I think them already changing our fullpacks and webbing. last heard that it's all camo-style instead of the typical olive green. Anyone can confirm that? I dunno about size but I heard it's got lots of pockets and can be open from the side too. The webbing's bigger this time and got pockets on the side slings.Originally posted by Tango1:I was wondering, and I'd like to hear you all out...are our current rucksacks adequate? Is it time for a change? I'm talking about the standard-issue rucks that we carried in NS, not the ALICE rucks. I feel that we should have a bigger ruck at times though. Seems like we can't really put rations and additional gear if we wanted to....but that's just my opinion.
Another issue I was wonder was about our web gear. I was thinking that we could adopt the Load Bearing Equipment (LBE) style of SBO that the U.S. is using. Plus a Camelbak-like hydration system.
Have a good one!
seriously, the rucksack is adequate... i don't fancy a larger one at all. there's always the temptation to stuff all the pockets and compartments full of nonsense and weigh u down.Originally posted by Tango1:I was wondering, and I'd like to hear you all out...are our current rucksacks adequate? Is it time for a change? I'm talking about the standard-issue rucks that we carried in NS, not the ALICE rucks. I feel that we should have a bigger ruck at times though. Seems like we can't really put rations and additional gear if we wanted to....but that's just my opinion.
Another issue I was wonder was about our web gear. I was thinking that we could adopt the Load Bearing Equipment (LBE) style of SBO that the U.S. is using. Plus a Camelbak-like hydration system.
Have a good one!
Wow, that's nice, some different shades of green for once. So they allow for Camelbaks now huh? I rememeber it wasn't that popular 8 years ago. It's a good concept though. we could do away with those two canteens and replace it with pouches to hold additional items.Originally posted by Silenthunter:I think them already changing our fullpacks and webbing. last heard that it's all camo-style instead of the typical olive green. Anyone can confirm that? I dunno about size but I heard it's got lots of pockets and can be open from the side too. The webbing's bigger this time and got pockets on the side slings.
For camelbak thingy, I dunno about your unit but our unit, we are allow to use it in the field if we have it, but it's not a standard issue.... meaning you have to buy them if you want.
I thought the 21st Div are made up of mostly Guards units. I was from 21Div a long time ago, when it was just formed.Originally posted by foga:that's the one. guess which saf unit is serving in timor leste now?
nope, not commandoes......
nope, not gaurdsmen.......
nope not infantry........
they are the guys from the infantry Bn of the yet to be formalised RDF 21 div.
They are the Guardsmen. 3rd Battalion SIngapore Guards.Originally posted by foga:that's the one. guess which saf unit is serving in timor leste now?
nope, not commandoes......
nope, not gaurdsmen.......
nope not infantry........
they are the guys from the infantry Bn of the yet to be formalised RDF 21 div.
You mean you guys are still carrying running shoes? I've not pack running shoes since BMT liao......... Wow your unit sabo sia...Originally posted by Tango1:I guess our field packs are alright...we just have to get rid of the running shoes and replace it with a more realistic load...rations or something that you would bring to a real situation....I was thinking that we could also repalce our entrenching tool (ET), but I guess a chungkul is always better than a spade/chungkul hybrid, given our terrain.
no. ADF(army developmental force) spear coy.Originally posted by SG_Archangel:They are the Guardsmen. 3rd Battalion SIngapore Guards.
Hahaha!!Originally posted by Silenthunter:You mean you guys are still carrying running shoes? I've not pack running shoes since BMT liao......... Wow your unit sabo sia...
At least our ET tools are not bad if we maintain and sharpen the blade. I heard some army are using foldable ET tools and are complaining about it being fragile and weak.
wat u meant camou? all along the SBO is plain green.Originally posted by Shotgun:Funny, the SBO i recieved is still plain green. No camou....
Maybe they dun give chao recruits the new stuff?
Of course not. But I know they dun ask you to ask full pack and fight. It's not combat effective. They only train you physically with full pack. I'm just complaining about full pack.Originally posted by CX:huh??? carry fullpack and fight??? u haven't serve NS yet ah?
You're talking abt the ALICE rucks that the cdos are issued with. They dun carry it for all missions though. Only long-range or long-duration missions. That is the current standard-isse in the U.S. Army although it's going to be replaced. I carried the ALICE ruck once...not too bad lah, but after its filled with things, it can be a burden; that's where the metal frame comes in handy.Originally posted by Flight Cadet Officer:commando ones best... can fit a person inside ...![]()
They are always talking about cost efficient. ST just wanna develop 1 of a kind and heck care ...Originally posted by Tango1:You're talking abt the ALICE rucks that the cdos are issued with. They dun carry it for all missions though. Only long-range or long-duration missions. That is the current standard-isse in the U.S. Army although it's going to be replaced. I carried the ALICE ruck once...not too bad lah, but after its filled with things, it can be a burden; that's where the metal frame comes in handy.
I guess the shades of the SBO colour doesn't really matter. It doesn't make any much sense to produce camo SBO. What I would like to see though, is an integrated LBV system with hydration pack as a standard issue. We could increase the load of our SBO mag-carrying capacity; its currently 8 mags (240 rds). With modifications to the front pouches, we could carry 10-12 mags (300-360 rds); that's what my fren did with his SBO. It has been shown that troops would rather carry more ammo than food or water. Yah, I know...too gung-ho garang already...
Secondly, ST can also produce a locally-made grenadier vest. Abt 24 shells would be good...From what I know, grenadiers carry their HEDPs in a bandolier. I dun think that's very effective in terms of movement and weight distribution.
A third item is maybe a SAW SBO, with carrier pouches for both drum and box mags....maybe abt two drum mags and 4 box mags, with the rest for 2 frags and 1 smoke.![]()