emphasis dun mean totally ignoring armoured forces.Originally posted by V1NS@niTY:So your suggestion puts tanks out of the picture and instead puts more emphasis on small well trained groups of men. Then wats the point of all those apcs and ifvs? amx-10s?
We dont have a large regular force and going to ns plus reservist every year doesnt exactly constitute as "well trained" enough.
yup. deployment support and maybe light armour support as demoed by e japs.Originally posted by stoner:tanks should not be place out of the picture. In fact they are impt as well. however their usage is much greatly reduce due to terrain impedence. They can still be used as support deployment.... also not forgetting out artillery units and Airforce![]()
AGREED!!! WAAHAHAHAOriginally posted by Bochupi:think we becoming more like the US. Just air raid the targets and the infantry go in and sweep the ground. Dont think I'll be scared seeing AMX-13 coming at me lor. They not like M1 or T-80.
Is what is written sixty years ago for Central European Terrain still applicable now in the jungle terrain/urban landscape in South East Asia?Originally posted by V1NS@niTY:I've been reading up a lot on WW2, particularly tactics used by Panzer commanders. �These tactics were pioneered by �Heinz �Guderian a german general.
Guderian proposed that tanks should be used in a concentrated mass instead of being spread all across the frontline. �Using a tanks mobility, an armored force can easily puncture the frontline defence while a second or third force can flank the enemy position thus allowing a pincer like manouver. This action should be done quickly and swiftly to achieve surprise and to prevent the enemy from regrouping. This strategy is part of what we call the "Blitzkrieg".
As far as I know, the SAF has a big armored force and its tanks are highly mobile. In event of an armed conflict close to home, an enemy may have to come down the malaysia peninsula. What i'm wondering is... whether this tactics can be applied here as the jungles north of us are pretty dense obviously hindering movement. Airpower alone cannot win a conflict in this part of the world ( think vietnam ). I would like anyone to share any proven or theoretical strats specific to waging war over jungle terrain.
Dont think we are allowed to buy MLRS lah...it's sort of an offensive weapon and our nation too small to get such weapon. If we really buy ah....think the neighbours will complain like siao..Originally posted by V1NS@niTY:hmmm very interesting. So once again, tanks are back in the picture but used in a different form of armored warfare. this discussion isnt only based on the strength of our northern or southern neighbours( i was thinking maybe further up north? ). Jungle I believe sort of neutralizes our technological advantage, i'm thinking vietnam again. So basic troop training i feel is the MOST important aspect in winning a war here like the japs in WW2.
I am thinking our artillery will play a very very large part in any offensive. We need sustained bombardments to keep invaders out coupled with air strikes. that way we can clear out large areas of jungle and make our tech. advantage more effective. Maybe thats y SAF interested in MRLS last time becuz they could devastate a whole map grid.
according to an earlier thread the MAF has procured and operationalised them liao.Originally posted by Bochupi:Dont think we are allowed to buy MLRS lah...it's sort of an offensive weapon and our nation too small to get such weapon. If we really buy ah....think the neighbours will complain like siao..![]()
MAF big country leh...so they say buy for self defence still acceptable cause if they show from penang down south it'll still hit malaysia. If we buy and shoot from changi towards the west donno where the rocket will land leh...Originally posted by wuming78:according to an earlier thread the MAF has procured and operationalised them liao.