I think u are comparing more of an apple to an orange.Originally posted by Matlaysia:Compared to the US humvees of the 101st Airborne, our LSV seem to be under armoured with no protection for the crew at the sides and at the head level despite the fact that both of them perform the same function. What do you guys think?
Hi, well u r pretty close abt the operations of LSV. wat can i say? we reflected the under protection problem for yrs and after so long there's still little done...Originally posted by foxtrout8:The LSV is to increase mobility of the Guards in our Jungle / Tropical terrain which not many vehicle can do that. The Humvee surely is a no no in such condition. Other than that , the LSV is choosen because it can be transport in reasonable numbers by helicopter to suit our rapid deployment requirement while again not many jeep can provide such luxury.
Abt protection , i dun think it is a problem because the LSV's agility allows it play hit and run warfare. During fighting , firepower from other vehicles will cover the LSV as it run the frontline. Notice that the LSV are armed with rather long ranged and heavier lnfantry weapon. The spike alone give them a strike range of 4 to 8kms.
Abt recon , i believe the LSV are designed for light recon mission where not much resistence will be seen. Ambush frequented LRRP will be carry out mainly by Commandos , Infantry scouts and Fennec Light Heli.
Also, any idea what is the strenght of a guard division, 3 brigades worth of guards and their support equipment? The funny thing about the 101 Airborne is that they and the guards are similarly equipped.Originally posted by foxtrout8:I think u are comparing more of an apple to an orange.
The LSV is to increase mobility of the Guards in our Jungle / Tropical terrain which not many vehicle can do that. The Humvee surely is a no no in such condition. Other than that , the LSV is choosen because it can be transport in reasonable numbers by helicopter to suit our rapid deployment requirement while again not many jeep can provide such luxury.
Abt protection , i dun think it is a problem because the LSV's agility allows it play hit and run warfare. During fighting , firepower from other vehicles will cover the LSV as it run the frontline. Notice that the LSV are armed with rather long ranged and heavier lnfantry weapon. The spike alone give them a strike range of 4 to 8kms.
Abt recon , i believe the LSV are designed for light recon mission where not much resistence will be seen. Ambush frequented LRRP will be carry out mainly by Commandos , Infantry scouts and Fennec Light Heli.
My two cents...
erm sorry when u meant lightly armed u were comparing to?Originally posted by Matlaysia:Also, any idea what is the strenght of a guard division, 3 brigades worth of guards and their support equipment? The funny thing about the 101 Airborne is that they and the guards are similarly equipped.
Singapore 101 Airborne
AH-64 Apache Ah 64 apache
Super Puma Blackhawk
Chinook Chinook
LSV Humvee
105 mm Giat Howitzer M119 105mm Howitzer
Any idea what is the purpose of the guards as a lightly armed rapid deployment force will be mince meat when it meets a heavy division? As far as the war in iraq is going on, it seems that the 101 airborne is used as crack troops to sweep up the remnents of saddam's fighters and to create forward bases for arming of apache helicopters. In our case, is there really a need for such a force considering that they are so lightly armed and will be vunerable to sharpnal and small arms fire?
Yes , very much our Guards are very much shaped from the 101( combine armour , heli support ) , the US rangers ( rappling operation [eg . Somalia ] ) and US Marines ( Amphibous operation ).Originally posted by Matlaysia:In our case, is there really a need for such a force considering that they are so lightly armed and will be vunerable to sharpnal and small arms fire?
no problem broOriginally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:I dun see how it's agility can help it run from bullets, people anyhow spray in your general direction no matter how fast you can run or dodge with that thing, if the bullet has your name on it you're dead liao. Putting just some panels to protect against 7.62mm will greatly increase survability. Also, it must be some good terrain to allow the LSV 4km of clear ground to get a LOS shoot with a missile. Most of the time engagement distances are much nearer then that. Sorry, right now as it stands, the LSV appears to me nothing more then an overglorified dune buggy that is very poor when it comes to combat roles.
LSV is not compatible with humvee.Originally posted by Matlaysia:Compared to the US humvees of the 101st Airborne, our LSV seem to be under armoured with no protection for the crew at the sides and at the head level despite the fact that both of them perform the same function. What do you guys think?
hi, yup WAS from the guards, orded almost 4 yrs liaoOriginally posted by foxtrout8:Hey Ah^San , seems like u are from the Guards.
The spike that our Guards are using is the NT version or the ER version???
Another question is that , how many LSV do will have and are ready to deploy ???
Runner for Commander 21st Div. Brigadier General Chua Chwee Koh.Originally posted by ah san:hi, yup WAS from the guards, orded almost 4 yrs liao
(shows u how long LSV was a hushy affair?)
not too sure abt the version now btw NT and ER refers to wat?sorry lah CCC (civilian conversion course) passed out !!
erm as for the LSV no.can't really tell u cos dunno clearance a not...
i noe bks and jane mght haf quoted b4 but beta safe then sorry
lets juz say we are well into the hundreds and yes ready to be deployed.in fact its being used in EAST timor now..
huh?Originally posted by Flight Cadet Officer:Runner for Commander 21st Div. Brigadier General Chua Chwee Koh.
looks like a major is gonna get his ass fried. Investigation in the midst in regards to an LSV incident.
Flanking is a strategy, not job scope.Originally posted by warspite:I always thought Armour units are the ones to take up the thrust of any offensive/counterattack, then with Guards to perform flanking moves or clearing of remnants of enemy forces. Well, I'm no great strategist nor professional military man, can anyone care to enlighten me (without leaking secrets...)?
wah u like noe alot of thing abt combat hor?Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:The LSV can't afford to take a single hit, even a single a single bullet on a path intersecting the crew compartment will be disasterous, and seeing how open and exposed it is, virtually any shot you fire to hit the LSV near the center of mass will end up passing through the passanger compartment. Even in areas where resistance is light, you're gonna take some fire. Imagine them using the LSV in areas like Um Qusar or Brasa fighting, or even just to scout. A single infantry man firing at it with aimed shots will be bad liao. How fast and agile can you go to avoid the bead of a trained shooter?
yeah, now is this president scholar... wear specs ..... broke his ligament during guards day, i had to screw the medic upside down before he put down his comic book and double to the scene ....Originally posted by ah san:huh?during my time still was Bg. SU
wat happened? my time also got casualty but in the end hushed up...![]()
last i checked in for reservist last yr it was still AGL,Milan or spike..No TOW and GPMG on top??!!Originally posted by Flight Cadet Officer:LSV is designed for offencing troops and light armour vehicle. You may mount a GPMG infront and a TOW or another GPMG above the LSV.
thats what they did during an exhibit. AGL Milan capable as well.Originally posted by ah san:last i checked in for reservist last yr it was still AGL,Milan or spike..No TOW and GPMG on top??!!![]()