Dunno abt 1998, but in the 80's, SAF actually went into Defcon 3 for the first time.Originally posted by eurofighter:I think i heard sometime in 1998 around there right?

Defcon stand for Defence condition. It has 5 level. Read below:Originally posted by snk86:define defcon 3 lei.......
Defense readiness conditions (DEFCONs) describe progressive alert postures primarily for use between the Joint Chiefs of Staff and the commanders of unified commands. DEFCONs are graduated to match situations of varying military severity, and are numbered 5,4,3,2, and 1 as appropriate. DEFCONs are phased increases in combat readiness. In general terms, these are descriptions of DEFCONs:Dun ask me more abt SAF defcon condition, becos it is sensitive.
DEFCON 5 Normal peacetime readiness
DEFCON 4 Normal, increased intelligence and strengthened security measures
DEFCON 3 Increase in force readiness above normal readiness
DEFCON 2 Further Increase in force readiness, but less than maximum readiness
DEFCON 1 Maximum force readiness.

http://www.fas.org/nuke/guide/usa/c3i/defcon.htmOriginally posted by snk86:define defcon 3 lei.......
oh, you mean you guys also fimiliar with this incident?Originally posted by gary1910:I think the incident you mentioned,the SAF still in in his infancy. Not really a threat to MY yet.
Nowadays, I believe the SAF is a bit kiasu, lot of standby since 911.Originally posted by 12qwaszx:there was once in the recent years, I don't know defcon what, but i was on course at that time. One of my instructors (SSG) told us that he was deployed with full operational status waiting only for the button to be pressed.
After 9/11, status have been increased significantly. Everyone is ready for anything, anytime. MINDEF even issued ROEs. Ok, no more from me, I don't want to spend my life in prison without trial.![]()
when nothing happenz, ppl say SAF iz kiasu. when thingz happen, they kpkb say precautionz not enuff...Originally posted by gary1910:Nowadays, I believe the SAF is a bit kiasu, lot of standby since 911.
NS men went back camp to sit around, best money you can ever earn.![]()
I wont count on a 3rd country man. If SAF still have to depend on this avenue, then sibei lao kui.Originally posted by Tango1:thought about this before...and the interesting question is, what about those that are overseas? How will they get back to S'pore in time to report to their units? What if their unit has already ceased to exist? What if S'pore is already under seige?....
I think for all of us that are overseas, the best way to volunteer and defend our country is not flying back in small groups or anything, but to report to our embassies in whichever country we are in. Then maybe to congregate in a S'pore-friendly country (the U.S. would be a good choice) and seek their assistance in both providing material (uniforms, equipment, weapons, etc), training facilities to refresh our skills, build up fitness, and coordinate our tasks, and eventually, transport...The U.S. did that for the Cuban exiles in the Bay of Pigs invasion...
Since we all hold different vocations and ranks, and there's so many of us overseas, I think we may be able to scrounge up at least a battalion worth of troops including support elements, specializing in all fields from infantry to logistics
Anyway, that's how I would fight for S'pore....what do you guys think?![]()
Originally posted by gary1910:It is the visit of Israeli PM la, commandos deployed to the border and mobilization was activated.
Dunno abt 1998, but in the 80's, SAF actually went into Defcon 3 for the first time.
[b]CHARGE!!!
I noe , practically every1 serving at that time are involved or feel the tense of the moment not just the commando,a lot of other units are involved. Afterall it was Defcon3!!!Originally posted by Xprobe:It is the visit of Israeli PM la, commandos deployed to the border and mobilization was activated.

Originally posted by gary1910:All said. This is the universal equation: x=war=unstable+uncertainty=negative investment=negative economic growth=everyone no rice eat
I noe , practically every1 serving at that time are involved or feel the tense of the moment. I just did not want to reveal too much.
AFAIK, it is the most intense moment in the history of SAF, I am sure SAF must have detected some increased military activity in MY that prompted the increased in readiness!
Most probably some wayang from MAF to show their displeasure toward SG about the visit, therefore we have to do likewise, just in case.
[b]CHARGE!!!
gd qns. i think we've already some h/w outside of sg and if we're really undersiege, these h/w will be available.Originally posted by Tango1:thought about this before...and the interesting question is, what about those that are overseas? How will they get back to S'pore in time to report to their units? What if their unit has already ceased to exist? What if S'pore is already under seige?....
I think for all of us that are overseas, the best way to volunteer and defend our country is not flying back in small groups or anything, but to report to our embassies in whichever country we are in. Then maybe to congregate in a S'pore-friendly country (the U.S. would be a good choice) and seek their assistance in both providing material (uniforms, equipment, weapons, etc), training facilities to refresh our skills, build up fitness, and coordinate our tasks, and eventually, transport...The U.S. did that for the Cuban exiles in the Bay of Pigs invasion...
Since we all hold different vocations and ranks, and there's so many of us overseas, I think we may be able to scrounge up at least a battalion worth of troops including support elements, specializing in all fields from infantry to logistics
Anyway, that's how I would fight for S'pore....what do you guys think?![]()
By getting direct US help, you have signalled an international solution to the conflict. Then you risk breaking up ASEAN. Regional countries will start to take sides. Then you risk being labeled as West vs. Muslim worlds.Originally posted by tiggersgd:gd qns. i think we've already some h/w outside of sg and if we're really undersiege, these h/w will be available.
regarding the 3rd country, i think it is feasible and definitely the de facto policeman will not standby and do nothing. we're afterall one of their ally in the war against iraq etc. i believe we can launch a multi-sided war, the nearest being somewhere in the region....but then, we need to know the invaders before we can plan for the 3rd country support as logistics is a problem when you fight a long distance war.