sometimes the gov tries to make the situation look pretty.Originally posted by NathanG5:http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/52548/1/.html
SINGAPORE: Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean on Thursday revealed that unauthorised training caused the death of a national serviceman, Second Sergeant Hu Enhuai who died on August 21 during a Combat Survival Training course.
Speaking in Parliament Rear-Admiral Teo said there was an extremely serious lapse of conduct in the training.
Advertisement
Investigations revealed that his head had been submerged underwater four times.
This is not allowed under the training and the cause of death was asphyxia and near drowning.
In a ministerial statement in Parliament, Rear Admiral Teo said the incident was a stain on the SAF and it should never have happened.
"This is an extremely serious lapse in the conduct of the training. It should never have happened. MINDEF takes the gravest possible view of the matter. I am determined to establish the full facts of how such an unauthorised act occurred and to identify the persons responsible for it.
"I have convened a Higher Board of Inquiry to do so. Investigations are also being conducted by the Criminal Investigation Department of the Police, and there will be a coroner's inquiry. The results of these investigations will be made public. Any SAF personnel who have been negligent or culpable will be held to account and punished according to the law," he added
Admiral Teo also said after the incident, Mindef had suspended five instructors who conducted the training.
Four others have also been relieved of their duties, including the Commanding Officer of the School of Commando Training while the Chief Commando Officer has been removed. - CNA
My Mister. IT WAS UNAUTHORISEDOriginally posted by 35MM Gunner:i tink if da instructors were 2 b charged wit manslaughter it is 2 heavy a charge
nobody wants tis 2 happen and who wud expect it 2 happen
It is important to remember that the SAF has to train our soldiers as they will fight. The harder and more realistically we train them, the more likely they are to fight well and survive when called upon to defend the nation. The training also has to be conducted professionally and safely. MINDEF therefore constantly aims to strike the right balance between training realism and safety. We take all the safety precautions and measures feasible to minimise risks. But in the nature of military training, there will always remain some risks which cannot be completely eliminated.![]()
no, it was unauthorised training. I know that is a fact. They did not follow SOP procedures.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:sometimes the gov tries to make the situation look pretty.
unauth training my arse... more likely was some official throw weight around n accidentally torture that guy to death..
i hope the results appear soon
these mus be quite long ago? but i dun realli understand.. how come hes from the guards AND ndu at the same time?Originally posted by cavsg:I once heard from a Guards 3SG during my NS that before he got posted to airforce as an RP section leader. He was with the Naval Diving Unit, that time he was in charge of taking care of NSF direct entry BMT. He told us that during every PT, there would be one ambulance waiting at the field and at least one would end up at sick bay after PT. Not that they PT was very tough but the PTI beat up those guys. The officers never took action and allowed it to happend and one day he could not take it anymore and fought with a PTI during PT, the navy posted him to the airforce. He told us how the recruits only had 10 mins to eat their meals and once sit down to eat they had to finish and fall in in 10 mins. He was very sad looking at that. Those recurits were like in hell and he commented how we airforce guys were in heaven. During his guards training, his friend died during the 10km run test and he was just meters from the finish line when he collapse. That guy died on the puma and the army never gave recog him as a guardsmen posthumously when he had completed almost every test and just shy of the 10km finish line. I guess that 3SG ORD bitter about the SAF.
just wondering if that occured quite sometime ago. cos more stuff seem to get in the news recently. . .Originally posted by cavsg:I once heard from a Guards 3SG during my NS that before he got posted to airforce as an RP section leader. He was with the Naval Diving Unit, that time he was in charge of taking care of NSF direct entry BMT. He told us that during every PT, there would be one ambulance waiting at the field and at least one would end up at sick bay after PT. Not that they PT was very tough but the PTI beat up those guys. The officers never took action and allowed it to happend and one day he could not take it anymore and fought with a PTI during PT, the navy posted him to the airforce. He told us how the recruits only had 10 mins to eat their meals and once sit down to eat they had to finish and fall in in 10 mins. He was very sad looking at that. Those recurits were like in hell and he commented how we airforce guys were in heaven. During his guards training, his friend died during the 10km run test and he was just meters from the finish line when he collapse. That guy died on the puma and the army never gave recog him as a guardsmen posthumously when he had completed almost every test and just shy of the 10km finish line. I guess that 3SG ORD bitter about the SAF.
