American concentrated as much as the Russian , the Russian lost because of their inferior communists ideals.....Singapore currently well focusing on defense , economical and of course social issues , dun worry ......Nope the Soviet was forced to divert more money into defence and less into their economy thus bankrupting themselves.The Soviet relied alot on numbers and little on quality back then.They also had a conscripted army with only their marines,KGB and spetnaz being regulars and every one else being conscripts.This dropping in standard of living due to a crappy economy caused massive "civil" war ripping warsaw pact apart.
forgive my bluntness... but i think your military knowledge sucks big times...Originally posted by kenhor:Well, I am no expert in all military aspects, my only passion is in economics and the sale of palm oil .. so I will leave it as agreeing to disagree.
It has been a wonderful discussion this weekend, look forward to more soon.
Friend, already you mentioned earlier when there was a paratroop drop within 10km of JB, we mobilize .. how the heck can they mass all 160k troops to JB without us knowing? And the 160k will face 320k. So what talk you?boy it's me that said it
Originally posted by kenhor:i kindly provide you with the link from CIA for your pleasure... check it yourself...
To trip wire,
Well most of what I posted are my opinions, and its also your opinion that was posted.
Here is a sample of some of the things you have said about the MAF.
[b]frankly... they cant afford to loose much of anything.. since they arent able to produce most if any of their weapons themselves...
their heavy dependency on foreign support for their local defense weapons platforms could only imply that any war that malaysia wanna start must first gained the blessing of foreigners....
in fact ... most of their equipment purchase... are crap load of joke.... furthermore.. they always buy in so pathetic a small number... it makes one ponder if they really have a monkey as a CDF or wat...
furthermore... everytime the maharaja's army purchase any " Top of the line stuffs" its always more hype then truth.... and never in the right number...
furthermore... anyone taking a good look at their ORBAT will be shocked to see a circus or a museum with many types of weapons but never in the right amount... it begs to wonder.... wat the hell is wrong with their CPUs...
Personally... i feel that malaysia's action in weapon purchase is more of a fanfare event then a security consideration... else why the claim to purchase the MIG-29M, then call it the MIG-29N... but in truth.. they got the MIG-29A (vintage stuff)??
take their hornets for example... its just barely enough in number to form a small aerobatic team (think the US navy aerobatic team got more hornets ) ... and they call that a combat force... *ouch* they must be in dream land.....
actually... in view of the high cost of the Astro2 ... it would be a severe strain on MAF finances to keep a large stockpile of such rockets... they will probably run out of rockets first before we get to kill off their launchers...
And now, you think that they have much more money than us. So which statements are correct? Are they a serious threat or a joke? Or both? Or you just want to have the last word? Should we take you seriously from now on?![]()
please understand my dear dear friend... there is a difference between effective spending and blind wasting...
which is to say... though malaysia might spend more (which i did not claim in the first place)... they could jolly well be either spending it the wrong way... (cos that is open to argument) or they might be spending smartly under the guise of those purchases... like i noted in my previous post... which idiotic nation would actually spill all their military secrets in public?? and which idiot would be so foolish to argue for his own nations defence spending cuts base on such public figures??
Anyway, here is what the CIA factbook has to say
a) Malaysia US$1.69 billion (2.03% of GDP) FY00
b) Singapore US$4.47 billion (4.9% of GDP) FY01![]()
if CIA is believable... then pig can climb trees....
first ... CIA didnt take into account the 5 year plan extra-budget military spendings... which amounted to almost 1 billion ringgit a year
secondly... CIA figure cannot be right if you checked malaysia GDP for FY2000 is approx 200 billion dollars.. at 2.03 percent... that should give a figure of 4.06 billion dollars for defence... not your small small 1.69 billion as you claim... dont believe me go check your CIA figure again and do the maths yourself instead of reading blindly....
on the other hand... also from CIA... singapore GDP is 100 billion with a 4.9% GDP spending correctly stated as 4.47billion...
( dont read blindly next time)
plus malaysia's 5 year extra budget defence spending plance... i would say... both nation spend almost the same...
