Originally posted by HARIMAU:Not relevant you said???How do you explain the nos of RSAF/RSN asset near the accident site?Just for the sake of show of force?SAR do not require such deployment-SAR with deterence in mind might.
And to prevent you and your stinkin navy from popping by to take a look.Originally posted by sgboy2004:for defence and seal off the area?
have u seen the size of that cargo ship?!?!Originally posted by ETboy:u see ah i wonder leh... now the warship steel "quality" so lousy... 1 collide onli so jia lat almost sink somemore ... i wonder in war time hor i think 1 missile dirrect hit can sink the whole ship sia....
Sorry this message is meant of our dear mat not for you sorryOriginally posted by Matlaysia:And to prevent harimau and his stinkin navy from popping by to take a look.
my thoughts and feelings go out to the missing and the dead crewOriginally posted by laser51088:Officer of the watch on the 8pm-12am (accident occured at 11:35pm) shift is captain himself, captain has the bridge on that shift, at least that is the standard on almost all ships, so I expect it to be the same with RSS Courageous
but please worry abt the crew members first before you start worrying abt court martial
and I dun intend to comment on HARIMAU's paranoid and unnecessary comments at least until the matter of missing crew is settled and more official data comes out. . .
ok...u gave mi a fright...btw u can edit the previous message if u need to.Originally posted by Matlaysia:Sorry this message is meant of our dear mat not for you sorry

Originally posted by kanzer:looking at the picture of the stricken vessel before and after the accident, given the total devastation, it is a wonder how she manage to keep afloat in the first place, any navy guys out there that can advise me....
Tension mounted as the day wore on with rescuers searching for the four women specialists trapped in the back of the RSS Courageous.
K. C. VIJAYAN reports on how cautious optimism gave way to a warning to be prepared for the worst.
Advertisement
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FRIDAY
11.35PM
BOW of container vessel ANL Indonesia sails out of Singapore Straits and rams into the rear of RSS Courageous on its right side.
RSS Courageous has been on a routine patrol since morning while the ANL Indonesia is heading towards Busan, South Korea, after leaving Port Klang on Friday.
The collision occurs about 1.5 km north-west of Pedra Branca. The impact of a larger ship of more than 50,000 gross tonne weight and a vessel less than half its size, weighing 460 tonnes is tremendous.
The anti-submarine craft's rear is sheared off. The aft caves inwards. Even the mast tower is damaged.
A Maritime and Port Authority (MPA) spokesman says weather conditions allow for clear visibility at the time. Traffic flow in the area was normal, she adds.
Four women naval specialists, aged between 22 and 25, asleep in a rear compartment, are trapped. The ship begins to list and water floods the two compartments adjoining the trapped women's room.
Eight other men from the 44-strong crew on board are injured slightly.
FRIDAY
11.40PM
ALERTED, the Defence Ministry sends first rescue helicopter from Sembawang Air Base.
Shortly afterwards, six Republic of Singapore Navy ships, three Police Coast Guard craft, four tug boats and a ferry move in to help.
Efforts to locate the trapped four involve a difficult and complicated operation, requiring the ship to be stabilised first to prevent it from sinking.
ANL Indonesia notifies MPA. It does not seek assistance as it only suffers a slight dent on its front.
MPA sends two fire-fighting craft to area.
SATURDAY
5.30AM
EIGHT injured crewman admitted to Changi General Hospital.
They are conveyed by Police Coast Guard craft to Changi Ferry Point and then ferried to the hospital.
Five are discharged by noon while the remaining three - First Sergeants Koh Tze Ann, 26, Ang Wee Soon, 27, and Second Sergeant Tan Meng Wah, 24 - are warded for observation.
SATURDAY
7.15AM
ANL Indonesia with 23-man crew of 12 Dutchmen and 11 Indonesians on board drops anchor at Eastern Anchorage waters, some 4 km from Sentosa.
The agent for the ship's owner, P&0 Nedlloyd, says damage is minor and the ship is ready to continue its voyage but is remaining to assist in investigations.
SATURDAY
12.15PM
DEPUTY Prime Minister and Defence Minister Tony Tan accompanied by Second Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean and senior Mindef officers hold a press conference.
He says RSS Courageous is being towed back to Changi Naval Base while search and rescue efforts are continuing at the collision scene with additional Air Force and Navy craft.
'We are doing everything possible on the ship and hope to complete the rescue operation as soon as possible. We share the distress of the families of the four servicewomen who are still unaccounted for and are doing our utmost.'
He says he does not want to speculate on the condition or location of the women.
SATURDAY
2.30PM
EVEN as search efforts continue at the collision site, the RSS Courageous arrives in tow at Changi Naval Base.
It is lifted up in a dry area and water drains from the ship to allow rescuers to enter the severely damaged compartments.
SATURDAY
5.15PM
DR TAN, after inspecting the wrecked vessel, tells reporters that divers have found the body of one servicewoman inside. She is found lodged between the bunks.
Search operations at the crash site will continue, he says, while divers continue to pry the crunched rear of the vessel to locate the other three women.
'We need to take further time to ascertain the location of the other three servicewomen,' he adds.
He does not think the load of the ship, with 44 crew members on board, instead of its capacity of 32 people, had a bearing on the collision.
Acknowledging that hopes are fading, he says: 'We must be prepared for the worst. Our hearts go out to the families of the four servicewomen.
'We have had severe accidents in the past.
'In terms of possible loss of life, this is the largest loss of life in a single accident that the RSN has encountered.'
AT PRESS TIME
A MINDEF spokesman says operations are continuing both on the ship and the crash site to look for the missing three women.
no offence taken,Originally posted by whiteillum:my thoughts and feelings go out to the missing and the dead crew
wat i did was merely reply to a quote that seems inept
pls look at my other posts first before u jump to ur own conclusions
thank you and no offence intended

Originally posted by sgboy2004:Divers are in the area of the accident to look at the sheared off section of the ship to c if the 3 other women are trapped there.
Just getting worried that till now, no news of them is reported.
the damage control team did well and managed to seal off the two flooded compartment. This keep the ship afloat.Originally posted by kanzer:looking at the picture of the stricken vessel before and after the accident, given the total devastation, it is a wonder how she manage to keep afloat in the first place, any navy guys out there that can advise me....
Originally posted by Atobe:the ships are still on SAR mission. recovering equipment comes later. at this time of the year, the waves are pretty bad.
The search will be on for the missing section, to bring up the missing Navy Girls, as well as to recover the missing equipment that should not fall into “unauthorized hands”.
Hopefully, the waters will not be too deep, or the under-currents too strong around Preda Branca.