u cant totally blame the whole of SAF, RSN, RSAF...there are always incompetent fools everywhere in this world..u cant deny that fact there are still accident in other military unit in this world?Originally posted by Laplace:Forgive me if I sound pessimistic and too critical, but after reading all the fantastic details of the Rss Courageous trial, I've lost all respect for the RSN when it comes to "competence" and "professionalism"
Perhaps we are giving our armed forces too much credit when it comes to creditability. Perhaps the manpower starved SAF have been placing too much emphasis on logistical and technological superiority that we seem to have taken a back seat when it comes to personnel training and personnel quality.
Somehow I have a feeling that not having any "war-fighting" leaders heading the SAF is one main problem.
Like what a senior NCO in my unit once remarked off-hand; "Being a scholar only proves that you are good in reading thick textbooks and studying. Being able to command and lead in war is another matter altogether."
aiya..dun make sweeping statements la. lol but really, are our armed forces going into a decline or smth? an APV getting rammed by a cargo ship, RSAF helos crashing, servicemen dying, bla bla..sighOriginally posted by Laplace:Forgive me if I sound pessimistic and too critical, but after reading all the fantastic details of the Rss Courageous trial, I've lost all respect for the RSN when it comes to "competence" and "professionalism"
Come on loh i'm 18 and even i know that you have to turn starboard when heading head on with another ships and not port!!!!However i can see why the guy wanted to turn port though he should have gunned his engine to full speed ahead of flank speed for a few seconds to show the cargo ships his intentions!Originally posted by Laplace:Forgive me if I sound pessimistic and too critical, but after reading all the fantastic details of the Rss Courageous trial, I've lost all respect for the RSN when it comes to "competence" and "professionalism"
Perhaps we are giving our armed forces too much credit when it comes to creditability. Perhaps the manpower starved SAF have been placing too much emphasis on logistical and technological superiority that we seem to have taken a back seat when it comes to personnel training and personnel quality.
Somehow I have a feeling that not having any "war-fighting" leaders heading the SAF is one main problem.
Like what a senior NCO in my unit once remarked off-hand; "Being a scholar only proves that you are good in reading thick textbooks and studying. Being able to command and lead in war is another matter altogether."
A leader who sees the big picture without looking at the small picture, or having even been exposed to the small picture, is not a good leader either.Originally posted by tripwire:as war becomes more and more technologically sophisticated... you will need people who can gooble thick books and think in a technological realm that your NCO can only blink eyes non stop....
but of course... being able to gobble big books does not make one a good leader... but then... a good leader that cannot fully comprehend the new dimension of war cannot be an effective leader....
haha yes..but isn't it a bit weird.. the courageous did a u-turn straight into the path of oncoming traffic before turning port? it could have turned starboard 90° out of the sea lane right away instead of doing a 270° (or so) turn to port..weird..anyone know the reason?Originally posted by |-|05|:Come on loh i'm 18 and even i know that you have to turn starboard when heading head on with another ships and not port!!!!However i can see why the guy wanted to turn port though he should have gunned his engine to full speed ahead of flank speed for a few seconds to show the cargo ships his intentions!
Only one command need have been given.Originally posted by sgFish:haha yes..but isn't it a bit weird.. the courageous did a u-turn straight into the path of oncoming traffic before turning port? it could have turned starboard 90° out of the sea lane right away instead of doing a 270° (or so) turn to port..weird..anyone know the reason?
Could have u-turned to port and get into the right lane too.Bah funny people.But i guess the guy incharge of the commercial ship should have turned back on course when he realised the RSN ship was going in to his starboard.But like he said....could have been a terror attack...Originally posted by sgFish:haha yes..but isn't it a bit weird.. the courageous did a u-turn straight into the path of oncoming traffic before turning port? it could have turned starboard 90° out of the sea lane right away instead of doing a 270° (or so) turn to port..weird..anyone know the reason?
lol.. all back full i think the APV kena cut in half down the centerline liao.. unless you're saying while they're doing that funny u turn thing then all back full..Originally posted by Johnston:Or....
All back full!
I disagree. If he suspect a terror attack, he should have asked for help or, at the least, turn away. Doing a small turn to avoid a terror attack is in his own words "absolutely absurd". I think he lost situation awareness and hump thump an answer.Originally posted by |-|05|:Could have u-turned to port and get into the right lane too.Bah funny people.But i guess the guy incharge of the commercial ship should have turned back on course when he realised the RSN ship was going in to his starboard.But like he said....could have been a terror attack...
Originally posted by Viper52:A leader who sees the big picture without looking at the small picture, or having even been exposed to the small picture, is not a good leader either.
Remember the commanders who saw the battle from the screens on the Orion over Mogadishu on Oct 3 1993? They saw a convoy that was moving orderly through the streets towards Super-Six-One's crash site, but in actual fact the movement was soaked in blood and filled with men dying and cursing.
The current doctrine focuses too much on high-tech gizmos and gimmicks. As some have pointed out rightly, I fear this will lead to a false impression wars can be won from the computer room. They can't, someone still has to bleed, to die. The high-tech will merely be the means to an end. Not the end itself.
If we ever do find ourselves in a war, I fear many people are going to have a nasty surprise.
I think it is not complete to say that the commander has a false impression of the situation, he is aware of the dying and cursing, just that the ROE is restrictive for an escalatory strike. Can you imagine if he is allowed to lauch a hypersonic missile from continental US that can reach target in 10 minutes and cluster bomb an area of 5 km? Not so sure if many of the enemy can defend or survive.Originally posted by Viper52:A leader who sees the big picture without looking at the small picture, or having even been exposed to the small picture, is not a good leader either.
Remember the commanders who saw the battle from the screens on the Orion over Mogadishu on Oct 3 1993? They saw a convoy that was moving orderly through the streets towards Super-Six-One's crash site, but in actual fact the movement was soaked in blood and filled with men dying and cursing.
The current doctrine focuses too much on high-tech gizmos and gimmicks. As some have pointed out rightly, I fear this will lead to a false impression wars can be won from the computer room. They can't, someone still has to bleed, to die. The high-tech will merely be the means to an end. Not the end itself.
If we ever do find ourselves in a war, I fear many people are going to have a nasty surprise.
The fact remains - there was a level headed colonel holding the convoy together and driving them to accomplish the mission.Originally posted by Blue Dolphin:I think it is not complete to say that the commander has a false impression of the situation, he is aware of the dying and cursing, just that the ROE is restrictive for an escalatory strike. Can you imagine if he is allowed to lauch a hypersonic missile from continental US that can reach target in 10 minutes and cluster bomb an area of 5 km? Not so sure if many of the enemy can defend or survive.
The introduction of machine gun changes the war in India, the nuclear bomb ended WWII. If we do not harness the advancement in technology and force multiply, there is no hope for us to fight against a numerically superior aggressor.![]()