they are NCO's basically just a way to keep more experience soldiers by promoting them and give them more $$.They have the jobs of some Captains and Lt's.Like commanding platoons and companies even.But they are still junior in rank to officers! even Lt'sOriginally posted by Arena:May I know what are the primary jobs of warrant officers?
You must have at least 10yrs of specialist exp in order to be consider for WO promotion right?? not mentioning oso leadership qualities and so on....
ya lor, even 2lt fresh from ocs also must call them sir.Originally posted by |-|05|:they are NCO's basically just a way to keep more experience soldiers by promoting them and give them more $$.They have the jobs of some Captains and Lt's.Like commanding platoons and companies even.But they are still junior in rank to officers! even Lt's
Some.....they usually are the stand in commanders like when some guy got promo then they need some1 to fill that space till the fresh OCS people are ready....that kindOriginally posted by foga:ya lor, even 2lt fresh from ocs also must call them sir.
but i think only in school then they got chance to command platoon or company level.
Actually the Warrent Officer scheme was introduced to help RETAIN the specs who have finished their 10-15 years of service who might otherwise be tempted by job offers in the private sector and even civilian goverment sector.This was to ensure the army did not have to recruit even more people, to help retain their more experience soldiers so that the armed forces would not have to relie so much on young and green soldiers and officers.Honestly NCO's are usually the link between the high up's and the lower ranks and are more respected then the officers(especially those fresh out of OCS)Originally posted by LaserGod:warrant officers are just specialist who finished 10 oyrs of service as a spec and are kept by the SAF for their so called exp. Where actually, it's tt they cant find any employement elsewhere in the private sector, so u stay on in the SAF.
They are a bunch of losers!!!
Originally posted by |-|05|:Actually the Warrent Officer scheme was introduced to help RETAIN the specs who have finished their 10-15 years of service who might otherwise be tempted by job offers in the private sector and even civilian goverment sector.This was to ensure the army did not have to recruit even more people, to help retain their more experience soldiers so that the armed forces would not have to relie so much on young and green soldiers and officers.Honestly NCO's are usually the link between the high up's and the lower ranks and are more respected then the officers(especially those fresh out of OCS)
treat the WOs with respectOriginally posted by LaserGod:warrant officers are just specialist who finished 10 oyrs of service as a spec and are kept by the SAF for their so called exp. Where actually, it's tt they cant find any employement elsewhere in the private sector, so u stay on in the SAF.
WOs are the old dogs of the armyOriginally posted by Arena:yah..... sso do u guys respect the WOs?
Are WOs so much needed in the SAF?
So basically wat does a WOs does?
Wat's the diff in the job of an officer and a WO?
guess ur those who kena tekan by them jialat jialat one eh...lolz..maybe ur the loser..lolzOriginally posted by LaserGod:warrant officers are just specialist who finished 10 oyrs of service as a spec and are kept by the SAF for their so called exp. Where actually, it's tt they cant find any employement elsewhere in the private sector, so u stay on in the SAF.
Depends on what the WO does lah...some might look plump but they can run in SBO like any other soldier.Originally posted by the Bear:Hmmm... it was a view when I was a NSF that the "Lao Chek" were "Life Sentences".. that is, they were lifers in the army... also no civilian skills which can let them be employable outside the military.
However, one of the things that made the NSFs look at them with some disrespect and sometimes contempt, was that a few of these Lao Cheks were in the Mess most of the time guzzling the duty-free booze... and a lot of them were pot-bellied, boorish and very rude to everyone.
We did not have a good impression of them at all.
Not sure about now tho'
basically Wo are people with years of experiences and they have got excellent leadership abilites. wat's the dif between a WO an a 2lt? in war,i'll fight along side a WO anytime rather than a 2Lt or LTa. why didn't mention CO or OC level?Originally posted by Arena:yah..... sso do u guys respect the WOs?
Not anymore I think...Originally posted by the Bear:Hmmm... it was a view when I was a NSF that the "Lao Chek" were "Life Sentences".. that is, they were lifers in the army... also no civilian skills which can let them be employable outside the military.
However, one of the things that made the NSFs look at them with some disrespect and sometimes contempt, was that a few of these Lao Cheks were in the Mess most of the time guzzling the duty-free booze... and a lot of them were pot-bellied, boorish and very rude to everyone.
We did not have a good impression of them at all.
Not sure about now tho'
So far all RSM i've come across are WOs. At least WO2..Originally posted by Arena:are RSM usually WOs???
Most of the trainers during my incamp trainings are WOs...Originally posted by Arena:yah..... sso do u guys respect the WOs?
yah..... our Ah Gong said that all regulars are to be fit, must pass IPPT and not overweight lor... I know it from some navy WOs... They give you a time frame to get fit if u are overweight ot wat, if not then your career might be jeopardise... Think started from 1 year ago...Originally posted by Paladin:Not anymore I think...
During my last incamp training my mates and I were surprise to find our lao check slim down to half of his previous size!
At 1st still tot he was sick or what.. then later hear from the clerk that he was ordered to reduce weight and keep fit or lost his job..