___________________________________________________Originally posted by Pressure-Forward:Infantry also got armour support,first time![]()
there were some carring M-16s in CNAOriginally posted by Atobe:Noticed that most of them are equipped with SAR-21 - (all in fact).
its being discuss here dun start another thread on the same issue.Originally posted by CX:what do u guys make of this?
2 weeks ago, they intrude into our waters.
last week (saturday), Jayakumar gave an hour long speech in parliament basically telling them "up yours"
and yesterday, open mob whose info was released for the FIRST time to the media... with fully armed and equipped troops running around, shouting and armoured vehicles rolling around waiting to move out...
i think its all somewhat related.. even if the open mob was planned WAY in advance, i'm sure the decision to release it to the media was not...
its all a big, gov't directed PR blitz to give those northerners a firm message...
I thought the mob is more like a combines-armed activation.Originally posted by Atobe:___________________________________________________
Those guys are not simply infantry, but Armoured Infantry and are the lucky guys that get to be ferried around in the Bionix.
Noticed that most of them are equipped with SAR-21 - (all in fact).
___________________________________________________Originally posted by bcoy:http://straitstimes.asia1.com.sg/topstories/story/0,4386,168557,00.html?
from asiaone -
"The soldiers were from the 10th Singapore Infantry Brigade of the Army's 9th Division, and comprised a battalion of full-time national servicemen and two battalions of NSmen.
Providing support for the infantrymen was a sub-unit from the 41st Singapore Armoured Regiment, made up of full-time servicemen.
Yesterday's exercise was part of the Army's schedule of 20 to 30 mobilisation efforts each year."
Overall, a very effective public message.
10 SIB does not operate any armour. In addition to reserves being called up, there are always other full time units on amber alert (41SAR in this case). SAR21 is not widely used by reserves in the SAF as yet. The M203 gunners are still using the M16/M203 combo (41SAR troopers). Reading the posts, I really wonder if some of you have served your NS?
There was certainly more than one brigade called up, at least 3+ in my opinion. The press covered one only. Some of you know that...........
You'll be suprised.....there are many that haven't serve but acted as though they ORDedOriginally posted by bcoy:Reading the posts, I really wonder if some of you have served your NS?
Originally posted by Atobe:The info is already available in the papers. It was an open mob with 4 call signs. More details and photos at -
Great info that you have given in such detail.
The [b]Malaysian Intelligence Service will also say "Banyak Terimah Kasek for the details".
Enough would have been said without elaborating the names of the units, and the compositions of the units, and size of battalions and brigades.
Loose Lips KILL Lives.
Originally posted by Gun:I thought the mob is more like a combines-armed activation.

looks like rangers to me.....Originally posted by ETboy:wad are those soilders with jungle hat onli ah ?? same infantary ?? but y no helmat??
you never know......Originally posted by sgboy2004:so far, all info here are nothing secretive. Can be found on the mindef website.
so no problem.
Originally posted by Gun:luck neber turn on mu units else die....waiting for 2003 or 04 for ict...oversea training
[b]Siong siong siong !
(Warning, large image file)[/b]
Originally posted by Shotgun:
No, still waiting for Mindef to finally enlist me. Those bastards like don't want me liddat. I call them up 5-6 times liao, went down cmpb 4 times... tell them to enlist me faster... they still take their own sweet time. Those people at enlistment office, are they working or not? *@!&#*(@!
Relac lah....... ppl are reluctant to go in and yet you want to go in ASAP....... In the meantime go for run now and then, train your chin up if you can.... AND ENJOY THE FREEDOM as much as you can...
Oh ya, Armor infantry don't always get to ride around in the bionix or any other IFV. More than often, they run behind it or alongside it. Lucky? No... hot exhaust from a fighting vehicle can be annoying.
Not entirely accurate..... during the olden days armor troops do run alongside with the AMX-13....... after SAF bought APCs like M113 things got better.........why make troops run while they can hitch a ride in the APC?