fighters also happen to cost abit more than cars. . .Originally posted by technowizardry:Better yet, why don't we make our own fighter jets? That way we can make thousands and no one knows... Make it easy to fly and who knows, we might have NSF pilots one day.
After all, pilots are not much more than drivers aren't they?
$200,000 per combat plane/helicopter with the kind of maintenance cost you expect from a toyota? Would the government buy this? It would probably bankrupt our neightbours trying to catch up...Originally posted by laser51088:fighters also happen to cost abit more than cars. . .
but den the damn govt now tax so much difference not that big liao
speaks easy .....but we can only invent uavs first......Originally posted by technowizardry:Better yet, why don't we make our own fighter jets? That way we can make thousands and no one knows... Make it easy to fly and who knows, we might have NSF pilots one day.
After all, pilots are not much more than drivers aren't they?
Hmm....beginning to sound like the Dave brown "Old Dog" concept. Although I love to see such a plane...but it may not be cost effective to maintainÒ�±€ operate. Eats too much gas?Originally posted by tripwire:emmm.... we already dumped rafale... dont think its gonna be coming back for a second wind... but they can always try... who knows... they might get lucky second time round...
anyway... i hope that EF-2000 wins... but others are not bad either...
by the way... since nowadays... BVR is so the important... why dont we buy a few more AWAC and armed them with lots of BVR missile... turns them into instant airborn sentinels...![]()
as BVR weapons range increases even more dramatically... who knows... next time in the future... we wont need fighter planes anymore... if those BVR becomes more accurate and near impossible to jam...
all we need would be large boeing 747 with big big radar and carries hundreds of those BVRs in its hull.... and viola.. we got a flying fortress...![]()
nop....is still under production experiement phaseOriginally posted by AzRaeL:is the JSF F-35 for sale yet?
by saying this...Rafale and the Typhoon seems got potential....but as the writer said, USA source codes indeed does need some improvement though ......Originally posted by cavsg:Singapore Delays Fighter Decision Again
Aviation Week & Space Technology
06/23/2003, page 42
Fighter Delayed Again
The Singapore government has postponed a decision on a new fighter to replace its aging A-4SU Skyhawk by six months.
Defense Minister Cedric Foo said here that all six of the aircraft proposed for the fighter award--the McDonnell Douglas F-16 Block 60, Boeing's F/A-18 E/F and F15S, Dassault Rafale, Eurofighter Typhoon and the Sukhoi Su-35--are still in contention, despite reports that three models, the Rafale, the F/A-18 and the Su-35, had been dropped from consideration. The contractors declined to comment.
French defense officials said their government has offered to share the development cost for improvements in the Rafale to meet RSAF requirements, specifically an active array radar, which is not part of the current export package. Currently, an active scan array is not expected to be ready for the Rafale until 2010-12 (see p. 38 ). However, officials said it could be available by 2008.
Foo said the intention is now to downselect by September, and to make a final selection by mid-2004. The initial plan was to shortlist bidders by the second quarter, and to name the winner in early 2004 (AW&ST Feb. 10, p. 47). Entry into service for the 20 aircraft (ten firm, ten optional) is still planned for 2007. The minister said the thorniest issue remains releasability of source codes, particularly for U.S. suppliers. "The U.S. has been improving on this score, but it's still not perfect."
no leh those big big B767's eat little gas.....very little gas when comepared to a fighter plane.But the fighter plane goes ALOT faster.Originally posted by wombat:Hmm....beginning to sound like the Dave brown "Old Dog" concept. Although I love to see such a plane...but it may not be cost effective to maintainÒ�±€ operate. Eats too much gas?
This is weird man. I almost get a feeling that the mindef/dsta people are like pushing it back just to see what other goodies they can squeeze out of Dassault. If that is true, the Rafale may still be in with a chance, provided they come up with a deal good enough. Aiyah..., who knows, maybe they've already decided.... just keeping it open just to make the suppliers more kancheong....Originally posted by cavsg:Singapore Delays Fighter Decision Again
Aviation Week & Space Technology
06/23/2003, page 42
Fighter Delayed Again
The Singapore government has postponed a decision on a new fighter to replace its aging A-4SU Skyhawk by six months.
Defense Minister Cedric Foo said here that all six of the aircraft proposed for the fighter award--the McDonnell Douglas F-16 Block 60, Boeing's F/A-18 E/F and F15S, Dassault Rafale, Eurofighter Typhoon and the Sukhoi Su-35--are still in contention, despite reports that three models, the Rafale, the F/A-18 and the Su-35, had been dropped from consideration. The contractors declined to comment.
