Mcdonell Douglas and NorthropOriginally posted by SingaporeMacross:duotiga83, YF-23 is from where one ah?
YF-23, the competitor of the YF-22 in the USAF ATF project is from Boeing while the YF-22(now F/A-22) is from lockheed.Originally posted by SingaporeMacross:duotiga83, YF-23 is from where one ah?
The last i heard was 8 Longbow (AH-64D) and 12 no longbow, not sure about now. . . is it still same?Originally posted by BaKa NeK0:Hmmm Does singapore's apache have the Longbow Fire Control Radarhehe newbie to such stuff
Singapore officially only purchase Hellfire II which are laser guided missiles. They, unlike the millmeter wave Hellfires, are not guided by the Longbow radar but by the laser illuminated by the Target Acquisition Designation Sight (TADS) on the Apaches nose. However, the Longbow radar will give RSAF Apaches the ability to scan the terrain, assign targets to other non-longbow Apaches and mark fire zones and proceed to fire the Hellfires at the targets simultaneously. All non longbow attack helos presently attack targets individually with minimal cooperation. Longbow Apaches give the helo pilots the ability to coordinate attacks so no one attack the same target twice. It is part of the network centric ditgital battlefield US is curently fielding to its army.Originally posted by BaKa NeK0:Hmmm so whats the use of apache without Longbow fire control radari tot apache best asset is hellfire fired linked wif longbow
Please enlighten me
In fact, even in the US not all apaches are armed with longbow radar. Most of the Ah-64 Ds do not have longbow radar as it will be too costly to maintain the fleet. After all, if 1 radar on 1 helicopter can do the job why do you need 20?Originally posted by BaKa NeK0:Hmmm Does singapore's apache have the Longbow Fire Control Radarhehe newbie to such stuff
hmmmm.. . that means as long as you got 1 or 2 Apaches with longbow in the formation, the whole formation can depend on that 1 or 2 longbow radar for info issit?Originally posted by Matlaysia:In fact, even in the US not all apaches are armed with longbow radar. Most of the Ah-64 Ds do not have longbow radar as it will be too costly to maintain the fleet. After all, if 1 radar on 1 helicopter can do the job why do you need 20?
not one longbow to another longbow meh?Originally posted by Matlaysia:In fact, even in the US not all apaches are armed with longbow radar. Most of the Ah-64 Ds do not have longbow radar as it will be too costly to maintain the fleet. After all, if 1 radar on 1 helicopter can do the job why do you need 20?
i think this give u an ans liao......Originally posted by foga:not one longbow to another longbow meh?
Yup if you go to boeing homepage and click on the apache link you will see it. In most air assult battlions in the us army, I read somewhere can't remember that only 15 out of the 25 apaches are longbow. The rest are just normal AH-64 D apache. Just food for thought, I sort of noticed that the kiowa scout has not been active in this war.Originally posted by foga:hmmm.... they all look like longbow to me lei.
wah lau... only in a perfect world man...Originally posted by duotiga83:
"No plan survives initial contact with the enemy" - Dwight D. EisenhowerOriginally posted by CX:wah lau... only in a perfect world man...
1 Longbow is stretching it abit far leh. . . at least 3 in 8 or so lah. . . safer. . .Originally posted by YourFather:Nah. As long as its a -D model, the Apache is linked, and can accept data-linked info from any Longbow equipped Apache. Which means that as long as there's 1 Longbow Apache in a flight of D model Apaches, ALL will be able to receive what's seen from that one Longbow radar.
A standard flight is 4 aircraft.Originally posted by laser51088:1 Longbow is stretching it abit far leh. . . at least 3 in 8 or so lah. . . safer. . .