35MM gunner i agree with you 100%Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:theres always 2 sides 2 a coin and its up 2 each individual to choose either heads or tails
some mayb more sympathetic while others simply believe tat they were just doin their job (albeit a little over zealous)
i do not deny da fact tat a life is precious but we must also understand tat those involved have a task 2 fulfil (in tis case 2 impart wat knowledge they have 2 da future generations of soldiers)
i know tat most in here will stand on da side of a fallen comrade some may even know him personally
but has it eva occured 2 u tat there r also ppl who know da instructors?????
they did go over board when conducting trg but thousands have gone thru da same ting some even worse
ask ur selves y did they do tat?????
b coz they like it?????
did it occur 2 u tat they r actually prolonging their lives?????
i know many of u here dun tink so
but i do
lets face da facts nobody in their right frame of mind wans 2 take ppl's lives
but can we say da same for our captors?????
some may b thinkin tat y not just conduct da theory aspect of tis cse and skip da practical part
how do u know wat 2 do if u dun have 'hands on' experience?????
wat good izzit if u just talk da talk but u dun walk da walk
i know i'm not da most popular in here but wat i'm tryin 2 put across is tat we shld see wats on da other side of da fence and try not 2 b prejudicial
i know some of u r gonna make personal attacks
tats fine
i have nth 2 say as its ur choice
its ur mouth (in tis case ur hands doin da typing) and tat can only say so much
regarding tis pt i tink instructors r impartial (may b i'm wrong)Originally posted by NathanG5:maybe difference standard is giving to Cdos,Gds and Recon troopers?
if the 81th CST course is for Recon troopers..the course will be softer?
82th will harder becos it Cdos?
so which is which?
arrr..precisely thats what im gona say..Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:regarding tis pt i tink instructors r impartial (may b i'm wrong)
i admit diff batch has diff instructors and their trg methods may differ
but if u say tat personnel from diff units/voc r treated diff then wudnt u tink tat they will b harder on da CDOs?????
its a known fact tat every 1 tinks tat da CDOs r da best
every 1 play an impt role in a war right down 2 da admin staff
its like if 1 part of ur body is not workin then ur not whole
i believe tat at da end of da day we wan our troops 2 attain 1 objective
and tats 2 defeat our enemies
and coz of tat all our SAF personnel r treated da same
Originally posted by wuming78:ppl are advised to seek MP as last resort. and they wont get charged for seeking MP. anyway i think even at tt time, if they realli went to see MP they wont get charged. the MP wil be alerted the first time. if the MP finds out the person got charged for seeing him wat wil he do?
Thank you wuming78 & NathanG5. Anyway, its all in the past for me, but at least I know things better.Originally posted by NathanG5:alot of backside gona be fried...if that NSF kena charge..
there is nothing wrong with seeing the MP...at most u kena abit of harsh words while you are back in camp..
chain of command is break frequently..even in the senior command..
so there shld not be any double standard..
yea..seen some like that before...Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:i wudnt say tat they r not impartial
may b they r more passionate and enthusiastic bout their job resulting in them being hardcore.
yah lor i tot it was over.Originally posted by kopiosatu:disagreements not over yet ah????? wah piang oi~!
Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:By your flawed reasoning, I ought to be siding with the instructor.
i know tat most in here will stand on da side of a fallen comrade some may even know him personally
but has it eva occured 2 u tat there r also ppl who know da instructors?????
some may b thinkin tat y not just conduct da theory aspect of tis cse and skip da practical partBy the same argument, we should issue faulty parachutes so that we can be sure that Airborne trainees know the reserve drill.
how do u know wat 2 do if u dun have 'hands on' experience?????
wat good izzit if u just talk da talk but u dun walk da walk
Originally posted by 35MM Gunner:its ur mouth (in tis case ur hands doin da typing) and tat can only say so much
well said my fren..Originally posted by laser51088:the way i see it, i think the 3 of u (gedakan,nathanG5, 35mm) (sorry abt spelling) are all assuming the other party is going the extreme.
maybe consider it this way, the CST course is a necessary 'evil' if u want the cdos to survive under trying conditions. however, it shouldn't be done to such an extreme that it goes beyond clearly stated restrictions to the extent of jeopardising the lives of the trainees. but i do agree with those above who stated that maybe 7 casualties indicates that something should not have been done during that particular course.
however, i may also be wrong: perhaps previous similar courses have similar casualty rates, just that there are no deaths, so the public wasn't informed.
anyway, if the regulations are such that they only cover the asses of the higher-ups, then perhaps the death of one trainee is that only way o ensure that regulations are in line with what takes place DURING the actual course itself. otherwise, why are those lines of words called 'regulations' in the first place?
just my POV, note that i'm 15, never been to NS (yet), so i may be wrong on everything. . . just voicing an opinion, thats all.
haha... yah loh... anyway i dun care what those ppl who keep trying to justify all this shit say..... MINDEF has declared the instructors wrong, and thats the last and final word. They WILL get punished heavily because they deserve it. There is no justification for taking a human life during training. So be it. They can debate with me as much as they want, but changes will be made... the course HAS been suspended, like it or not. AND the instructors WILL be punished, like it or not too.Originally posted by kopiosatu:disagreements not over yet ah????? wah piang oi~!
Originally posted by HENG@:haha... yah loh... anyway i dun care what those ppl who keep trying to justify all this shit say..... MINDEF has declared the instructors wrong, and thats the last and final word. They WILL get punished heavily because they deserve it. There is no justification for taking a human life during training. So be it. They can debate with me as much as they want, but changes will be made... the course HAS been suspended, like it or not. AND the instructors WILL be punished, like it or not too.
No, in principle, the course is not impractical - the current practice, however, is something I strongly disagree with.Originally posted by NathanG5:Gedanken
from your reply to 35mm Gunner..
i guess u mean that CST course is impractical?
or something else..pls correct me..thanx