brudder i think they think too much liao...Originally posted by bcoy:
Anybody notice the helmets worn by Iraqi troops?? Star Wars fans?
come get your very own dark vader helmets at the showing of stars wars!! hurry while stocks lasts.... gas mask not provided.Originally posted by superspitfire:Didn't know the Iraqis are fans of Star Wars...
they look like steel....if it is then it's pretty good better then kevlar...just heavierOriginally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Dun look bulletproof...
If anything only attract attention. "Look dudes! It's vader! Concentrate fire!"
Bangbangbangbangbangbangbangbangbangbangbangbangbang!!!
errr the kevlar helmets now according to my fren in the British army is used more to prevent sharpnel and other debris.....the steel hemlets of ww2 was better at stopping bulletsOriginally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:I tot kevlar provides 2.5 times more ballastic protection then steel for weight?
Looks like it provides as much protection as the Vietnam era US-pot helmet. Can't stop bullets but can stop sharpnel. Certainly wun be able to take four hits like the british helmet.
haha maybe i'm not sure haha well i hope he is ok....though he was sent to Iraq a few months ago.....Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Hmm... really meh? From what I gathered, it appears your friend is misinformed liao. Becos about most of the other western world scientists think that kevlar is a better stopper of bullets then steel.
I searched up on kevlar vs. steel as ballistic protection, this is what they said:
Kevlar is five times stronger then steel, but half the weight and thickness as Fiber Glass.
It turns out that records I searched up state the WW2 helmets were not designed and can not stop bullets as well. This is because they were relatively thin. I can testify to this. I actually have a WW2-style steel helmet at home and the thickness of it is certainly not enough to stop rifle bullets, maybe even smaller arms like submachine guns. To have bulletproof protection to the head from steel would make it extremely heavy, though the thickness is enuff to stop most glancing hits from fragments and such.
It turns out that kevlar is better at stopping fragments as well.
As long as he's not using the steel helmet...Originally posted by |-|05|:haha maybe i'm not sure haha well i hope he is ok....though he was sent to Iraq a few months ago.....
the shot gun will not fly......but the recoil of it is very very heavy....i've fired 1.....the shotgun was made to basicly maim a person.....and it's effective range is a mere 20m!!Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Dun think so, unless Hollywood physics works. Becos if you watch enuff CSI and study physics, you will realize that a bullet contains about as much energy then a softball thrown by a pro-league pitcher, quite a bit of energy, but not quite enuff to break a neck with the sheer impact. The energy you get when whapped with a bullet is as much as the energy of the recoil experienced in the gun when the bullet was fired (newtons laws of motion).
Therefore, people will not "fly" (usually into some large glass object) when shot by shotgun rounds like when we see in the movies, becos to impart enuff force in the buckshot to launch a person backwards will mean that the person firing the shotgun will also experience the same recoil force in the opposite direction when he pulls the trigger, newton's law in action again.
However, if not helmet strap is not on correctly or secured well, the bullet can knock your helmet back with enuff force to strangle you or give you a sore throat.
haha true......Originally posted by Atobe:If kevlar cannot stop a bullet, then all the body armor worn by Special Forces will be quite useless.
Some bullets can knock out a person wearing body armor, and leave him with a severe bruise. A shot onto a kevlar helmet, will probably leave a heavy headache to the wearer, with much being dependent on the angle of impact of the bullet against the kevlar helmet - that is if it is a glancing shot hitting the helmet at a tangent, or a 90 degree perpendicular impact against the helmet.
High velocity bullets can still penetrate steel helmets, and those 1969 steel helmets worn by the early NSF in Singapore were WW-2 types, and used largely by the US Armed Forces during the Vietnam War. There were some reported puncture of those steel helmets during both the Wars - dependent on the angle of impact.