Originally posted by weasel1962:It was ~GBP87m for FY05/06 for Illustrious. A significant amount of that comes from salaries which is likely less in Singapore. Also, new ships require less crew + more fuel efficient. S$140m is in any case under 2% of total defence budget every year. The opportunity cost is what 4 sq km of land can yield in terms of property taxes every year.
Like I've said before, it is cheaper for the Govt to develop and sell you a 1 square meter house for $2, than to sell you a 2 square meter house for $1. It is more cost effective for the government to operate an air base on land.
News thats making its rounds... Russia to upgrade production capability to build 6 subs and 1 aircraft carrier a year.
http://www.rttnews.com/story.aspx?Id=1812434
New-builds for China or India?
SG shall NOT make CV just for the sake of making it.
Like Chinese saying go, before you hit others, protect yourself first.
CV is a floating duck and potential huge floating coffin without proper
protection from threats of submarine, surface and air .
ST Marine is selling 15,000 tons
Kindly note the official name listed below.
LPH seem give u a better idea of this ship.
I hope Chinese and MY forumers would not say SG is building mini CV.
I am against SG builing naval ship more than 5,000 tons.
m
ll
http://mforum.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?tid=450501&extra=&page=17
http://www.malaysiandefence.com/?p=592
ST Enng>> Products
google search/ image
ENDURANCE-160 Multi-Role Support Ship
mmm
u may be suprised ST Marine is capable to build 15,000 tons LPD.
Well, SG is repairing at least 10 % of global ships and dominate some class
of oil rigs, tailor made!
Carrier costs climbing (at least for the biggies)...
http://www.strategypage.com/htmw/htnavai/articles/20120229.aspx
If we get a carrier, we will need tons of regulars. It's not a job you can force people to do.
I feel sad reading this. Gone are the days when it was supercarriers vs cruise missiles and a tiny carrier was of no value at all.
adoi don't build aircraft carrier lah, build star trek or
Originally posted by weasel1962:Funnily enough there will be 11 extra USMC amph vessels that the F-35B can operate from in addition to the US CVN that will operate both the F-35B and C versions.
Is this part confirmed? F-35B and C will coexist on the CVNs?
Originally posted by alize:Is this part confirmed? F-35B and C will coexist on the CVNs?
confirmed...................
but they scared later the evil Decepticon StarScream will try to pretend to be F35 leh.........
You shuold be happy. Israel buying also you know.
Originally posted by alize:You shuold be happy. Israel buying also you know.
israel buy but usa and germany paying
Waste money, hor. A simple helicopter with Hellfire can do the job.
Originally posted by alize:Is this part confirmed? F-35B and C will coexist on the CVNs?
If they didn't, they wouldn't be testing it per below and mentioning in the same breath with the CVN 21 (aka Gerald Ford class).
http://www.dote.osd.mil/pub/reports/FY2009/pdf/navy/2009cvn21.pdf
Clearly the issue in the attached is not that much of a concern for the B version anymore after the Wasp test landings and take-offs.
Historically, Harriers have landed and taken off from CVN-68s so its not exactly new. Its not a SOP for Harriers to operate off super-carriers but they have. If harriers can do it, I see no operational issues why F-35Bs can't.
I'm not asking if can't but if they will.
Any insight on whether RSAF ones will be A or B?
Interesting article on the Mistral training for the Russkis
177 personnel needed for each Mistral. 1 year training for crew, 2 years for officers. Cannot NSmen liao, too long.
Originally posted by alize:I'm not asking if can't but if they will.
Any insight on whether RSAF ones will be A or B?
No idea at this time. But if I'm in DSTA considering the F-35B, I'd be asking the USN/USMC whether our F-35B pilots can be seconded/attached to Wasp class LHDs/other CVNs if operating the F-35B. That would be a huge pilot recruitment coup....
I'd also ask for Wasp class LHDs to be in the south china sea region for joint F-35B sea control exercises. And for access to Okinawa's USMC base for joint air training when they deploy the F-35Bs there....
...and talk to the Brits about sending their QEs to FPDA exercises so that the F-35Bs can do joint exercises onboard (once they switch back to the F-35Bs that is)...
We can even enter into a loan agreement where we can loan the Brits our F-35Bs (minus pilots) if they need it for a Falklands type event and vice versa, we loan from the Brits if we need more fighters.
That's in addition to the Eglin/Cherry point training in the states. And for USMC F-35B to be rotated to Singapore/Australia for joint air exercises. That's way more than what getting the F-35As can offer.
I'll say F-35B because at these prices, no neighbouring country can afford matching aircraft. B's good enough. They probably can't afford a PAK FA or very many Flankers.
B is also the least troubled for now.
As for your other suggestions, paging for Dalforce...
177 regular personnel per Mistral is possible. If Sg spends on people more like it spends on equipment, it is possible. I would join. More people stand to lose their jobs in future anyway.
Thailand spends ~US$26m (180m Krona) to upgrade C&C onboard the Chakri so that their Gripens don't accidentally sink it. Contract runs between 2012-2015.
I think it makes a handsome DDH or LPH. Thailand just has to pair it with a cheap LPD and it has a powerful amphibious force.
Government in £100m U-turn over F35-B fighter planes
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-18008171
note there are serious problems in the article's definition of EMALS