French defense officials said their government has offered to share the development cost for improvements in the Rafale to meet RSAF requirements, specifically an active array radar, which is not part of the current export package. Currently, an active scan array is not expected to be ready for the Rafale until 2010-12 (see p. 38 ). However, officials said it could be available by 2008.
Foo said the intention is now to downselect by September, and to make a final selection by mid-2004. The initial plan was to shortlist bidders by the second quarter, and to name the winner in early 2004 (AW&ST Feb. 10, p. 47). Entry into service for the 20 aircraft (ten firm, ten optional) is still planned for 2007. The minister said the thorniest issue remains releasability of source codes, particularly for U.S. suppliers. "The U.S. has been improving on this score, but it's still not perfect."
i think next r AA shld b able to give us an ans.....Originally posted by Viper52:I hate to ask this again, but what of the naval helicopter?![]()
rsaf getting RFI for the s211 replacement rite now i think.....Originally posted by cavsg:another competition coming up should be the lead in fighter/trainer to replace TA-4SU. Maybe all might go to NFTC instead of getting a trainer.
Not that many contenders in the LIFT market now, I can think of the Hawk, the T-50, the L-159, the Russian one (MiG-AT or Yak-130 I don't know). Anything else?Originally posted by duotiga83:rsaf getting RFI for the s211 replacement rite now i think.....![]()
speaking of which, can someone please tell me the diff between the different capablities between the cougar and the NH-90? i not a very good weapons-nut, and not quite sure what the differences are in terms of capability. Somebody told me that the two are quite close? And that both are under Eurocopter's wing.... aren't they sabo-ing themselves by having to support two similar platforms? Hopefully somebody who has more knowledge can show me the light?Originally posted by Viper52:I hate to ask this again, but what of the naval helicopter?![]()
i will go for the MAKO , her capabilities are very good , if im not wrong she is currently unmatched in capability. She is one of the very few trainers that have a true fighter capability with stealth features.......Originally posted by Viper52:Not that many contenders in the LIFT market now, I can think of the Hawk, the T-50, the L-159, the Russian one (MiG-AT or Yak-130 I don't know). Anything else?
I don't think NFTC is a long-term solution, for one thing the Hawks don't belong to us, therefore we can't use them as and when we like, and wouldn't having to send pilots all the way over to Canada be expensive to do so all the time? Maybe get the LIFT and base a detachment somewhere else with another small detechment here might be a better solution

NFTC offers many advantages, first the fleet of aircraft is shared by nations that participate. Its like going to tutorials in schools, the timetable takes care of the availability. Cost is lower, sending pilots there and taking care of their lodging is pennies compared to maintaining a fleet of aircraft. And there is no need for ground crew. FTS is going towards using civilian ground crews. With N FTC, rsaf don't have to deploy its own enginerring people. With several nations using the program the cost is spread among each other. The training area is superb, its the size of france and germany which allows students to practise long range strike and nav. Interaction with other NATO forces.... And we are already in the program, any decision will be based on current experience in NFTC.Originally posted by Viper52:I don't think NFTC is a long-term solution, for one thing the Hawks don't belong to us, therefore we can't use them as and when we like, and wouldn't having to send pilots all the way over to Canada be expensive to do so all the time? Maybe get the LIFT and base a detachment somewhere else with another small detechment here might be a better solution
somehow, i think it is the plane we'll choose too... the main reason is becoz most of the parts are inter-exchageable with our current fleet of f-16... that makes maintenance much much easier... besides, flight crews, from ground crew to pilots, dun need to retrain again to fly the planes... the controls are basically the same and the weapon ports too... choosing the block 60 will give us the technology we so yearned for and yet help us save cost on training... saves fuel too, compared to the f-15...Originally posted by Shotgun:I seriously suspect the F-16 Block 60 being the "already" decided winner. That thing gives us a lot of new capabilities.
i am doubt that F-16C/D Block 60 be choosen though it saves the logisit and maintance. I personally thinks that operate single type of a/c is kinda risky as if 1 plane is to be grounded, the whole squadrons have to be grounded for checking. Take the chinook as the example. Even as we join the F-35 program, the export can only be started around 2010-12 onwards and the A-4SU replacement right now will also efects the F-5S/T replacement also. Even that i personally think use the blk 60 as the stop-gap between these two era of a/c(A-4SU/F-5 and F-35) rather than replace the A-4SU.Originally posted by alphanumeric:somehow, i think it is the plane we'll choose too... the main reason is becoz most of the parts are inter-exchageable with our current fleet of f-16... that makes maintenance much much easier... besides, flight crews, from ground crew to pilots, dun need to retrain again to fly the planes... the controls are basically the same and the weapon ports too... choosing the block 60 will give us the technology we so yearned for and yet help us save cost on training... saves fuel too, compared to the f-15...![]()