you might be right.......i saw along a road at something like 10 in the morning.....a chasis being transported(no gun,tracks,electronics and stuff) At 1st i thought it was like some APC......but it lacks armour......so i'm not sure anymore.....Originally posted by superspitfire:This kind of reminds me...i was travelling back home and while I was sitting at a bus around Jalan Bahar, i noticed an 18-wheeler transporting an armoured vehicle...it was quite normal to see the Army transport armour to camps but figure this, it was covered when its was not raining. Figuring its just an SM1 (thats AMX-13SM1), i looked again, but I noticed that the shape is not of the SM1...rather something like a Self-propelled Artillery vehicle...like the Paladin. heck, its gun is bigger than the SM1 ...is it just me or i'm seeing the wrong things?
For point 2, I don't think so lor. Singapore only brought 54 M109 hulls.Originally posted by foga:can't confrim whether how true the news are:
1: singapore's FH2000 will be sent for upgrading , likely to be kept in reserve while a battion strength FH would be sold to monoco;
2: all active unit would convert to the new SPH gun with the UD's M109A5 chasis by 2004, leavin the FH 2000 in reserves;
sometime i wonder... is it really that mobile? u hook to heli... den to deployment site deploy den fire den ceasefire den hook up den flyOriginally posted by CX:i still think that MINDEF should buy the ST's new heli-portable LWSPH... that one will really increase both mobility and firepower
hmm. the LWSPH is only 39 calibre right not 52 calibre. So we will be giving up some range.Originally posted by CX:i still think that MINDEF should buy the ST's new heli-portable LWSPH... that one will really increase both mobility and firepower
the LWSPH has road speed of 60km/h lah! why should the heli be nearby???Originally posted by MushyMaro:sometime i wonder... is it really that mobile? u hook to heli... den to deployment site deploy den fire den ceasefire den hook up den fly
whoa... a lot of time... the helo must totally be stationed together with the firing unit... what about the threat of anti air missile armed guerillas in occupied (semi hostile)areas? bad weather that is enuf to ground the heli...
den about the howitzer mounted on tanks.. the m109... how are they? advise... thanks
Originally posted by CX:the LWSPH has road speed of 60km/h lah! why should the heli be nearby???
the whole point is to use a heli to deploy it cos some places may not have good roads for towed artillery to access... the LWSPH can make do with any road to get away AFTER it releases its salvo...
u try hooking up a bunch of FH2000 to a remote area, set them up, fire off a salvo and hook them up again and get ready to run before counter-artillery battery blasts u to smithereens...
i'm no arty expert, but i think the FH2000 is not a very good shoot-and-scoot platform lor...
Why not?Originally posted by foga:and from wat i know, LWSPH is not gonna be inducted into SAF, well at least the foreseeable future.
for one thing, mindef has not expressed interestOriginally posted by Joe Black:Why not?
Maybe SAF wants more "surviable"(spelling) platforms like the M109.Originally posted by kanzer:the
firepower.....by opting for a sph platform instead of one that could be air portable probably outlines the thinking of the higher command...maybe they are thinking of something else...have we missed anything?
Well, if the (long overdue) direction is to give arty protected SP platforms, then I also believe that should extend to the SP mortars. The current M113 120mm mortar carriers provide very little protection to the guys from counter battery and small arm fires. SAF could perhaps replace current SP mortars on M113 with the AMOS systems mounted on Terrex AV81, M113 or Bionix which provide not only protection but also a higher rate of fire given that each of the AMOS system has 2 barrels. Second addition I can think of is to have the ST Engg BRONCO ATTC carrying the 120mm Super Rapid Advanced Mortar System.Originally posted by spencer99:Maybe SAF wants more "surviable"(spelling) platforms like the M109.
Currently the FH2000 and the new LWSPH offer "zero" protectio for the crew.
Also, with the formation on a "Amoured Div"(as mentioned in "Defending the Lion City"), we will probably need "amoured SPH" as well right???
Agree. Other then more protection, it will also have a higher rate fire. More firepower.Originally posted by Joe Black:Well, if the (long overdue) direction is to give arty protected SP platforms, then I also believe that should extend to the SP mortars. The current M113 120mm mortar carriers provide very little protection to the guys from counter battery and small arm fires. SAF could perhaps replace current SP mortars on M113 with the AMOS systems mounted on Terrex AV81, M113 or Bionix which provide not only protection but also a higher rate of fire given that each of the AMOS system has 2 barrels. Second addition I can think of is to have the ST Engg BRONCO ATTC carrying the 120mm Super Rapid Advanced Mortar System.
Good thoughts on the M113 120 SP mortar. The problem is, 155 gunners are more susceptible to counterbattery fire than mortarmen. It takes less than 2 mins to get the first shot out of the tubes; it takes abt 5 mins for gunners to crank off the first shot. To shoot and scoot? The SP mortar carrier can leave its engine running and be gone after the first shot long before the first enemy arty round hits you. Alll this, of cos' is without camouflage net cover for both mortar and 155 gun.Originally posted by Joe Black:Well, if the (long overdue) direction is to give arty protected SP platforms, then I also believe that should extend to the SP mortars. The current M113 120mm mortar carriers provide very little protection to the guys from counter battery and small arm fires. SAF could perhaps replace current SP mortars on M113 with the AMOS systems mounted on Terrex AV81, M113 or Bionix which provide not only protection but also a higher rate of fire given that each of the AMOS system has 2 barrels. Second addition I can think of is to have the ST Engg BRONCO ATTC carrying the 120mm Super Rapid Advanced Mortar System.
Originally posted by foga:thanks for clarifying. I am really out of date
[[b]quote]Originally posted by spencer99:
Agree. Other then more protection, it will also have a higher rate fire. More firepower.
I have a feeling that the "120mm Super Rapid Advanced Mortar System" will probably be loaded on a wheeled chasis and will probably be replacing the Arty Bns currently armed with 120mm towed mortars.
all active arty bn convert to 155mm FH2000 liao. all 120mm tempellas transferred to infantry unit's support coy liao.
no problem. share share lor. heard the new SPH m109A5 based gun would be inductd into service this year.Originally posted by spencer99:thanks for clarifying. I am really out of date![]()
Really? Wow, that'd be interesting. I'm just wondering the level of armour protection on an SRAMS Bronco though...Bionix FSV might be a better choice.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Actually they designed the SRMS to be fired from within the Bronco. Though I see no problems with it being used with the M113... or prehaps even the Bionix FSV...