____________________________________________________Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Hmm... like brainwaves that made microsoft windows?
The hovercraft idea has been put up before, there are just some ideas which are bad...
___________________________________________________Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Bah if you are admadant on it, I suggest you go work out all the bugs yourself, and prehaps make it at least half as effective as a humvee with TOWs
Hey brother, you do have to understand where I am coming from. The Swedish CV90-120T had a chassis structure issues during the trial. The recoil force create by the 120mm gun was causing the CV90 chassis to crack. I am sure this can be fixed.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Friend, do you even know what you are talking about? Unless you have specific strength figures for the Bionix hull, I suggest you not yelp too much about crew being affected by shockwaves and fractures and cracks. Which are pretty moot points anyway, if ST wanted to put a 120mm on a Bionix, they would engineer it to be albe to do so.
The main grouse with putting a 120mm on a Bionix is that it is in itself a pretty inefficent endevour. What we would get is a "tank" that has a lot of unnecessory height and space wasted on its troop carrying abilities that are going to be moot in this new unit. What we would get is a "light tank" that is overly tall and armoured like a IFV. A completely new, lower hull could put the space into better use, and mount more armor protection and powerpack to boot. I suppose ST could engineer Bionix hulls in light tank variants though...
You are either too naive technically or too young to comprehend that you cannot simply just redesign a chassis to accomodate a gun. There are a lot more than that. If ST Engineers are so good, Singapore would be a major MBT or light tank producer. Furthermore, ST Engg also lack experience in designing tanks. The best it did, and darn well too I say, was to copy and modify existing designs. Given the limited manpower and relatively young technology company, I think ST is doing pretty well.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Yawnz, it still does not detract from the fact that the Bionix hull can be modified to accomidate the 120mm. In fact, if we followed your logic, even the slightest component change would mean that it's no longer the "Bionix". No wizzo, it's all a matter of classification, a human way of organizing things. They could call it SM2 or Bionix fire support variant for all they want, but you points don't hold logical water.
Originally posted by gogogogo:That's why. Utter nonsense, one could argue with this kind of logic the usefulness of one legged pogo tanks.
somthin i want to add for foga
Futuristic weapons and their firepower should be somthing like a craft that hovers, [b]travels at speed of light, and fires laser projectiles.
__________________________________________________Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:That's why. Utter nonsense, one could argue with this kind of logic the usefulness of one legged pogo tanks.
If anything, speeds of the future for ground units would be everything far from being luminial... Not only is it not a workable idea, it's ridiculus to suggest in the first place.
BTW, the laser hardly lives up to its reputation in 1940s comic books (which are ambigious "rayguns" that do almost anything anyway)
Said and done, speculating about future warfare entails envisioning infant or conjectural technologies, not fantasy science fiction technology pulled out of the imagination with zero basis in workable science! If not one could state with equal autority the Lord of The Rings as the future of warfare!
If you think those "rayguns" don't exist... think again.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:That's why. Utter nonsense, one could argue with this kind of logic the usefulness of one legged pogo tanks.
If anything, speeds of the future for ground units would be everything far from being luminial... Not only is it not a workable idea, it's ridiculus to suggest in the first place.
BTW, the laser hardly lives up to its reputation in 1940s comic books (which are ambigious "rayguns" that do almost anything anyway)
Said and done, speculating about future warfare entails envisioning infant or conjectural technologies, not fantasy science fiction technology pulled out of the imagination with zero basis in workable science! If not one could state with equal autority the Lord of The Rings as the future of warfare!
Yes they do exist but can the power source for the laser is still not solve yet... high amount of energy is required. Till a solution for the power source, it will still be unfeasible.Originally posted by Shotgun:If you think those "rayguns" don't exist... think again.
Lasers capable of superheating a target are well and alive. They burn, and can possibly generate small explosions. In fact, NASA conducted tests on how Lasers can be used as a form of propulsion.
we already bought the apache....so this can help in our anti tank role....having a-10 or not doesn't matterOriginally posted by awestruck:Has anyone ever thought about buying a few A-10's instead? Or are they prohibited for foreign export sales? I dont know about u guys but i've always thought flying around and killing stuff would be a lot quicker than driving around on the ground...and that particluar bird is one tough sonovab*tch...

Nahh, Rayguns in comic books seem to work more like subatomic particle projection weapons that affect the target on the subatomic level rather then using focused energy to affect the target thermally. Hence the laser is more akin to a light projected blowtorch then a raygun of si fi lore. The closest thing we have in conception today is prehaps the some of the proposed american Star Wars system. http://www.airpower.maxwell.af.mil/airchronicles/aureview/1984/jul-aug/roberds.htmlOriginally posted by Shotgun:If you think those "rayguns" don't exist... think again.
Lasers capable of superheating a target are well and alive. They burn, and can possibly generate small explosions. In fact, NASA conducted tests on how Lasers can be used as a form of propulsion.
Alright....you've proven your point to him in the first post........ the rest is up to him to absorb... Dun need to rub it further with 2 more posts.......Originally posted by gogogogo:now i know why, he came to this world in 1984.....that time i in primary 4....primary 5 i started playing POOYAN, BEYOND THE CASTLE WOLFENSTEIN, SPIES DISMISSED on APPLE2 computers!
aiyoh SG Reptile, next time post hor, write article yourself lah....dun ask other to help you...and dun spent so much time looking into books to counter our words. GOR GOR playing game that time u still drinking milk, gor gor grow my first pubic hair dat time you still running around your primary school field!![]()