Depending to who I speak to, I've heard from people supposedly "in the know" or know someone "in the know" say that the winner is the F/A-18E/F, F-15, Rafale or the Typhoon.Originally posted by oceanboi21:i heard from my cousin who is from RSAF attached to USA training.. that.. singapore is GETTING f18 ... bad news for eurofighter fans...
Originally posted by oceanboi21:i heard from my cousin who is from RSAF attached to USA training.. that.. singapore is GETTING f18 ... bad news for eurofighter fans...
Singapore is not the US, we cannot afford dedicated aircraft for every tasking, as such we have to get aircraft which can fulfill a number of roles reasonably well. In fact the US is finding itself in a similar situation, though much less so, hence the scrapping of the EF-111 and letting the Prowler take over USAF EW duties. The trend today is using multirole fighters which can take on air superiority, deep strike, CAS, BAI and a whole lot o other roles. This is evident worldwide, not just restricted to SingaporeOriginally posted by On the way:I think there is somehting wrong here, Are we talking about F-18s, Typhoons, Rafale or F-15s as A-4 Replacements? Is there not something wrong with this picture. The A-4 is a ground attack/CAS aircraft. This is the dirtiest, most dangerous earth moving job you can assign an aircraft. Usually, the cheapest toughest planes get this assignment. In the USAF inventory, this is the F-16 and A-10;s job. U are saying the RSAF is going to use a USD $40 million plane to do the job of a USD $2 million A-4. Wah lau, someone at Tengah fatt tak,meh? What happened to getting some SU-25s, or Hawks?
.......Originally posted by On the way:I think there is somehting wrong here, Are we talking about F-18s, Typhoons, Rafale or F-15s as A-4 Replacements? Is there not something wrong with this picture. The A-4 is a ground attack/CAS aircraft. This is the dirtiest, most dangerous earth moving job you can assign an aircraft. Usually, the cheapest toughest planes get this assignment. In the USAF inventory, this is the F-16 and A-10;s job. U are saying the RSAF is going to use a USD $40 million plane to do the job of a USD $2 million A-4. Wah lau, someone at Tengah fatt tak,meh? What happened to getting some SU-25s, or Hawks?
You are missing the point. It is not as simple as replacing the A4s. It is upgrading as well. Sure, buying Hawks are cheaper, but it gets us nowhere. Whats it got to do with someone at Tengah anyway? Last I heard MINDEF is a long way from Tengah.Originally posted by On the way:I think there is somehting wrong here, Are we talking about F-18s, Typhoons, Rafale or F-15s as A-4 Replacements? Is there not something wrong with this picture. The A-4 is a ground attack/CAS aircraft. This is the dirtiest, most dangerous earth moving job you can assign an aircraft. Usually, the cheapest toughest planes get this assignment. In the USAF inventory, this is the F-16 and A-10;s job. U are saying the RSAF is going to use a USD $40 million plane to do the job of a USD $2 million A-4. Wah lau, someone at Tengah fatt tak,meh? What happened to getting some SU-25s, or Hawks?
Originally posted by Viper52:Singapore is not the US, we cannot afford dedicated aircraft for every tasking, as such we have to get aircraft which can fulfill a number of roles reasonably well. In fact the US is finding itself in a similar situation, though much less so, hence the scrapping of the EF-111 and letting the Prowler take over USAF EW duties. The trend today is using multirole fighters which can take on air superiority, deep strike, CAS, BAI and a whole lot o other roles. This is evident worldwide, not just restricted to Singapore
As for the US$2 million A-4, is that in 1970s dollars?
And besides, CAS is not the A-4s only job. The A-4 in the RSAF has more roles than that.
Haiz...we DO have the high low mix after phasing out the F-5 and A-4.Originally posted by On the way:The fact that we are not as rich as the US is the exact reason why we must have high-low mix. They can afford to commit F-18 to CAS, because they can afford to lose them, We are not so rich as to be able to send these expensive planes for missions that are not ideally suited to them, when in fact the CAS mission can be accomplish by a much cheaper a/c. We will always need a/c to carry out the strategic missions of deep strike, theatre air superiority etc. and that's where the Hornet and planes like that excel. Every single country has high low mix, that has not changed dispite the proliferation of Multi role a/c. We need that do.
Don't get too excited and start rewriting history. The 6 days war between Israeli and the 3 neighbouring Arab countries were fought in 1967. Israeli bomb Iraq nuclear plant in 1980. During the 6 days war, Israeli had predominately French made Mirage 3 and the own copycat version. F16 Vipers were only designed in the mid 1970 and started IOC only in the very late 70, early 80s (about the time RSAF first bought the F5Es).Originally posted by Moonstriker:yeap....
the F-16 can do it... Proven in the 6 day war (i think).... 4 Israeli falcons took off from their bases and overflew 2 countries' airspace to Osarak (not sure abt the spelling) to take out a nuclear plant while flying at treetop height.
I thought the Le Patrouille de France team flies Alpha jets but it is the Red Arrows that flies Hawks.Originally posted by Moonstriker:yeap....
Furthermore we ain't having as many pilots as the US. Eurofighters look cool, stealthy and have very low x-section area compared to the superbug and the eagle. Would op for SU-35 though for air-superiority.. (^_^) v
But if its multi role... the F-16 can do it... Proven in the 6 day war (i think).... 4 Israeli falcons took off from their bases and overflew 2 countries' airspace to Osarak (not sure abt the spelling) to take out a nuclear plant while flying at treetop height.
But singapore might op for the typhoons though. superbugs more suited to carrier launch. Eagles are fine tough proven birds... But they are kinda old and the SU-30 is designed to counter it...
Btw the Hawks and all that... those aircraft mainly for training or acrobatics team like the Le Patrouille de France team...
^_^
Feel free to correct me...
equipment count is an advantage to the pilots....Originally posted by Moonstriker:yes.... but sometimes the equipment counts too..
can't really remember well,, thinkn i read it off Janes or some other defence mags, tot there was this plan to convert A-4SU into unmanned aircraft for recon of as targets for training?Originally posted by Viper52:Singapore is not the US, we cannot afford dedicated aircraft for every tasking, as such we have to get aircraft which can fulfill a number of roles reasonably well. In fact the US is finding itself in a similar situation, though much less so, hence the scrapping of the EF-111 and letting the Prowler take over USAF EW duties. The trend today is using multirole fighters which can take on air superiority, deep strike, CAS, BAI and a whole lot o other roles. This is evident worldwide, not just restricted to Singapore
As for the US$2 million A-4, is that in 1970s dollars?
And besides, CAS is not the A-4s only job. The A-4 in the RSAF has more roles than that.
makes them a tad too lazy sometimes too.. ;>Originally posted by duotiga83:equipment count is an advantage to the pilots....