LSV suffered severe damage during an event (can't say).Originally posted by ah san:wat happened? my time also got casualty but in the end hushed up...![]()
I think we shouldn't go that far yet...Originally posted by foxtrout8:Y not lets have a discussion on ur ideal LSV . We can state wat we want to see in a LSV such as certain weaponary and defensive features.....
Trust me its worse went u got siao oh col. that runs 10km @stadium every day, prones in mud during training then everyone begins to be so on!!Originally posted by Flight Cadet Officer:yeah, now is this president scholar... wear specs ..... broke his ligament during guards day, i had to screw the medic upside down before he put down his comic book and double to the scene ....
Good thing your not servicing under him ...... can still remember the words he said to me during 1 of the excerise .....
"Life's a bitch ain't it huh irwin. imagine yourself out there in the woods without sleep, exhausted......"
"Certainly is sir"
than he takes a sit and enjoy watching charlie advance to an ambush consisting a GPMG at elevated position.
hmm....my friend is in guards right now ord in may...he said he has never fire a spike ever and neither has anyone else......according to him only 4 people have fired it in the testing phrase....with a 50% hit rate..... due to the other 2 wires breaking mid flight.As for the milan you used it before? haha thats good at least our troops are getting some practise!!!Originally posted by ah san:no problem brothe panel idea was suggested b4 but due to tactical reasons(i dunno if i haf clearance for these sorry) the panels could and would only be placed in front for the driver...nonetheless nothing was done...
i admit abt the vulnerablity to bullet spray and no amt of speed is going to help but the fact is how close the aggessor would haf to get to the Lsv...but saying that the worse enemy the LSV would haf will be artillery bombardment and Infrantry ambush
as for missile fire think there was some misconception 4 km is not the min distance for spike, if my memory serves me rite..its abt 2km,as for the milan, it can be around 1.7km dun quote me but thats the dist they use for live firing at LCK
BTW spike does not neccesary require LOS, it's got a remote control feature with warhead view to lock on to target.
well, never said it was fantastic, always seems that the big shots were more excited then us...the end users
must be a novelty thing...would probaly die down once a new toy comes along...like the new light tank?
combat capable anot i dun noe but must say there seems to be nothing that is comparable to wat the LSV does for each diff combat role.
ps. the moment i got drafted into LSV oredi understood that casualty is highly and very possible...
you mean me sir ? no lah ...... i turn down the offer to be an Officer about 2 days ago. extra 10 yrs reservice of us man, no point cheong so hard.Originally posted by ah san:Trust me its worse went u got siao oh col. that runs 10km @stadium every day, prones in mud during training then everyone begins to be so on!!
c ur beer guted enciks wear SBO full camo chiong exercise, MO carry euipment and sretcher with camo M-16, OCs leading runs....that time u can't not even complain...LPPL but really have lotsa respect for col neo man!!
toking bt meritcrocy in army still remember got so many incidents covered up...heard tat got one officer lost an item liable for DB in the end juz serve extra...cos ho govt scholar...nvm lah he still quite ok somemore was framed
i mean somthing must be done to the system lah u c very capable n experienced CSMs who served decades having to call a young arrogant inexperiencedOcs punk sir...saddens me man...![]()
ha, the damage cost problem started even b4 my batchOriginally posted by Flight Cadet Officer:I think we shouldn't go that far yet...
The LSV itself is substaining damages that are not economical.
Perhaps concentrating on re-enforced durability on intergrity of the LSV should be considered prior advancing to increment in armour.
At this rate of damage we are going, soon we'll have to pay for our meals at cookhouse.
well ..... guards pride perhaps ?Originally posted by ah san:ha, the damage cost problem started even b4 my batch
i mean i would understand if it was damage during training purposes but damage for another "wayang" show??!!
well for those who served in LSV b4 would understand ...we really hated the wayang shows!!! esp. if its some stupid Major or col from so and so who juz wanna chk out a new toy...!!!or to show off
remember once the CGO juz took the LSv for a ride in Ossie land then the engine die half way..dunno wat he did.?..we juz landed the day b4..He did not go thru flyer driver course then!! guess who had to write his damage statment my fren..
another time some MP was driving the LSV in LCK ,tot that the LSV was Auto geared then drove happily around the terrain in 1ST GEAR...my fren seating behind him told me he was deaf after that cos the engine was over heating and growling aloud!!!
dare say at least 50% damage caused by wayang shows!!!
ok abt firing of spike b4 i orded (4yrs agoOriginally posted by |-|05|:hmm....my friend is in guards right now ord in may...he said he has never fire a spike ever and neither has anyone else......according to him only 4 people have fired it in the testing phrase....with a 50% hit rate..... due to the other 2 wires breaking mid flight.As for the milan you used it before? haha thats good at least our troops are getting some practise!!!
haha lol, maybe that's why when i c new commissioned officers they so yaya!! suffered their time then now time to make others suffer!!!Originally posted by Flight Cadet Officer:you mean me sir ? no lah ...... i turn down the offer to be an Officer about 2 days ago. extra 10 yrs reservice of us man, no point cheong so hard.
