yah but most buggers won't shoot without a butt lah..... was just play with my carbine in those NS days....Originally posted by Tango1:Yeah...I tried taking out the buttstock before and shooting it...hurts like crazy...and that was only blanks too!! ouch
You're right though. The carbine isn't that accurate as compared to the M-16 let alone the SAR-21. But the purpose of it is simply compact handling, esp. for Armour crewmen, BRCs, and sometimes, Cdos. 300m effective range? Can do lah...most engagements in jungle warfare take place at less than 100 metres...I dunno, but the carbine is pretty fun to shoot once you know how to handle the 'kick'. The 'crack' of the weapon when firing is distinctively louder and higher pitched than the M-16. Wah lau, no ear plugs cannot man...
Wish I had the chance to play with the SAR-21. I wonder if reservists would all convert to SAR-21 also? Or done already?
Heh heh...didn't we all play with our carbines? Macam new toy as compared to BMT M-16s...lol. It was a noveltyOriginally posted by Silenthunter:yah but most buggers won't shoot without a butt lah..... was just play with my carbine in those NS days....
I think tangos will stick to carbine thoughout their NS lifes......but if got sar21, dunno the scope is strong enough to be use to recce for baddies or not...
Heh heh...didn't we all play with our carbines? Macam new toy as compared to BMT M-16s...lol. It was a novelty....lighter for SOC runs, route marches, guard duty, missions, etc...when it came to ORD shoot though, suddenly everyone wanted an M-16 again to win prize money...lolOriginally posted by Silenthunter:yah but most buggers won't shoot without a butt lah..... was just play with my carbine in those NS days....
I think tangos will stick to carbine thoughout their NS lifes......but if got sar21, dunno the scope is strong enough to be use to recce for baddies or not...
Technology is extremely importanty in war... there has been a lot of macho talk attempting to downplay the role of technology in G.F.2, siting isloated examples of how low tech beats high tech. But stepping back to look at the big picture, it's easy to see how high technology hopelessly outclasses the losing side.Originally posted by Tango1:No weapon is fool-proof. I don't doubt your claims but I would argue that technology does not account for most eventualities that might occur in a shooting war. So its a high-tech weapon. So? It still requires the individual grunt to go out there and face the enemy to use it. What happens when its damaged? As compared to replacing an ordinary assault rifle? A guerilla armed with an AK have a good chance of getting an OICW-armed soldier too. Its just a matter of tactics. Even the best technology out there in Iraq has not prevented weekly ambushes of the coalition forces, or bagged the head honcho...yet.
I don't doubt that technology is important in a war. But like I said earlier, technology forms only a component of it. Tactics are important. If technology was that good, then why did the U.S. fail in locating Mohamed Farah Aidid in Mogadishu in 1993? What abt Osama and Saddam? Have they found them yet? Technology is important in conventional settings, but go down to a low-intensity conflict, its still the man-to-man firefight that determines the outcome. And LICs are the mainstay of 21st century conflict. No guerilla is gonna go head-on with a superior-technology armed soldier. They are gonna try other avenues of zapping an OICW-equipped soldier. Ambush, sniping, you name it...Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Technology is extremely importanty in war... there has been a lot of macho talk attempting to downplay the role of technology in G.F.2, siting isloated examples of how low tech beats high tech. But stepping back to look at the big picture, it's easy to see how high technology hopelessly outclasses the losing side.
The entire idea of the OICW is not to be put in the hands of normal grunts like you. It is supposed to be a part of the new Land Warrior System they are putting in. And yes, the OICW is actually cheaper then the M-16 and 203 when you add all the stuff on. And far more effective.
But of course, the military is a conservative organization, left you your own devices, you would still be using muskets now. There is no excuse for it, better technology must be developed. And you can use you old M-16 that fires a dumb, slow projectile, and rely on your own muddled unaided eyes in the future world of smart, hyperkenitic munitions and electronic sensors if you want, but I doubt you will survive long.
[/i]
tough time dun last tough men do.Originally posted by |-|05|:.The land warrior system was to help soldiers from getting into 3-1 situations by telling all friendly forces where he is so they can support him.....if everyone is dead liao it doesnt matter if he has the M-16 m203 combo he is screwed anyway.

[/img]The entire idea of developing OICW and Land Warrior systems is to overcome the enemy by information dominance.Originally posted by Tango1:I don't doubt that technology is important in a war. But like I said earlier, technology forms only a component of it. Tactics are important. If technology was that good, then why did the U.S. fail in locating Mohamed Farah Aidid in Mogadishu in 1993? What abt Osama and Saddam? Have they found them yet? Technology is important in conventional settings, but go down to a low-intensity conflict, its still the man-to-man firefight that determines the outcome. And LICs are the mainstay of 21st century conflict. No guerilla is gonna go head-on with a superior-technology armed soldier. They are gonna try other avenues of zapping an OICW-equipped soldier. Ambush, sniping, you name it...
To the extent that the OICW was successful against two snipers, we have to ask ourselves under what conditions did the engagement take place? Terrain? Weather? Will future combat conditions mimic the conditions of wargames? I don't doubt its success, but seeing is believing...so until we see that the OICW is combat-proven, it is hard to believe the claims made of this weapon.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:The entire idea of developing OICW and Land Warrior systems is to overcome the enemy by information dominance.
That means that ambushing and sniping attempts on OICW Land Warriors is far harder and more dangerous now.
Recently they ran an interesting wargame engagement of several paradropped Land Warriors versus two snipers. Using their thermal sights to peer out of cover without exposing themselves, the Land Warriors took out the first sniper at 300 meters and chased the second one down and "killed" him.
Information dominance is what the US is aming for, not having bigger and better guns, you can't ambush their troops easily some time in a future battle field if you have dozens of sensors in UCAVs and such covering your every position. That's the gist of the 21st century battlefield. To remove as much of the fog of war as possible until your enemy who does not have this ability is obviously outwitted.
Well said , well said.Originally posted by Tango1:Sun Tzu himself said that the enemy has no shape just like water...so we have to adapt to changing situations. In this sense, we cannot simply assume that technology alone would win a conflict for us.![]()
He said something abt thermal imaging, prob thats how they spotted the snipers, i dunno.Originally posted by alphanumeric:hey hey... i'm interested in knowing more about the landwarrior systems... can somebody provide good links for me please?
s'pore tyrannosaurus, about that part that landwarriors are harder to ambush and snipe, what is the basis for that statement?does this mean that a soldier equipped with landwarrior combat system can be alerted to such threats automatically?