? Who's the one who choose to change the interpretion of the water treaty? Who's the one who broke signed agreements...e.g. CIQ?
*********************************************************************************
do you think they would wan sentosa next?it's a main tourist attraction here ...pulau ubin? pulau tekong? near to m'sia water wat...![]()
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/28434/1/.html
Malaysia wants to settle water issue according to its laws
By Malaysia Bureau Chief Zainudin Afandi
In another twist in the water talks with Singapore, Malaysia Foreign Minister Syed Hamid Albar says his country wants to settle the issue according to Malaysian laws.
Mr Syed Hamid has told the Malaysian media he does not see why the matter should be brought to arbitration.
Advertisement
Only last week, Malaysian newspapers had quoted Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad as saying Malaysia might want to refer the dispute to international arbitration at the Hague.
But he added Singapore has to agree.
Responding, Singapore's Foreign Minister S Jayakumar had said Singapore was ready to go to arbitration to clear the impasse in the water talks.
And Dr Mahathir on Monday blamed Singapore for a series of disputes over water, territory and other issues that he said threaten the two countries' otherwise good relations.
He spoke to reporters after recording his New Year's message.
http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/commentary/story/0,4386,163390,00.html
Remember your origins, Singapore
NEW STRAITS TIMES
EDITORIAL
SINGAPORE ought to behave with decorum and submit its claim to Pulau Batu Putih for adjudication by the International Court of Justice, as Malaysia had long decided to do, instead of sending naval vessels to the island.
If, by this show of force, it hopes to provoke Malaysia into imprudent retaliation, then it is very much mistaken.
Secure in our legal rights over what appear to be mere rocks in the sea, the Prime Minister has adamantly insisted that we, at least, will not be playing that game. After all, does not Singapore owe its independent sovereign status to the Malaysian Parliament?
The moment it became part of the Federation of Malaysia in 1963, the physical entity of Singapore existed only as that. Not until August 1965 did Singapore, as an independent nation state, come into being, and that only after an Act of our Parliament to this end was passed.
Furthermore, given Malaysia's consistent stand against Singapore's claim over Pulau Batu Putih, it is a fair assumption that the creator of the claimant never intended these rocks to be a part of the latter, its very own creation, in the first place.
Singapore's use of the island is, hence, tolerated and no surrender of ownership can be inferred, despite Malaysia's reluctance to resort to military action.
Therefore, to believe that our policy on Pulau Batu Putih is driven by cowardice or military unpreparedness is to overlook all the peaceful recourse that Malaysia has to hand in solving this dispute.
For, much like in the case of Pulau Sipadan and Ligitan, this country is never complacent about its territorial possessions. Where we can put them to good use, we have; and where others have infringed, we have vehemently objected.
History, too, can do little to satisfy Singapore's hunger for territoriality. From Siamese influence to British possession, it had never really known total self-government.
If it thinks adventurist foreign policies will change this, then the city state is playing with fire. Its fine economy notwithstanding, Singapore cannot afford to irk its neighbours.
This editorial appeared in the New Straits Times of Dec 28.
December 30 , 2002 15:44PM E-mail this news to a friend Printable version of this newshttp://www.bernama.com.my/B2002/news.shtml?general/ge3012_3
S'pore's Actions Jeopardize Bilateral Ties With M'sia, Says PM
PUTRAJAYA, Dec 30 (Bernama) -- Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Mahathir Mohamad said Monday that Singapore's actions in dealing with bilateral issues with Malaysia have all along never helped in preserving relations between the republic and Kuala Lumpur.
"We're saddened over how Singapore always act in a way that could jeopardize the close ties between Malaysia and Singapore," he told reporters after recording his New Year's message to be aired by RTM, here.
Dr Mahathir said that at the time of Singapore's cessation from Malaysia in 1965, Singapore gave an undertaking that Malaysia's facilities in Singapore would continue to remain in the republic in accordance with the agreement previously entered into with the British but they failed to abide by it.
"For instance, they deliberately increased the rate for the lease (of land) for the naval base in Woodlands that we were forced to vacate and we vacated without being paid even a sen. And we didn't make a fuss over the matter," he said.
Dr Mahathir said that the water supply issue also caused problems in bilateral relations.
The Prime Minister said that Singapore had always been asking for the volume of water supplied to the republic to be increased and Malaysia had promised to meet their request by taking into account the increasing population in the neighbouring country.
"But they objected to a review of the payment even though it has been agreed that after 25 years, we could negotiate the price of water. After 25 years, not on reaching 25 years," he said.
Dr Mahathir said that Singapore however contended that it was now too late to negotiate the matter.
"And there are many other actions by Singapore which do not help in preserving ties with Malaysia, including differentiating between Malaysians in the peninsula and those from Sabah and Sarawak over the Central Provident Fund pensions issue," he said.