In OCS we have this champion who lost his NVG in tekong during Excerise Spade. cover up as well. honestly speaking you should come to OCS and review our dear SSM (School Sergeant Major) some day. everyday it would be ...
"Bloody hell take your time somemore FUCKING MAGGOTS YOU ALL ! Fuck you ! Knock it down ! knock it down ! fuck you ! i don't care knock it down chee bye !!
"FUCK YOU ! YOU 2 FUCKS OVER THERE ! Its the God damn flag lowering ceremony and you move ! fucking move somemore ! fucking come here now !!" these guys aren't even SAF personel, they are outside contractors ...
By the way, your dear col's picture is now on a plague in HQ. Could tell from his face he's a sadist.
ehhe each team now carries 3 liao....and they say it too heavy ahhaha and you never fired a milan? pity....hehe guess they dun wanna waste too much $$$Originally posted by ah san:ok abt firing of spike b4 i orded (4yrs ago) i knew that only selected pple will given chance to fire spike like regulars, then trainers...btw that time we saw a video that a spike was fired and landed 10cm away from a crosshair 1m by 1m marked on a target tank...
hmm 50% hit rate...why do u tink each team carries at least 2 missiles at one time..lol
Ok milan fire i din get chance cos that time me not best trainee but during ns after milan course got abt 10 more firings but din get selected cos i not primary milan firer...![]()
i also wanna fire but not Primary Milan gunner...Originally posted by |-|05|:ehhe each team now carries 3 liao....and they say it too heavy ahhaha and you never fired a milan? pity....hehe guess they dun wanna waste too much $$$
yup. Officer Cadets get tortured and raped in OCS. Being treated worst than sh*T. But I don't mind. If only they abolish the extra 10 yrs reservice, I would be on course by this monday...Originally posted by ah san:haha lol, maybe that's why when i c new commissioned officers they so yaya!! suffered their time then now time to make others suffer!!!
during Bmt i told the officer no wan to be officer then sit test call everyone rate me last...tot can get cook,clerk ,driver...
alas kanna sabo guards...nonetheless i 've served my timefor ns that is !!!
dun take my word for it but i really look forward to reservisit trainingBTW col neo not sadist lah, juz tat himself too on then the other lower ranks haf to be siao on 2 wat
3 man team......there is a cmd....a gunner and the asistant i think....i know 1 guy carries 2 spikes and the other guy carries 1...the cmd carries the radio setOriginally posted by ah san:i also wanna fire but not Primary Milan gunner...
carry 3???!!!each 15 kg x 3 = 45 kg!!!!
can kill man + sbo + helmet + m16
anyway now one team how many pple? for my side its 2 onli...funnie man imagine mg team got 3 pple spike only 2???![]()
I am from a Guards unit too, finish NS 11 years ago.Originally posted by ah san:hi, yup WAS from the guards, orded almost 4 yrs liao
(shows u how long LSV was a hushy affair?)
not too sure abt the version now btw NT and ER refers to wat?sorry lah CCC (civilian conversion course) passed out !!
erm as for the LSV no.can't really tell u cos dunno clearance a not...
i noe bks and jane mght haf quoted b4 but beta safe then sorry
lets juz say we are well into the hundreds and yes ready to be deployed.in fact its being used in EAST timor now..
lol~ *scary voice* remember the official secrets act~!!!Originally posted by ah san:erm as for the LSV no.can't really tell u cos dunno clearance a not...
i'm actually quite impressed with the lsv...Originally posted by foxtrout8:Y not lets have a discussion on ur ideal LSV . We can state wat we want to see in a LSV such as certain weaponary and defensive features.....
dun laugh lah beta be safe mahOriginally posted by kopiosatu:lol~ *scary voice* remember the official secrets act~!!!
freak machines.....hehOriginally posted by ah san:juz a little juicy infor... ever wondered wat an LSV looked like with tracks???
...thank goodness they scrapped that idea!!?? looks like a freak machine man!!! though was pretty impressed in its climbing ability and maintainance of speed compared to the wheels![]()
Nice to know that in our army they really care about the welfare of individual soldiers and will not send them out to die in unnecessary clauses.Originally posted by ah san:to SingaporeTyrannosaur :
admit that LSV is very,very vulnerable but haf to think how close one has to be to get a hit on LSV, there r not many times when we are stationary...if we are chances are that we r laying an ambush[/quote]
One dun have to be very close to hit an LSV, an MG creating a beaten zone for the LSV to drive through enuff liao, it'lll become a abitor. The LSV survability depends on it's speed to avoid bullets, which is insane. Under enemy fire it's not even allowed to take a single hit and that's not going to hold up for long. In a sense, the LSV is nothing more then an overglorified dune buggy with the protection of a motorbike, whoever driving it is entirely exposed.
The only way to survive in an LSV is to avoid taking a single hit from enemy fire, no matter what caliber at all. I'm not sure that's even a realistic option in modern warfare. What will tank commanders do when they notice a missile flying towards them? The common tatic is to spray the MG in the direction of the operator to cause him to flinch and make the missile go of course. Unfortunately the pple in the LSV dun have any kind of cover to duck under, being exposed in their open frames and MG bullets come rippin thru...
[quote]
as for fatality...some major used to tell us' what ever weakness we haf we make it up with numbers??!!!