I don't think so. Otherwise, I'm sure there'll be one already.Originally posted by Lost:hi, am a new member here and i've been following the threads with great interest, decided to post something as well... more often than not, the emphasis in RSAF has always been on the pilots and aircraft side, do you think there should be a need to purchase some new equipment for the Air Defence side? what i know is that the most recent piece of equipment for ADA is the Igla... or am i wrong? and what are the possible platforms the RSAF could look at? is there a need to purchase a weapon to replace the Bloodhound (retired quite some time back) which has a range of 100km, since the longest range in the current arsenal would be the I-HAWK, with a range of 40km.
replace by ??Originally posted by YourFather:Rapier will be replaced soon......
The Igla is a simple weapon to use;a typically point-and-shoot weapon. The price is affordable, (as compared to the Stinger) and from what I've heard from my friend in the ADA, they are going to, or have already begun licence-production of the Igla in S'pore. I hope that they have it in every combat unit in the future though...Hopefully have an army air defence platoon in every battalion. We should make it a part of training in Infantry courses.Originally posted by Lost:Igla? from what i've heard, its hit probability is not that fantastic, as compared to the RBS 70 and Mistral, wonder if any one has the figures to back this up? and i'm also quite curious why RSAF chose to purchase the Igla, a russian system... perhaps due to cost?
about the pt of not having enough short range missiles, i read somewhere that singapore is actually the most heavily defended piece of area, if u go by the number of systems per sq metre, so perhaps we shouldn't be focusing on the quantity, but rather the quality of the systems which we possess, which goes back to my original query, shouldn't we be upgrading our present ADA systems since they aren't exactly very new anymore...
If they are really so freaking cheap, then it really make sense, trained and issue it to every front-line unit and they can use it whenever they are under air-attack.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Some sneaky reasoning is behing the purchase of the Igla.
The rationale is that while each Igla has a lower hit probability then the Stinger, if two of them will have a higher hit probability then the Stinger, and still at a lower cost. Hence the idea is to buy Iglas and mount them on buddy rail systems two each to create a point defence system or have more of them about our forces that can have a higher rate of hit then the amount of stingers we can buy with the same amout of cash.
That is of course, just a matter of probability, time will tell if this really works out.
... and Singapore now also license produces the missiles. This means that we can build quite a stockpile rather cheaply, plus we get to learn the missile (IR seeker and rocket) technologies. Who knows, maybe one day, Singapore will produce its indigenous WVR air-to-air missiles like a copy of Python 4/5, etc.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Some sneaky reasoning is behing the purchase of the Igla.
The rationale is that while each Igla has a lower hit probability then the Stinger, if two of them will have a higher hit probability then the Stinger, and still at a lower cost. Hence the idea is to buy Iglas and mount them on buddy rail systems two each to create a point defence system or have more of them about our forces that can have a higher rate of hit then the amount of stingers we can buy with the same amout of cash.
That is of course, just a matter of probability, time will tell if this really works out.
Perhaps a ground-based Barak system? Why not just upgrade the Rapier instead?Originally posted by YourFather:I do not know. I first heard this info from a friend in the rapier squadron. But naturally the replacement should be in the same class as the rapier system.
Originally posted by ETboy:replace by ??
I always have this idea. PUT THEM ON TO THEM ON TOP OF THE HDB FLATS!Originally posted by spencer99:I think long time ago there is a rumour about getting the Patriot. Sometime in the early 90s. Suppose to replace the bloodhood.
I think Spore is already very well defended.
Air base point defence - 35mm Oeilikon (sp?)
Army ADA - Mistral, Igla and RBS70
Area Air Defence - I-HAWK
Sector (??) Air Defence - Rapier
If we buy more SAMs and ADA guns. do we really have place to mount them?
i would for one... hold back RSAF and let RMAF come and kill themselves admist SADA's defence wall...Originally posted by Tweeker:There are some published articles then in the early 90s that SIngapore was interested in the Russian S300 SAM systems.
This was one deadly system that could render the airspace "BLACK" to enemy inbound fligths as the probability of hits/kills for both low and high flight profiles are very high! And it can actually be used to hit high altitude "rockets".
By the way, if there are enemy aircrafts flying over or doing CAS continuously here in our motherland, it meant one thing, OUR mighty AIRFORCE HAS FAILED in their quest to maintain AIR supremancy. So it doesn't really matter what SAM systems we have, becos we should then be already losing our cutting edge over our "enemy"!!!
My 2 cents worth...
How can it be possible... the lamppost i see everyday so thin... even if u say it fires 30mm rounds also impossible rite, not to mention any kind of missiles....Originally posted by CX:no need lah... following the tragedy involving the lampost which collapsed at the b-ball court, all lamp posts will be throughly "inspected"...
its a cover story by MINDEF to actually disguise SAMs as lamposts all over Sg so good luck to any clowns who wants to test the effectiveness of Sg's air-defence coverage![]()
ya..... judging from the number of hdb blocks in singapore... one area like Tampines or Yishun enuff for airdefence liao... imagine how much AA fire is there when enemy overflies....Originally posted by Eiizumi:I always have this idea. PUT THEM ON TO THEM ON TOP OF THE HDB FLATS!
uh huh...and then the enemy can bomb all the HDB's as military targets and not civilian targets...smart smart smarOriginally posted by Moonstriker:ya..... judging from the number of hdb blocks in singapore... one area like Tampines or Yishun enuff for airdefence liao... imagine how much AA fire is there when enemy overflies....
actually, its RooivalkOriginally posted by eurofighter:MAF selected the South African Rooivark but got no money to buy it.
Ermh... i thought the plan is to destory them all on the ground at the very first hours of war?Originally posted by tripwire:i would for one... hold back RSAF and let RMAF come and kill themselves admist SADA's defence wall...
then .. once.. they limited fighters are depleted... we can send RSAF in....![]()