The leopard 2 would kick the ass of the M1A2.....seeing as to how the M1A2 was designed after the Leo1......Originally posted by tankee1981:The M1A2 MBT is touted as one of the best if not the best tank around. However during the Gulf War 2, pictures of burning or disabled M1A2 tanks is common. My question is how survivable is this Cold War designed MBT still relevant in today's battlefield? Its important to note that Iraq's capability to wage a modern war is questionable which is confirmed by the coalition central command repeatedly. Please comment.![]()
other then firecontrol the Leopard 2 has proved itself better then the M1A2 in tests.The gun and armour is better but the firecontorl i must say makes the M1A2 equal and in fact much better for combine arms but the Leopard 2 in a total ground war will winOriginally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:I dun think so, the tanks are roughly equal in armor and mobility (the Abrams armor is probably heavier, the americans being crazy about DU).
But the IVIS technology and intergrated databus gives M1A2 commanders far more situtational awareness then any Leopard 2 crew, and that's going to be a definate advantage. Any body rooting for the Leopard 2 dun seem to have any valid reason rather then rabid anti-americanism...
surprisingly other then the fact that the brits are keeping very very quiet about it i cant find anything else.....Originally posted by laser51088:what about challenger? slow as hell, but how does it match up against M1A2? And Erm, u sure the Leopard 2 will kick M1A2 butt? i'm not sure but i doubt so leh. . . .. .
and anyone got any idea what is Chobam armour?? i know its classified but there must be something about it out there. . .
hmm.......wasnt aware of that.But DU armour is different from a Chohbamm armour.They are both different ways of making armour....of which even the Germans and Isrealis have their own version...or so i've read.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:No, the DU armor is intergrated to the Abrams armor package along with the Chobhamm package. This means that the Abrams actually has the heaviest protection package of any MBT currently deployed, including the Leopard 2. The Abrams is proof (from the front) against the 120mm gun that both it and the Leopard 2 carries, the frontal armor of the Leopard 2 however, cannot keep out the advanced "silver bullet" APFSDS of the Abrams.
No, the M1A2 uses the exact same gun as the Leopard 2. The M256 smoothbore the Arams uses is made by the German company Rheinmetall Landsysteme GmbH, and guess what. The Leopard 2 is armed witht the M256 as well. Ammo wise however, the americans have a very big edge. Their disregard for the toxic hazards of DU ammo and development of thirty one ratio DU APFSDS gives their ammo a significant preformance advantage (1.5 to 2 times better) then the twenty one ratio tungsten APFSDS that the Leopard 2 uses.Originally posted by |-|05|:.The gun and armour is better but the firecontorl i must say makes the M1A2 equal
Dun get mixed up, the M1A2 protection package consist of both the Chobhamm armor plus the DU armor layer. The exact composition is a tightly kept secret (that's why they always destroy all their disabled tanks to avoid them from falling into enemy hands) and is constantly being reviewed. But get this straight, the Abrams uses bother Chobhamm armor (that provides great protection against HEAT rounds) plus an additional layer of DU about 2 inches thick. The exact arrangment is of course, a closely guarded secret.Originally posted by |-|05|:hmm.......wasnt aware of that.But DU armour is different from a Chohbamm armour.They are both different ways of making armour....of which even the Germans and Isrealis have their own version...or so i've read.
i agree with the DU ammo.And i'm looking at their specs.....hmm......surprising those 2 are so so alike!Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:No, the M1A2 uses the exact same gun as the Leopard 2. The M256 smoothbore the Arams uses is made by the German company Rheinmetall Landsysteme GmbH, and guess what. The Leopard 2 is armed witht the M256 as well. Ammo wise however, the americans have a very big edge. Their disregard for the toxic hazards of DU ammo and development of thirty one ratio DU APFSDS gives their ammo a significant preformance advantage (1.5 to 2 times better) then the twenty one ratio tungsten APFSDS that the Leopard 2 uses.
As for armor, I stated liao.
Once you sort the wheat from the chaff and looked through all the data, you'll realize that the Abrams actually has heavier armor, better ammo and fire control then the Leopard 2. Making it the most advanced MBT being used in the world today.
i believe they had some problems like that during the current conflict.....but they did manage to get the guy out though with alot of troubleOriginally posted by spencer99:Question:
Can the driver of the M1A1 exit from the vehicle from his hatch with the turret in the forward postion.
From the photos is seems that the turret is right on top of the hatch. And also I see pictures of M1s with turrets skewed to one side when they are parked. Could it be to allow driver to enter and exit the tank?
i'd be contented with the Leo 2 or even and M1A1 haha anything beats the amx we have now!Originally posted by SingaporeMacross:Wow, Singapore could use that tank..
yep yep haahOriginally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:AMX 13 SM1... aka the piece of outdated post WW2 crap?

Originally posted by Joe Black:So, my ideal armoured force for SAF would be
1. 3,6,9 Div to replace 2 armoured brigade SM1 tanks with a locally made light tank, eg. Bionix chassis with the RAUG 120mm gun, possibly on a foreign turret like the CV90-120T ones. Second option is to look at getting the Jordanian Falcon 2 turret with the 120mm gun.
2. replace 1 armoured brigade SM1 tanks with a modern MBT of around 50 tons. The only one I can is the Leclerc.
3. For the new 32 Div, replace all current centurions with an MBT with whatever SAF choice is. If Mekarva is to be chosen, I would like to see the Merk 3Baz with independent commander panaromic sight coupled with Hunter-Killer mode plus a whole range of active and passive densive aids used in Mekarva 4.
Just my 2 cents.
No way, the russian T-90 is actually an improved version of the T-72, the Abrams will have little trouble fraggin' it in a stand up fight. Besides, the T-90 was built on the old soviet doctorine of mass numbers of inferior quality tanks. One on one, the M1 series has greater range, accuracy and armor, not to mention mobility.Originally posted by electric_lucid:Russian main battle tank T-90 is also as good as M1. Any comment.