Not a chance. The difference is vast.Originally posted by ngsl86:Yeah! Agree! SAF can be considered one of the strongest army in S.E Asia. However, I think that the Thai Army is also strong, even better than the SAF.![]()
I agree with most of what you say, however, they numbers do not differ so much now, and I think Malaysia, once they have finished buying the tanks they want (variants of PT-91, T-80), they will actually outclass Singapore armour, at least in terms of numbers and the amount of fire power each force is able to field at any one time. MAF tanks would be limited only by terrain and the ability of logistics to keep up with them yet not be vulnerable to attackOriginally posted by dkhoo:A few points that have not been mentioned yet that might cast some light on this discussion:
1. The SAF outnumbers the Malaysian Armed Forces nearly 2 to 1 in terms of manpower.
2. The SAF has more combat aircraft, armored vehicles and tube artillery than Malaysia and Indonesia combined (in each category). In fact, we have nearly twice as many combat aircraft as both combined.
3. The RSN can put more anti-ship cruise missiles into the air at a time than the Malaysian or Indonesian navies and these missiles have longer range.
So much for strength. I might also add that most of our equipment is considered to be more advanced and in better condition than our neighbors'. Our combat support arms are also considered extremely capable.
However, as Atobe says, it is not about numbers, but how they are applied (though I think Atobe was arguing in the wrong direction -- we are the ones with the numbers).
What is the standard of the SAF? It is impossible to say until we see our first real battle. However, my personal opinion is that our troops will hack it. The average Singaporean is not a coward and will fight in a disciplined manner when pressed. Our combat leaders (officers and NCOs) are well-chosen, though the style of leadership they are taught is a little inflexible. Nevertheless, I think they will manage.
Originally posted by zichuan:will u be sloppy and slack in a real war?
Ehh... I think NSF [b]sucks.. im a NSF, the way we fight already sloppy and slack... imagine we have ORD... reservist... haha... Sleep ZzzzzZzz
Sounds optimistic on the SM1, if they can defeat MBTs alone, let alone with rest. Just to be on the side of caution, a few questions:Originally posted by dkhoo:In addition, contrary to what many on this forum think, these tanks CAN be defeated by our AMX13SM1s and even our LAWs, let alone Spikes, Hellfires, mines or DPICM. You need to be much more careful with shot placement, which is not hard at the close ranges of likely battle.
That is assuming they have no infantry support (extra eyes and suppressive fire) whatsoever, are content on grinding slowly through the city, and do not demolish or call down arty fire on every building they suspect holds a LAW position. Ever fired a LAW before? Finding a hatch at even a modest 25 meters is chancy. You anti tank tatics are a little too gurrelia and that said, takes the iniative away from our side, something which we cannot really afford to have much of. If you do not kill a tank, some infantryman or support would have seen the direction the rocket has zipped in from or worse, even seen the firer and guess if the diameter of the shell returning the favour will be bigger of smaller then your Armbrust?Originally posted by dkhoo:Yes, LAWs are not ideal against MBTs and are extremely risky. That said, the engine grille is still exposed at the rear, and a vision kill from the front is possible, though unlikely. In urban combat, a shot from above has a good chance of finding a hatch. The good thing is that our LAWs have no IR signature, flash or noise when they fire, and can be used from confined spaces. This means you can take cheap shots at tanks with a good chance of not being detected and fired upon in return. Enough cheap shots, and eventually one will find a weak spot.
Bad ideas, unless they are actually shooting something that can hurt tanks, they'll ignore you. Worse, years of combat experience in parts of the world has shown that even moving at high speeds, tank MG rounds will have no trouble finding you, they just set up a wall of lead for you to drive into. And that thing has no armour whatsover, the crew are lunch meat.Originally posted by foxtrout8:LSVs are vunerable to light arms , however with it running so fast and yet with so much fire support , i have confidence that we can outfight the malaysian tanks.
Urr right abt LSV being vunerable to a wall of leads. However currently it seem to mi that the LSV is given a large role in anti-tank warfare . Y do u think the LSV is armed with SPIKEs ? Maybe im not clear on my part of shooting and running. Y not add in surprise + shooting + then running , i believe the enemies will be caught off guard. As i say , anti-tank role will not be a one man show , fire suppport will be given by our RSAF , Bionix/ Ultras , the Artillery ..etc , i personnally to believe that the LSV is an extremely useful vehicle in taking up part of the SM-1's anti tank role.However it cannot fully replace the SM-1.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Bad ideas, unless they are actually shooting something that can hurt tanks, they'll ignore you. Worse, years of combat experience in parts of the world has shown that even moving at high speeds, tank MG rounds will have no trouble finding you, they just set up a wall of lead for you to drive into. And that thing has no armour whatsover, the crew are lunch meat.
While ATGMs are able to fight tanks, a determined, focused and mobile armoured trust can only be stopped by heavy metal on our side, and lots of hellfires from above. ATGMs take too long to reload that they are useful for reducing tank numbers, but rarely to stop entire tank advances at all. (Assuming the ATGMs actually penetrate)
not that i want to criticise your point lah... but questionable lor...Originally posted by foxtrout8:*note : the Spike have a range of 4km , it can be fire in the cover of vegetations which make intial visual detection extremely low .

That's why Singapore had been participating in peace-keeping mission in both the middle east as well as east timor. Although there may not be much combat experience, the logistic and readiness (mindset) had been tested.Originally posted by Atobe:Although, the Singapore Armed Forces have not experienced combat in any real life war scenarios, the high tempo of training that the SAF conduct throughout the NSF men's military life (from 18 years to 40-50 years) will give the NSF Men "the experience" to CONDUCT War - when called upon to do so.
