Its not probable that Singapore will get the US jets for the A-4 replacements, although that may happen. The reasons have been widely debated in this forum already.Originally posted by Forever84:Too bad singapore will proly buy from US
typhoons r really good
Bush cant delay it too long unless he gets re-electedOriginally posted by kanzer:the purchase has already been widely known. news coming out of KL a couple of days back is widely anticipated i.e in terms of aircraft type and numbers.... there are no surprises...... i do not understand why there all are these excitement and hype about something which is already widely known for months...... judging by the response, are we going to have a big whoohaa in october or lima 03 when the deal is expected to be signed? i think to focus now is when the bush adminstration will go ahead with the super bug sale.....it is widely that 12-18 a/c will be purchase.... but will RMAF buy made in USA a/c or will bush delay the sales for 1-2 years..... emmmmmmm![]()
No , thats the MiG 1.44 or the SU-37 that are design to deal with the F-22.Originally posted by SingaporeMacross:is this the plane that they want to use to kill f22s?
Originally posted by tripwire:Hmm , i believe we can upgrade our F-16 seperately , however a new generation aircraft with a capability that the F-16 can never reach to deal with new threats in the region. ( Old dog , new tricks....?)
if AESA is so damn good... why not simply upgrade our dozens of falcons radar instead??
from a web page:
BLOCK 60 UPGRADE
The Block 60 F-16, which is being developed for the United Arab Emirates, features extra payload and range in part due to the new F110-132 engine being developed by General Electric, which produces 145kN of thrust.
New avionics for the Block 60 includes a higher-speed mission computer, a new display processor, 3 large colour LCD displays, advanced data transfer unit with a fibre-optic data transfer network Precision targeting is achieved by the Northrop Grumman integrated navigation FLIR and targeting FLIR system using mid-wave infrared arrays and Northrop GrummanÂ’s APG-80 agile beam active electronically scanned [b](AESA) radar. Northrop Grumman are also developing a new electronic warfare suite. The 80 Block 60 aircraft for the UAE are scheduled to be delivered between 2004 and 2007.![]()
if all else fail... get the rafale or eurofighter and then get the AESA radar separately lor.... dont tell me SinAero with the full backing of MINDEF and SinTech... cannot do it...![]()
Ha , i think u misunderstand mi.Originally posted by tripwire:please elaborate on how and why the SU 30 is far better then the falcon...
had the 2 ever fought each other before? wats the score?
can 1 SU 30 take on 3 to 5 Falcons at the same time?
since the falcons have went through so much upgrade over the years... why cant it be upgraded even further to match the SU30?
i heard the americans wanna upgrade the falcons further to meet any challenges beyond 2020...
how well will the SU 30 fair against an RSAF falcon with tons of EW equipment, guided by a hawkeye and possibly armed with python 4 with HMS or Derby?
while i have heard that flanker derivative have been know to be very agile in clean configuration... but how agile is it when it is carry bombs, missiles and burning fuel at high speed with probably as many as 3 falcons hot on his tail?![]()
NO NO NO, no can do. RSAF cannot afford to purchase 2 different types. Simply bad for logistics. Furthermore, would we seriously want to test our patience with the supply chain issue that plague our northern neighbour?Originally posted by foxtrout8:The F-16 cant technologically match the Su-30. It will some how be inappropiate to match the F-16 to the SU-30 too. The SU-30 is an air superiority figther ( all of us should know ) , the F-16 is a multiple role fighter , how to match?? Very much , i believe our NGF will be one that can match the SU-30 ( Of course lah! ). So , F-16 Blk60 , Gripen and SuperHornet should be out. F-15 may be reluctantly in , with Rafale ( i frankly see nth special in that aircraft ) , Typhoon and the Su-30/35 in the selection league.
[/quote]
Can't see anything special in Rafale? Perhaps this will change your mind:
http://www.defense-aerospace.com/data/sponsor_rafale/index.htm
In fact, if you do more reading on Rafale, you will find that they are the equal most, if not the most, advanced fighter that come out from Europe right now. The growth path is there. The only real disadvantages (2 of them in my view) are:
1. No foreign sales. Very low local sales. Cost per unit is gonna be high. Darn, the Koreans should have gotten this one
2. Very few Yankees weapon integrated to Rafale. RSAF will have to foot any development cost to integrate US and Israeli made weapons or targetting pods. Might not be that bad if Singapore can stomach it. Given the current economic circumstances, maybe not. However, ST Aero, DSTA, DSO will learn heaps in terms of avionics integration from the access to the source code.
On the other hand, Rafale has the advantage of:
1. Non US made, possibly mean RSAF can get the current best BVR (Mica) to go with.
2. Rafale will too be equipped with an AESA. Like the US AESA, it will be very impressive in many aspect which I am not going to dwell in for the time being.
3. Rafale ECM suite - superb. Even the Yankees are impressed. US will never release an equivalent on their Superbugs.
4. Eurofight is still lacking behind in terms of their availability of the latest technologies plus their delivery schedule.
5. agility better than Superbugs - tested and proven in ACM training between French navy and US navy. Supercruise at Mach 1.1, good range with CFT (will be able to travel much further than Superbug, but will compare less favourably against the Eagles).
6. Stealth second to F22 and F35. RCS smaller than Super bugs and Typhoon.
etc.
[quote]
* I will frankly hope that we select the SU-30/35 together with another western aircraft ( Typhoons anyone? ), upgrade the Su-30/35 and look at the malaysians face.Mr X: ''Look they are trying to be insensitive and unneighbourly again!!!!!''
Actually foxtrout, Rafale vs. the other options have been discussed widely in some of the older threads in Speakers Corner, so I shall not repeat them in detail here, but the nub of the argument for Rafale is:Originally posted by foxtrout8:Black , u have ur point dude , but i will frankly find that other aircraft may be a better option for the RSAF.
Let mi be frank with my opinions
* Other sources offer AESA radar too.
* Our F-16D have a matchable EW suit if compare to the Rafale. The EW suit in Typhoon and Flanker is very impressive too.
* the other souces offer a larger range of new weapon and technologies.
*other sources too offer training facilities.
If we are to compare wat the Rafale have to wat the other aircraft offer to wat the other aircraft have that Rafale dun offer......i dun find Rafale special even it is a capable plane.
Yes. In terms of max range, AMRAAM wins flat out. But even the Americans acknowledge that AMRAAM kill probability is VERY LOW at max range due to poor agility especially at long range. Case in point, Dutch F-16 kill of Serbian MiG-29 over Kosovo 1999, 3 AMRAAMs were launched, 3rd one hit after MiG ran out of energy to defeat AMRAAMs after first 2 were dodged.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:MICA superior to the AMRAAM??
Are you sure?