In recent days, the two neighbours are embroiled in a dispute over the rightful ownership of Pulau Batu Puteh, a rocky outcrop located 7.7 nautical miles off Johor.
According to news reports yesterday, Singapore is prepared to ratify the special agreement with Malaysia to pave the way for the dispute to be brought before the International Court of Justice in The Hague.
Dr Mahathir was also asked to comment on the stance of the United States which appeared to be reluctant to learn from the events of Sept 11 and declined to identify the root causes of terrorism.
"We're very sad because now that the various parties have expressed the importance of the causes of terrorism to be tackled and eliminated, it appears that the approach adopted is still in building up the military, defence," he said.
The United States, he said, also acted in attacking a country which so far had not been known to be involved in the Sept 11 attacks on New York and Washington, which claimed 3,000 lives.
"All this will only increase anger that will lead to more acts of terrorism," he said.
-- BERNAMA
Originally posted by wombat:which one?
Remember your origins, Singapore
SINGAPORE ought to behave with decorum and submit its claim to Pulau Batu Putih for adjudication by the International Court of Justice, as Malaysia had long decided to do, instead of sending naval vessels to the island.we still don't know for sure who's playing delaying tactics on this one... decorum is wasted on third world boors and roughnecks anyway.
Secure in our legal rights over what appear to be mere rocks in the sea, the Prime Minister has adamantly insisted that we, at least, will not be playing that game. After all, does not Singapore owe its independent sovereign status to the Malaysian Parliament?it is known that Sg sought merger to gain independence and to revive its flagging entrepot trade at that time through a common market with M'sia.
The moment it became part of the Federation of Malaysia in 1963, the physical entity of Singapore existed only as that. Not until August 1965 did Singapore, as an independent nation state, come into being, and that only after an Act of our Parliament to this end was passed.like i said, Sg was governed as administrative capital of the Straits Settlements, as Syonan To directly under the Japanese military during the occupation and as a separate entity under the British Military and as a separate colony with its own royal charter after that until 1963.
Furthermore, given Malaysia's consistent stand against Singapore's claim over Pulau Batu Putih, it is a fair assumption that the creator of the claimant never intended these rocks to be a part of the latter, its very own creation, in the first place.bollocks! M'sia only made known its objections in 1979... they were blissfully "bochup" up till then. And Sg is M'sias' "own creation"??? please... that it stood alone and separate from M'sia for the past 200 years at least is certain.
History, too, can do little to satisfy Singapore's hunger for territoriality. From Siamese influence to British possession, it had never really known total self-government.that may be true, but neither did M'sia for much of modern history... from Siamese influence (don't forget to send the Bunga Emas...) to anarchy to British protection... wow... an illustrious history indeed... it does no good to deny the legacy of British indirect rule neighbour...
If it thinks adventurist foreign policies will change this, then the city state is playing with fire. Its fine economy notwithstanding, Singapore cannot afford to irk its neighbours.i wonder who has more neighbours pissed off with it... Sg or M'sia...
I wonder will they use their submarine to monitor sg?Originally posted by cavsg:M'sia Will Not Deploy Warships Off Pulau Batu Puteh, Says PM - Bernama
http://www.bernama.com.my/B2002/news.shtml?general/ge2612_11

their subs will only be operational in 2007/08.....Originally posted by sgboy2004:I wonder will they use their submarine to monitor sg?
u should write to ST Forums n piss Mahathir offOriginally posted by CX:i wonder who has more neighbours pissed off with it... Sg or M'sia...
January 1, 2003http://business-times.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,2276,68297,00.html?
KUALA LUMPUR
Syed Hamid says S'pore has 2 choices
MALAYSIA'S foreign minister said Singapore should learn to compromise in spats with its neighbour or 'go to war', news reports said yesterday.
Singapore seemed to care only about its own economy, while Malaysia tried to be a good neighbour, Syed Hamid Albar was quoted as saying by Bernama news agency.
'Singapore has two choices. If it refuses to compromise . . . Go to war,' Syed Hamid said.
He stressed, however, that war was not the right solution.
Officials at Singapore's Ministry of Foreign Affairs said they could not immediately comment on the report.
Malaysia's Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad has in the past sometimes used the word 'war' in comments on the long-running disputes with Singapore on issues that include water supply.
But rhetoric against Singapore has risen after Malaysia recently accused the Republic of building structures on Pedra Branca, an islet claimed by both sides.
Singapore has refuted the accusation, saying it has not done any recent construction work on the islet, although routine maintenance of facilities there has been carried out.
Singapore Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong last weekend characterised the disputes as mere 'hiccups' in bilateral ties. But Dr Mahathir on Monday blamed Singapore for threatening their otherwise good relations. - AP