cos when he pass out as guards saf, post him to ndu, he also dun know why, after the fight he end up at rsaf. i think that time ndu start having nsf intake and need people to take care of recruits so ask army for help.Originally posted by wuming78:these mus be quite long ago? but i dun realli understand.. how come hes from the guards AND ndu at the same time?
Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:seems like most in here r 4 lax trg during NS
then may b it will b betta if we dun need 2 go thru ns at all?????
4 wats da use if u go thru NS but da trg is lax?????
then when war comes (in da event it really happens) b 4 our soldiers can fire da 1st shot he will RECEIVE da 1st shot instead?????
then who 2 b blamed then?????
da instructors?????
for they din train their trainees well enuff?????
its true tat its a tragic thing tat happened
but it is also their duty 2 train personnel under their charge so tat they can best defend our country when da need arises
i must admit tat since da findings have found tat they have done wrong they must face da consequences
but 2 put them behind bars i think its a little extreme
y not instead halt their promotion or face an early discharge or b posted out 2 some other unit or may b reduced 2 doin clerical duties
w/o da instructors who will train our soldiers?????
i'm not dis agreeing wit tis but wat assurance do we have tat in the event we r captured, our enemies do not use tis on us?????Originally posted by the Bear:thing is this: is there any reason to simulate drowning?
eh mister.... u keep thinking its a small matter to take a human life right? halt promotion? please lah... u certain dun understand the gravity of the situation right?Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:then who 2 b blamed then?????
da instructors?????
for they din train their trainees well enuff?????
its true tat its a tragic thing tat happened
but it is also their duty 2 train personnel under their charge so tat they can best defend our country when da need arises
Originally posted by wuming78:sha yi jing bai?
hm.. thinking further, what was done seem to be contradiction.
its [b]unauthorised trg tt killed the serviceman. unauthorised o cos means no permission was given.
in tt case removing the very head of the fmn wont do much good? its more likely than not tt he is oso in the dark.
he jus suay suay din impress upon his men enuff abt sticking to guidelines. or he suay suay kanna over zealous men. [/b]
Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:i'm not dis agreeing on tis but wat assurances do we have tat in da event we r captured our enemies do not use tis on us?????
i believe tat trainees have 2 go thru every possible scenario so tat if they r captured they will b prepared and b able 2 handle da situation?????
i haf to disagree wif u on this. although we seek realism in peacetime trg, it does not mean we go full fledge. tt is why even our live firings are so controlled and only certain units with certain readiness can conduct more liberal L/F. the balance between realism and safety is fine, hence the need for trg guidelines and safety regulations.Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:i'm not dis agreeing on tis but wat assurances do we have tat in da event we r captured our enemies do not use tis on us?????
i believe tat trainees have 2 go thru every possible scenario so tat if they r captured they will b prepared and b able 2 handle da situation?????
hey tell u wad lah... next time u go stand at the range for ppl to shoot at. then realistic lah! then u'll "b prepared and b able 2 handle da situation" lah!Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:i'm not dis agreeing on tis but wat assurances do we have tat in da event we r captured our enemies do not use tis on us?????
Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:seems like every 1 here is some how in some way biased against da SAF thus resulting in a 1 sided opinionon wat happened
as such i dun see n e point in tryin 2 reason da rationale behind all tat has happened![]()
Actually, the one who doesn't "get it" is you.Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:seems like every 1 here is some how in some way biased against da SAF thus resulting in a 1 sided opinion on wat happened
as such i dun see n e point in tryin 2 reason da rationale behind all tat has happened which wuz my intent all along![]()