So this is what is published by the CIA, who has better information that you and me. It clearly states that Singapores's spending is 2x that of Malaysia. So my conclusion is![]()
GARBAGE BELOW
since your figure is wrong above,.. your points below aint even worth reading....
a) You just want to win any argument and warp the facts to support your arguments or
b) You also suck in your economics.
As for any hidden expenditures, I am sure both countries have them. So it evens up. In fact, with the amount of corruption in Malaysia, I am sure that their budget is even less due to having to pay off the ministers.
I am willing to leave it as agreeing to disagree .. don't be too personal in your attacks. I will respond.[/b]
Originally posted by kenhor:i can only pray that you are right... beyond that... i wish them good luck....
to tripwire
[b]2... the cost of building an army in singapore and malaysia is different... malaysia having an abdundance of land and resources could face a lower cost in military expenditure vis-a-vis expensive singapore.. that is to say.. for the same fund.. they could support a larger force....
But in our discussion, we are talking about the ASTROS and other missiles .. are the Malaysians developing it? Nope. They are buying it. And most of the new aquisitions are for foreign stuff like subs, missiles, tanks. Those are not cheap.![]()
and you were trying to tell me their defence budget is so so the low
secondly... becuase their cheaper cost... they could spare more money to buy even more fancy stuff right??
4... lastly... defence expenditure could be hidden and never be declared... thus... who can say... which side is really spending more?? could you?
So the chance of us spending more is just as likely. Especially with the silver bullets many forum members like to mention. It may be that we spend more. Nobody knows. So this statement is as true for them as for us.![]()
thus wont be it foolish to declare outright that we are "overspending" and clamour for cut backs??
and as stated... defence expenditure is based on threat perception and not dependent on land size... malaysia may be 500x larger than singapore... but that does not preclude their ability to mass all their forces in johor... neither does it imply that they might not have actually more forces than those declared...
Friend, already you mentioned earlier when there was a paratroop drop within 10km of JB, we mobilize .. how the heck can they mass all 160k troops to JB without us knowing? And the 160k will face 320k. So what talk you?![]()
me say.... please dont underestimate thy enemy... for it should led to your downfall.....
thus SAF is build with the aim to defend singapore against many threats... percieved or real... malaysia is just one of them... and i hope that malaysia isnt really that stupid to think that singapore is their only enemy... they will regret it.... the more they perceieved us as an enemy... they might really end up getting their wish of seeing SAF coming up north...
In my opinon, the MAF is buying stuff that is to be used for defence of their country. I don't see how they are just defending against Singapore. The stuff that they have is what every modern arm force wants. Is there any thing that they have that works particularly well against us?[/b]
sorry bloke... but it seems that your opinions has been torn to shreds....Originally posted by kenhor:To tripwire,
Thats why I am tell the forum members to agree to disagree. Since you don't know what the Malaysians are spending, whether they are competent or not, my opinion of them being a threat is as valid as anyones elses.
You don't know, and I don't know. So leave it as that.
This entry gives current military expenditures in US dollars; the figure is calculated by multiplying the estimated defense spending in percentage terms by the gross domestic product (GDP) calculated on an exchange rate basis not purchasing power parity (PPP) terms. Dollar figures for military expenditures should be treated with caution because of different price patterns and accounting methods among nations, as well as wide variations in the strength of their currencies.
lol it only got that way cuz they invaded too many people and kenna beat back to present day borders.It's a prob to invade and for them invade as well lah works both waysOriginally posted by Moonstriker:btw talking abt swiss......
been there a couple of years back.....
All the roads leading out to borders of immediate neighbouring countries have been rigged with explosives since ww2 till now.... so... in case they are threatened by lets say.. someone from the north.. they simply need to blow up the roads and paths linking from that direction. Think its rigged like lets say every 50m or so.... ALighted the tourbus and walked to the road... took a photograph of the "sabotage"
Swiss ppl are smart... Their overall terrain is like mountainous and very hilly.... so making it kinda hard for the Germans to invade....
Just my 2 cents.... ^_^ v