now what Rank ? Stuck Sarjernt or Super Stuck Sarjernt ? ha...or Cobbler ?Originally posted by koxinga:ic. me, it comes from my dealings with them as part of work.
more than that lah.....Originally posted by koxinga:Oh yes, STAR officers are reasonable well paid above your average PO. Their hardship allowance is alot. Can't remember, i think $500. Puts them right into the CAD and SecCom range.
Join the Police Force, be a Force for the Nation!![]()
Police NS, YES.Originally posted by Moonstriker:haha thought of goin for police le... for moi ns hopefully go police![]()
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Originally posted by Icemoon:I am thinking hor, since STAR officers are police officers, do they follow the miranda law? (Opps, this is a US term, wonder Singapore got or not?)
I always have the impression SWAT people still can point their MP5 at you and negotiate, like in the SWAT game. However, if SOF point their MP5, then you 101% mati liao.
Haiz ... if STAR selection so siong, might as well join SOF. Haha ... the SOF guys have a bigger and more equipped armoury.![]()
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Originally posted by eurofighter:I think a STAR member died in the line of duty. I cannot remember clearly but many years back, I watched a crime watch episode. There was this drug addict who stabbed a police officer, snatched his revolver and ran off. The officer was seriously wounded. The police activated STAR and they began hunting for this armed and dangerous man. There was a shootout in a forest and one STAR member was shot dead. His team members then finished him off. Anyone remember this incident?
Nah. The incident I mentioned was way before this incident.Originally posted by xiao wei *:------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If i remembered correctly, what u have mention is two different incidents. NO STAR poeple got killed. I think the 2 incidents 1 of the baddie was arrested and 1 killed himself with a police revovler
nowadays, appearance very important. whats really inside isn't important.....what you see is only the surface and is only a small fraction of whats SPF is really abt.Originally posted by xiao wei *:i visited their web and was really impress by their acheivements. They really have done a good job. I think the police force must be very proud to have them around and of course not forgetting the entire force they too have done pretty well themselve for keeping s'pore one the safest nation. GOOD JOB TO ALL THE MEN AND WOMEN in the police.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------Originally posted by chunyong:nowadays, appearance very important. whats really inside isn't important.....what you see is only the surface and is only a small fraction of whats SPF is really abt.
i WAS from the force. without violating OSA, life as a 'normal' policeman is tough, long and irregular working hours, shift work is another thing. jobscope is also bao-ka-liao as you can see from newspaper, your neighbourhood etc etc. and we are a big family....Originally posted by xiao wei *:--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So how is it like to b in the force? anyway are u from the force?
actually i preety much like what the STAR are doing. Hope to b in the unit. Do they accept female. I know that in the u.s swat they have female officers joining teh team, how abt here in SPF?Originally posted by chunyong:i WAS from the force. without violating OSA, life as a 'normal' policeman is tough, long and irregular working hours, shift work is another thing. jobscope is also bao-ka-liao as you can see from newspaper, your neighbourhood etc etc. and we are a big family....![]()
So you have served the force during yr NS.no wonder you seems to know so much about star. seems that you dun really like them o the force from the way you wrote.Originally posted by chunyong:i WAS from the force. without violating OSA, life as a 'normal' policeman is tough, long and irregular working hours, shift work is another thing. jobscope is also bao-ka-liao as you can see from newspaper, your neighbourhood etc etc. and we are a big family....![]()
ok. but seriously if they needed female i would like to join them. it will b cool to go hunting down the baddies.Originally posted by chunyong:I am neutral about them serious....abt females joining STAR....don't lah....due to the following reasons
1) OC/CS spoils ur newly rebonded hair
2) You won't fit the body armour well also...
3) Wait your pretty face gets 'damaged' how ?
why don't you join Security Command ? haha...
as for the gear no worry cos they have body armour for nice lady like me( show a few in the net). for the hair? STAR pay good to the officers right., so that solve the problem.Originally posted by chunyong:I am neutral about them serious....abt females joining STAR....don't lah....due to the following reasons
1) OC/CS spoils ur newly rebonded hair
2) You won't fit the body armour well also...
3) Wait your pretty face gets 'damaged' how ?
why don't you join Security Command ? haha...
wah lau, of cos i'm joking in my post lah...u have no sense of humour. plus who would choose people by ratio...if choose by ratio its not selection liao. anyway, the cut-off is abt 6/7 loh....SOF maybe 9/10 ? who knowsOriginally posted by duajia:It was never by ratio...they wouldn't risk selecting you if you are not qualified enough. Cause that will endanger your whole team when you go for real ops.