Well, that's because rethoric and human spirit in battle usually does not stand up to incoming sharpnel and bullets. Case in point, since when has going into battle with superior weapons and tatics a bad thing? Esp when we have more money to spend then these guys getting their lously MBTs.Originally posted by kopiosatu:frankly when i read this thread...
i get pek chek listening to pessimistic views regarding our armed forces...
...ts whether u all bother to fight with what u got.
why talk abt all these things abt missiles unable to pierce armour?
it has been proven that 'obsolete' arms can take down even the most technologically advanced vehicle/plane/tank etc. etc.
instead of sticking to one idea, its better that we dun talk about our weaknesses (those that perceive it as that). and when something does happen, think of an alternative.
Originally posted by CX:That fat russian trooper looks like Sammu...
on thing about the LAW though... its crap...
i think if they HAVE to make infantrymen lug that stupid load around, it might as well be good for SOMETHING! its demoralising to know that the LAW [b]cannot be used effectively against modern armour...
but u can't use it for an AP role as well cos the HEAT warhead won't generate the BIG explosion to maximise casualty in the open.
what are the chances of infantrymen meeting a jeep or some other soft-skinned vehicles which they MUST take out with a LAW??? totally bizarre if u ask me...
hee hee... why not get some of these from the Russians?
RPO Shmel Infantry thermobaric weapon
http://www.kracik.com/me/w_shmel.html
That depends, if it's open, tank country, then long range shots are possible, but most of the time, we're gonna engage a lot closer, where a fast reloading 120mm gun is gonna be a lot more useful then an ATGM. ATGMs are good for backup and additional firepower, but unless we have tons and tons of them, stopping tanks with them needs to be bloostered with MBTs.Originally posted by foxtrout8:Urr right abt LSV being vunerable to a wall of leads. However currently it seem to mi that the LSV is given a large role in anti-tank warfare . Y do u think the LSV is armed with SPIKEs ? Maybe im not clear on my part of shooting and running. Y not add in surprise + shooting + then running , i believe the enemies will be caught off guard. As i say , anti-tank role will not be a one man show , fire suppport will be given by our RSAF , Bionix/ Ultras , the Artillery ..etc , i personnally to believe that the LSV is an extremely useful vehicle in taking up part of the SM-1's anti tank role.However it cannot fully replace the SM-1.
*note : the Spike have a range of 4km , it can be fire in the cover of vegetations which make intial visual detection extremely low .
Of course ! Current missile can nv replace guns in anti-tank warfare , however im jus stating the usefulness of the LSV in fighting the MBTs malaysia is using. Most of the battles will be fought in built up areas and jungles , which make non-line of sight engagement extremely useful.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:That depends, if it's open, tank country, then long range shots are possible, but most of the time, we're gonna engage a lot closer, where a fast reloading 120mm gun is gonna be a lot more useful then an ATGM. ATGMs are good for backup and additional firepower, but unless we have tons and tons of them, stopping tanks with them needs to be bloostered with MBTs.
what makes u think singapore doesn't have better technology.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Well, that's because rethoric and human spirit in battle usually does not stand up to incoming sharpnel and bullets. Case in point, since when has going into battle with superior weapons and tatics a bad thing? Esp when we have more money to spend then these guys getting their lously MBTs.
Why do we need superior weapons, training and tatics? Because we are a small country without numbers and losing people needlessly due to inferior equipment will be a bigger blow to us then them. Yes, it's about how you fight, but it's also a lot about what kind of equipment you have. And in the case of the SM1 tank, we're sending our tankies out in tin cans and miserable little pieces of outdated stuff that can't hold in battle. Sure they will fight vailanty, they will fight and fall like lions, but how hard is it to kill them? One shot will blow them to knigdom come and they can't really siam anyway, or worse, even beofre they get of their only shot in war which is hardly going to have a chance of detering an MBT anyway. Is it only when we start taking this kind of needless losses will we think of equipping our armoured forces properly? You you think human wave assaults with inferior equipment and hoping to win by overwhelming numbers will work with our kind of mentality and population? Not unless we're Russia or China. We only have 250,000 troops, we need to make sure every one of them has the best chance of causing damage and making it through, and that's not going to be by fighting spirit alone, my optimistc friend, that takes good weapons and proper armour. Not hoping to get close in LAW shots and getting cut to shreds by MG fire.
Case in point of all fighting spirit but no technology to back them up: Polish Calvary vs. Nazi Panzers.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:you pek chek what? its just a hypothetical discussion and a little bit of commensensical analysis based on open domain info what...
frankly when i read this thread...
i get pek chek listening to pessimistic views regarding our armed forces...
look, we're not going to WIN a war.
if there is a war, we will definately lose without any support.
its whether u all bother to fight with what u got.
why talk abt all these things abt missiles unable to pierce armour?
it has been proven that 'obsolete' arms can take down even the most technologically advanced vehicle/plane/tank etc. etc.thats true... usually at great cost to human life too... just ask the Finns during the Winter Wars... we need to be realistic... Sg can't fight with pure bravado alone.
instead of sticking to one idea, its better that we dun talk about our weaknesses (those that perceive it as that). and when something does happen, think of an alternative.when u're facing the wrong end of the barrel of an MBT, there's hardly an alternative to the inevitable outcome