if u seriously want to become a singaporean again, ns shudnt be the obstruction - its not a very difficult task or obligation.Originally posted by NSMANorNOT:Hello Everyone,
I am new here and just wanted some opinions. I am a ex-singaporean. I did not serve NS and left Singapore when I was 8. I am now considering serving NS because I desparately miss Singapore and I cannot work there anymore because of not serving NS. I can go there for holiday but not work. I am going to be turning 26 next month and feel too old to serve NS. Also I have a career in IT at the moment which I feel that if I quit to serve may ruin my career.
Do you guys know anyone who is that old and gone back to Singapore to serve NS. I did not serve NS because I was in the middle of University in Melbourne and they would not let me extend my leave for NS until I finished Uni thus I had to renounce my Singapore Citizenship. My younger brother just went in to serve about 1 and a half years ago. He went in at 22 He was also in the same boat as me, he renounced but they gave him back citizenship after he signed up for NS..
I really don't know what to do. No matter where I am in the world, Singapore always feels like home to me and it really sux not being able to work there.
Sorry for the long message but any opinions will appreciated.
err.. not sure if you are nailing the point.Originally posted by Xprobe:At this stage in your life and if you REALLY want to live and work in Spore, then the best thing is to sign on as a regular given that you are already 26 and the current employment situation.
no lah. its a medical category, meaning tt u haf easier stds to meet when it comes to physical tests. u still do the same things as the rest of the ppl. fyi, there is cat x, y, y1, z, depending on one's age.Originally posted by Parka:CAT Y is a medical status term used in NS to signify that there are some duties or activities that are not suitable for a person to carry out.
Originally posted by wuming78:no lah. its a medical category, meaning tt u haf easier stds to meet when it comes to physical tests. u still do the same things as the rest of the ppl. fyi, there is cat x, y, y1, z, depending on one's age.
hm.. im not sure of the kind of IT job u haf, and the degree of commitment. yes, during ur ns, u are definitely not be able to work.Originally posted by NSMANorNOT:Yeah I realise NS should not be a hurdle but very worried about after BMT, what happen to my career? I have headaches thinking about it everynight and I know it is not an obstacle, just my age anyway is. By the way What is CAT Y. Pardon me I have no idea what you are talking about.
Thanks
hm.. in the first place, they may NOT let u go BMT. there is some age limit to go to bmt.Originally posted by NSMANorNOT:OIC, so what do I do after BMT, me so old, will be very hard to get a job will be 30 by the time I get out because I am thinking of joing next year if I do it.
ANyone know any ah-pehs in the army?
yeah! i can get gold by running 10 mins!Originally posted by Parka:Oh. Ha. Me mountain turtle.
Yup, that reminds me that the later categories don't required 945 as a gold for IPPT. hahaha
Precisely my point. Sign on and at least earn something close to "reality" since he is already 26 and has to spend 2.5 yrs in NS.Originally posted by NSMANorNOT:Yeah I realise NS should not be a hurdle but very worried about after BMT, what happen to my career? I have headaches thinking about it everynight and I know it is not an obstacle, just my age anyway is. By the way What is CAT Y. Pardon me I have no idea what you are talking about.
Thanks
No. Sign on and the 2.5 yrs is also counted (I think) so that you can still earn some decent money.Originally posted by NSMANorNOT:Xprobe, not sure what you mean sign on as a regular. You mean to do the 2 and a half years and then sign on after that?
tt is one other option. but i counsel serious consideration b4 doing so.Originally posted by Xprobe:Precisely my point. Sign on and at least earn something close to "reality" since he is already 26 and has to spend 2.5 yrs in NS.
Wuming: No la...I had a 30 yr old guy in my BMT batch...guy decided to become officerOriginally posted by wuming78:hm.. in the first place, they may NOT let u go BMT. there is some age limit to go to bmt.
in tt case, u may be made to serve ur ns in some other way. but all these should be clarified with saf. we can only speculate.
as for wat happens after ns, its up to us liao. no guarantee or anything..
30 yr old bmt?! wat happened to him? lost in space?Originally posted by Xprobe:Wuming: No la...I had a 30 yr old guy in my BMT batch...guy decided to become officer
Indian chap. Was damn surprised man because most regular officers already make CPT at that age.Originally posted by wuming78:30 yr old bmt?! wat happened to him? lost in space?
he migrated here and became a citizen isit?Originally posted by Xprobe:Indian chap. Was damn surprised man because most regular officers already make CPT at that age.
Maybe. Didnt ask as he was another platoon. But you know la, Indians are different from the Chinese when it comes to aspirations for a career in uniform.Originally posted by wuming78:he migrated here and became a citizen isit?
no i dun noe. care to elaborate?Originally posted by Xprobe:Maybe. Didnt ask as he was another platoon. But you know la, Indians are different from the Chinese when it comes to aspirations for a career in uniform.