Guards in the past are really guards...... but SAF expanded and the Guards' original duties handled over to the Provost(MPs). So now the Guards are trained with "heavy" infantry tactics with heli/amphiboius ops....... But they still call Guards.......Originally posted by bryantoh:guards i tgt they are like sentry
so you mean nowadays guards dun stand at sentry post
Correction:Originally posted by Shotgun:Geeze I always thought the Marines were a sub-branch of the Navy. Initially called Naval Infantry?
U.S. Marines assault by air (Ch-47).Originally posted by Arena:i tot Guards are heli-borne?
Isn't their operations quite different from the Marines?
If the enemy's Commanding Office of the War Theater is on board that ship... Wouldn't you want to capture him??Originally posted by YI:The strategy of the navy is to shoot a missile over the horizon way b4 they can be seen. We don't board ship, we sink them. Should the need ever arise to board/takeover a ship, I'm sure the air-bone guy will do better than us. Who's going to operate the ship while we are gone? We just make sure they are in good working condition and execute them when the time comes.
The 2nd Guards used to be called the 7th BTS near Jalan Kayu. But due to a reformation into 7th Brigade, they were absorbed into the 3rd Guards.Originally posted by foga:hmmm... never heared about the 2nd guards.. anyone here in guards who's willing to enlight us?
lolOriginally posted by Denzy:I tink the 3rd Guards are our version of the US Marines. I heard the USMC heaping praises on them so i guess they must be realli good. Cheerios to the Guards
I understand ur point : you're pointing towards a navy-based combat unit yah? Not realli sure if i'm allowed to say anything but NDU is comprised of multiple components and some of us can actualli function as Marines, as in navy-based combat personnel if that's what you're referring to. After my Class II course i always think we're a 'pirated' version of the US Navy SEALs. Similar evolutions, cept for mildly reduced demands and instructors don't really go all out to knock you out from the course, (applies to NSF only, they do try to knock regulars out)
So,interested to join us yet?
as a proud member of 1guards, i'm now ORDed. I had a joint exercise with the US marines in sg. Guards representatives were sent to US to join their marine corp for a 21day outfield mission. What do u think??Originally posted by Arena:I wish to discuss that whether the RSN should have Marines(Maybe small in number) or have its personnel undergo some Marines like training so to make them more versatile?
I know that most Naval personnel who are on board ships need to use physical much as the Navy is more system trained, but I would like to see the Navy becoming a superb force which are capable of performing the current duties and responsibilities while also have the abilities to perform Marines like operations
i've heard of the damn 10km swims in the sea........i do sailing and swiming a mere 4km i wanna die liao.......10 km.........Originally posted by Denzy:I tink the 3rd Guards are our version of the US Marines. I heard the USMC heaping praises on them so i guess they must be realli good. Cheerios to the Guards
I understand ur point : you're pointing towards a navy-based combat unit yah? Not realli sure if i'm allowed to say anything but NDU is comprised of multiple components and some of us can actualli function as Marines, as in navy-based combat personnel if that's what you're referring to. After my Class II course i always think we're a 'pirated' version of the US Navy SEALs. Similar evolutions, cept for mildly reduced demands and instructors don't really go all out to knock you out from the course, (applies to NSF only, they do try to knock regulars out)
So,interested to join us yet?
no.....guards in the form of the elite troops of the army....like Napoleon's Young,Middle and Old Guard units......and the German Gernadier guards..etc etcOriginally posted by bryantoh:guards i tgt they are like sentry
so you mean nowadays guards dun stand at sentry post
Umm....it's a 10km run under 45-50 mins, and a 2-km swim (OTOT)....wah lau, 10 km swim..we can swim to Pengaran eat seafood already man....if that's the case then the Navy must either be: (a) financially strapped, therefore they can't operate their Fast Craft...or (b) RSN commanders must be really sick.Originally posted by |-|05|:i've heard of the damn 10km swims in the sea........i do sailing and swiming a mere 4km i wanna die liao.......10 km.........
and i'm gonna join the Navy.....so i hope they dun move towards being soldiers and sailors!
ok then i think my friend kenna a sick RSN commader ahahOriginally posted by Tango1:Umm....it's a 10km run under 45-50 mins, and a 2-km swim (OTOT)....wah lau, 10 km swim..we can swim to Pengaran eat seafood already man....if that's the case then the Navy must either be: (a) financially strapped, therefore they can't operate their Fast Craft...or (b) RSN commanders must be really sick.![]()
I think the article appeared in Pioneer magazine before.Originally posted by Cerebral_Assassin:as a proud member of 1guards, i'm now ORDed. I had a joint exercise with the US marines in sg. Guards representatives were sent to US to join their marine corp for a 21day outfield mission. What do u think??
i shall not say further. This is supposed to be quite confidential.
good move. If u have a diploma, a combat tech earns as much if not more than some of the junior officers.Originally posted by |-|05|:nah i'm gonna join as a combat tech
yea i know.....and i have the option to promote later if i'm capableOriginally posted by War_Antique:good move. If u have a diploma, a combat tech earns as much if not more than some of the junior officers.
Furthermore, u have the best of both world: The challenge of a command tour as well as the "hands-on" nature of ur technical expertise. You will be one of the biggest asset of the battalion.
huh? of course u will be promoted! it's not an "option" though..haha.Originally posted by |-|05|:yea i know.....and i have the option to promote later if i'm capable
lol actually it is haah cuz ill be offered it at the end of my 4 years if i qualify....and if i do choose that i think there is another contract ahha not sure though but that's what i'm guessing from the brochure they sent meOriginally posted by War_Antique:huh? of course u will be promoted! it's not an "option" though..haha.