buy ACC, i dun think even got enuf planes to fill it up.
Originally posted by Loor:buy ACC, i dun think even got enuf planes to fill it up.
MOB is good consideration. But the relocation may create less greenery inshore as the airbase is moved to MOB for redevelopment.
As beginning from this century onwads, environmental awareness is the key consideration....it ought to provide some scale of greenery for the well beings of the servicemen
They did that in the US:)
http://www.navy.mil/view_single.asp?id=12367
Close up of Tiger Woods swinging off the CVN George Washington -2004
As to the MOB, estimates in 2001 was that 2km long MOB would cost US$5b to $8b (today probably more due to inflation). That's why it never went into production.
Far cheaper to buy a CV.
i hope they were bio-degradable golf balls
Originally posted by alize:
Btw what happened to our 4 E-2Cs?
dunno....not around NE more meh?
The last major exercise that E2C participated was pitch black 2010. Cope Tiger 2011 saw the G-550 participating for the 1st time.
Matter of time before RSAF E2Cs stop flying. It'll be in reserve though. Don't expect $XXX million planes to retire just like that.
Originally posted by weasel1962:The last major exercise that E2C participated was pitch black 2010. Cope Tiger 2011 saw the G-550 participating for the 1st time.
Matter of time before RSAF E2Cs stop flying. It'll be in reserve though. Don't expect $XXX million planes to retire just like that.
Originally posted by alize:
Thought reserve means we can at least see it airborne sometimes. How else can the crew get air time? Anyway what multi-engine trainer does the RSAF use but omit from orbat? (My guess it's the twin-prop red and white one.)
That's what one calls "cat B" reserves. Its not difficult to activate out of shape ex-pilots probably from SIA or such, give them a re-familiarisation course prior to hostilities breaking out. Doesn't take long and such assets are normally for local defence whilst the first line can venture further out.
Originally posted by Domo Kun:Singapore don’t need aircraft carrier.
Rather than generating motherhood statements which any 6 year old can do, it would be far more productive to read the first post on page 1, then debate the cost and benefits which has been done through the various threads already.
Russia to contract for 3rd and 4th Mistral by end of year.
http://en.rian.ru/trend/warship_01102009/
The first 2 already bought earlier this year.
The 30,000 ton cavour gets certified as a CV.
http://www.defpro.com/news/details/28027/
Does anyone even know what is a carrier battle group?
Originally posted by Aneslayer:Does anyone even know what is a carrier battle group?
Yup, and if you read first post on page 1, that was acknowledged. The debate on page 2 talked about the potential size of a CBG.
Feel free to add if you have any points beyond what has been raised.
Your conclusion?
Our only threat is China, if China Commie decided that their military is stronger than US they will sent a fleet towards us, that's when singapore can send a carrier task force to intercept the force before their blue water navy reach us. Moreover, even the war does not affect us directly, without the strong navy, we could not act as a strong deterence to the rising superpower. Chinese navy can easily blockage the straits of Malacca as now China is claiming South China Sea. Then the trading ship will be forced to enroute and no more trade for SG. Without them, SG can raise a white flag.
Originally posted by Leroytantingen:Our only threat is China, if China Commie decided that their military is stronger than US they will sent a fleet towards us, that's when singapore can send a carrier task force to intercept the force before their blue water navy reach us. Moreover, even the war does not affect us directly, without the strong navy, we could not act as a strong deterence to the rising superpower. Chinese navy can easily blockage the straits of Malacca as now China is claiming South China Sea. Then the trading ship will be forced to enroute and no more trade for SG. Without them, SG can raise a white flag.
I don't get you. Singapore has nothing for China to claim, China won't fight Singapore unless Singapore joins forces with a country that China is fighting. Singapore will not do that even with the world's strongest navy.
CNB is for protection from Indon and freedom of navigation in the Straits and South China Sea. Once China is an issue, Singapore will ask USN to FO. Otherwise good luck with the riots.
Originally posted by Leroytantingen:Our only threat is China, if China Commie decided that their military is stronger than US they will sent a fleet towards us, that's when singapore can send a carrier task force to intercept the force before their blue water navy reach us. Moreover, even the war does not affect us directly, without the strong navy, we could not act as a strong deterence to the rising superpower. Chinese navy can easily blockage the straits of Malacca as now China is claiming South China Sea. Then the trading ship will be forced to enroute and no more trade for SG. Without them, SG can raise a white flag.
hahahaha.....you got to be kidding!! what does Singapore have that China wants to go to war for ??