clothing niah mah...not majiam kevlar vest.Originally posted by Icemoon:Wah power, you mean you can buy for us? Or you're selling us your clothes?
I think buy the slacks can liao, wear the whole set people thought you're a terrorist. Hahah ..
yes. STAR = SWAT. imho, the recent hostage taking incident was a failure as the 2 hostages escaped by themselves....not rescued by STAR. 3 hrs elapsed....a time far too long.Originally posted by wuming78:actualli STAR is quite an unknown team?
so comparing SOF and STAR, who does wat? sq 117 was SOF not STAR rite?
i guess STAR is machiam like SWAT?
headshot tangoes....if got then on the news liao loh..Originally posted by Icemoon:I guess the baddies in this case did not pose an immediate, dangerous threat, hence the police do not want to play too big?
Have STAR executed any live ops before? Have they headshot any bad guys with their MP5? I can't remember any. In contrast, it's headshot all for SQ117 terrorists, by SOF.
Hey the tiger uniform, quote us a price bah. You can PM me if you like.
Our STAR can do vessel boarding too, hence the maritime assault capability mah...Originally posted by Icemoon:Anyway who does shipboarding (VBSS) in Singapore? I have impression it is those NDU people.
STAR was operational from 1993 onwards til now. They have divers and assaulters/maritime assaulters (boatmen). Thought the STAR webby got say ? But SAF's NDU/SDU use silenced weapons loh....correct me if i am wrong.Originally posted by bcoy:During the SQ117 incident - STAR was not operational yet. I was among the other units activated at that time.
Anyway, what about STAR's diving and maritime abilities?
Yes, from the website they have divers and maritime ops. I take it that the divers are used for covert ship boarding? Also, ship boarding is one thing - what about hostage rescue? I had always assume that the NDU handles these situations. You from the police force?Originally posted by chunyong:STAR was operational from 1993 onwards til now. They have divers and assaulters/maritime assaulters (boatmen). Thought the STAR webby got say ? But SAF's NDU/SDU use silenced weapons loh....correct me if i am wrong.
by the way, the negotiation went on so long in 1991 is for them to 'insert' ISD staff into the planes, majiam 1 for 1 exchange with the passengers. ISD staff once inside, begin to give intel on the location of the tangoes blahblahblah so the SOF will know where to storm the plane from. During hostage situation, the longer u delay, the more killing-prone the tangoes get....delay is normally the last option and is undesirable.Originally posted by Icemoon:I think as long as the police negotiater and the commander on spot believe that the baddies do not show signs of immediate compulsive behavior, they'll still try to psycho the baddies into giving up? Usually they will ascertain the mental state of the baddies and whether anyone has been injured. But if the baddies started killing people, I guess it's GO GO GO for STAR
It's the same for SOF in 1991. They negotiated for one whole night before the terrorists threatened to kill someone every 10 minutes. Before that, they threw the chief steward out of the plane (the poor guy suffered back injury). Guess what? GO GO GO for SOF ...
Thanks. I'll like to see the picture.
STAR officers have body armour, even if it is Level 1 BA, .38 Spl Rds still can't penetrate...unless its to the head or multiple shots. No comments abt the incident. If the incident is true, it makes me doubt their capabilities even more.Originally posted by eurofighter:I think a STAR member died in the line of duty. I cannot remember clearly but many years back, I watched a crime watch episode. There was this drug addict who stabbed a police officer, snatched his revolver and ran off. The officer was seriously wounded. The police activated STAR and they began hunting for this armed and dangerous man. There was a shootout in a forest and one STAR member was shot dead. His team members then finished him off. Anyone remember this incident?
not mad guy, they armed suspect is a PO from CID. He was caught for shoplifting, then he took out his service revolver and scare the shop owner. after that, he make his escape. Officers from SOC and STAR was activated as a result. They did not locate him there, he was nabbed in his own house.Originally posted by |-|05|:STAR got used quite often......that time got 1 mad man running around in the HDB area with a gun they used the STAR to catch him...surprising there seemed to be alot of them leh...i saw like 30+++ combing the area....
If I remember correctly, all of them, including the gunman, were in a prone position. So it should be a headshot. ANyway that STAR guy received a full state burial.Originally posted by chunyong:STAR officers have body armour, even if it is Level 1 BA, .38 Spl Rds still can't penetrate...unless its to the head or multiple shots. No comments abt the incident. If the incident is true, it makes me doubt their capabilities even more.